Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 2 - 5n/an/an/an/a
In this all-new very special mini-series, the Aldens have been recruited by a secret society to return lost artifacts and treasures to their rightful locations—all around the world! After finding a painted turtle figurine, the Aldens are introduced to the Silverton family and Reddimus Society, a secret guild whose mission is to return lost artifacts and treasures to the sites they were taken from. The Aldens board a private train to New Mexico to return the turtle to its original home, and they encounter enemies of Reddimus along the way! The trip is a success… but instead of returning home, there’s a last-minute change in plans. The Boxcar Children must continue the mission for the society and deliver more things, all around the globe!
Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on February 1, 2017 by Albert Whitman & Company
ISBN-10: 0807506958
ISBN-13: 9780807506950
45 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • jaden07
    jaden07Tuesday, July 17, 2018 at 2:08 pm
    i think this was an very great book. I like the way they solved each test , together. i thought it was funny when the train started moving. at least they found the agent. i was sad when Watch couldn't t come on the airplane. overall it was a great book.
    • applemango
      applemangoTuesday, July 17, 2018 at 3:33 am55 stars
      This was a really good book, full of inspiring details and good twists!!! I have to say that I am impressed about the author for the good clues!!
      • midnightluna
        midnightlunaWednesday, July 11, 2018 at 4:27 pm44 stars
        This is a more modern version of Boxcar Children, and while I personally prefer the older/original series, this one is showing some real promise! Warning, there are cliffhangers, so be prepared!
        • mkid122
          mkid122Friday, July 6, 2018 at 7:54 pm33 stars
          Journey on a Runaway Train is a fresh and fun start to the new boxcar children series. In this book the kids get chosen by a secret society to travel the world and return lost artifacts to their original home. This is first book and the series so there is a good build up that pulls you in. The recurring charterers are interesting and having the boxcar kids in a modern world with technology is a fresh take and makes the book more relatable. This book is great for young readers because advanced subjects are explained. Only negative is that the book could be predictable at times.
          • sirjohnthegreat
            sirjohnthegreatTuesday, July 3, 2018 at 6:20 pm
            The Boxcar children are given valuable treasures which are later taken from their house. This begins the interesting mystery which has train rides, jeep chases, mysterious phone calls, and intense chases. It's a great read.
            • auntieb
              auntiebMonday, July 2, 2018 at 8:48 am44 stars
              Journey on a Runaway Train was a book I didn't think I would particularly like because the old ones are so great and this isn't by the same author as she passed 40ish years ago. But I was pleasantly surprised it was a pretty good book!
              • camdengirl789
                camdengirl789Wednesday, June 27, 2018 at 12:11 pm55 stars
                I LOVE THIS BOOK BECAUSE IT IS SO FUNNY LIKE WHEN THEY SAY I DONT LIKE THAT TURTLE ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA so funny
                • soyster
                  soysterTuesday, June 26, 2018 at 7:08 pm55 stars
                  This book was pretty great. Being the first book in a series, it did a really good job hooking you in. It made me want to read the other books in the series, so overall I think that it was nice.
                  • catface7312
                    catface7312Tuesday, June 26, 2018 at 2:23 pm33 stars
                    I used to love these books when I was in 2nd grade. This book is in our century, meaning that cell phones and computers are in it. Anyways, the 4 main characters get swept up in a mystery. I really like how when they didn't find any useful information on their phones, they went to the library to dig deeper.
                    • jso6
                      jso6Saturday, June 23, 2018 at 3:01 pm55 stars
                      This book was more modern than the others. I like both kinds, so I guess it's your choice to pick which one you like more. In this book, a secret society recruits the four kids to try to return some rare artifacts to their correct places.

                      Summer Reading 2018 ends in:

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books being read:3568
                      Books reviewed:1449
                      Prizes won:378
                      Schools participating:92

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      eybook2018
                      belle252
                      rrwwnn
                      happy_cat
                      awesomessb
                      spykitten
                      extrememsb
                      jso6
                      waterlily1255