Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.547493
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory meets A Night in the Museum in this action-packed New York Times Bestseller from Chris Grabenstein, coauthor of I Funny, Treasure Hunters and other bestselling series with James Patterson!

Kyle Keeley is the class clown and a huge fan of all games—board games, word games, and particularly video games. His hero, Luigi Lemoncello, the most notorious and creative gamemaker in the world, just so happens to be the genius behind the construction of the new town library. Lucky Kyle wins a coveted spot as one of twelve kids invited for an overnight sleepover in the library, hosted by Mr. Lemoncello and riddled with lots and lots of games. But when morning comes, the doors stay locked. Kyle and the other kids must solve every clue and figure out every secret puzzle to find the hidden escape route!

Don't miss the next puzzle-packed adventure—Mr. Lemoncello's Library Olympics—coming in January 2016!

"Discover the coolest library in the world." —James Patterson, #1 New York Timesbestselling author


34 STATE AWARDS AND COUNTING -- INCLUDING THE SUNSHINE STATE AWARD!

Starred Review, Booklist

* “An ode to libraries and literature that is a worthy successor to the original madman puzzle-master himself, Willy Wonka.”

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews

*"Full of puzzles to think about, puns to groan at . . . this solid, tightly plotted read is a winner for readers and game-players alike."
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on June 25, 2013 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 037587089X
ISBN-13: 9780375870897
172 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • lefty908809
    lefty908809Tuesday, July 17, 2018 at 1:20 pm55 stars
    I really like the book. In it Mr.Lemoncello's board games sound interesting.
    • midnightluna
      midnightlunaMonday, July 16, 2018 at 12:55 pm44 stars
      Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library is a book that is quite similar the Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Honestly, I prefer Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, but this one is good too! It's fun to try at figure out the puzzles with the others!
      • dolphin8
        dolphin8Saturday, July 14, 2018 at 3:08 pm55 stars
        This is a awesome book this has been the best book out of all of the books. it was about kids finding clues to find a way out to get out of the library and get a prize.
        • coolgirlintown
          coolgirlintownThursday, July 12, 2018 at 10:38 am55 stars
          I. LOVED. THIS. BOOK. It was just so good! I don't want to spoil it for anyone so I will keep this review short. The book is a little thick but I couldn't out it down! I would love to have this library in real life. And Mr. lemon cello as well. Again, this book is amazing and I would totally recommend it to any one.
          • dreambig100
            dreambig100Wednesday, July 11, 2018 at 2:05 pm44 stars
            Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library is a wonderful book. I think Mr.Grabstein did a wonderful job writing this book if only the book was actually true. I can't wait to read the second book in the series.
            • 30057
              30057Monday, July 9, 2018 at 9:54 am
              When I first laid my hand on the "Mr. Lemoncello's Great Library Race", I couldn't take my hand off. It was full of excitement and action, and some part where your mind is blown. This shows me that I will truly enjoy "Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library". When I watched the movie to this book, it was hilarious and fun. I mean, no other library that I've seen has flying books or portals. I am really looking forward to reading this book !
              • cupcakesandlove
                cupcakesandloveSunday, July 8, 2018 at 11:31 am44 stars
                This book is so awesome I recomend it for a long car ride you will want to read it over and over again it is so good
                • howlergirl
                  howlergirlSaturday, July 7, 2018 at 7:30 am55 stars
                  This was a great book and I would totally recommend it to people that are fans of puzzles and clues. It all starts when a boy named Kyle and 11 other friends stay overnight in a library. Everything is fine until morning comes and they discover that they can't leave. Kyle and his friends have to solve puzzles and follow the hints until time runs out for them. I won the third and second book from Dogobooks giveaways, and I already had the first book. I just have to say this series is amazing and I would give it 5 stars any time! (🍋🎻 =😄)
                  • jaden07
                    jaden07Friday, July 6, 2018 at 6:39 pm55 stars
                    This is a awesome, amazing,great cool, book! . Kyle is so adventurous! Mr Lemoncello is so willly wonka . SOMEBODY BUILD A LIBARY LIKE THE ONE IN THE BOOK , PLZ! great library’s.
                    • jso6
                      jso6Wednesday, July 4, 2018 at 10:50 am55 stars
                      Kyle wrote an essay to be able to spend the night at the newly opened library with eleven other kids. They spend the night there, but when morning comes, the door stays locked. Kyle and his friends have to solve puzzles and figure out a way out before two days are up to win. This was a great book, and I would absolutely recommend it.

                      Summer Reading 2018 ends in:

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books being read:3568
                      Books reviewed:1449
                      Prizes won:378
                      Schools participating:92

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      eybook2018
                      belle252
                      rrwwnn
                      happy_cat
                      awesomessb
                      spykitten
                      extrememsb
                      jso6
                      waterlily1255