Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.547493
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory meets A Night in the Museum in this action-packed New York Times Bestseller from Chris Grabenstein, coauthor of I Funny, Treasure Hunters and other bestselling series with James Patterson!

Kyle Keeley is the class clown and a huge fan of all games—board games, word games, and particularly video games. His hero, Luigi Lemoncello, the most notorious and creative gamemaker in the world, just so happens to be the genius behind the construction of the new town library. Lucky Kyle wins a coveted spot as one of twelve kids invited for an overnight sleepover in the library, hosted by Mr. Lemoncello and riddled with lots and lots of games. But when morning comes, the doors stay locked. Kyle and the other kids must solve every clue and figure out every secret puzzle to find the hidden escape route!

Don't miss the next puzzle-packed adventure—Mr. Lemoncello's Library Olympics—coming in January 2016!

"Discover the coolest library in the world." —James Patterson, #1 New York Timesbestselling author


34 STATE AWARDS AND COUNTING -- INCLUDING THE SUNSHINE STATE AWARD!

Starred Review, Booklist

* “An ode to libraries and literature that is a worthy successor to the original madman puzzle-master himself, Willy Wonka.”

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews

*"Full of puzzles to think about, puns to groan at . . . this solid, tightly plotted read is a winner for readers and game-players alike."
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on June 25, 2013 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 037587089X
ISBN-13: 9780375870897
194 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • bookstory13
    bookstory13Friday, November 2, 2018 at 3:48 pm55 starsFeatured
    Mr. Lemoncello is a madman (or genius, all a matter of opinion) that creates games and technology. After a library is opened in his town, Kyle Keeley decides he just has to win the essay contest to get into the special opening night - because Mr. Lemoncello will be there. Only problem is, he hasn't written his essay....and when he does, it is only a couple of words: "There will be balloons." After he is mysteriously admitted into the sleepover, it turns out to be something else entirely-a new game! In a race against time, Kyle unites with his friends to go against Charles Chiltington, who claims to always win. Kyle learns the meaning of friendship and how great libraries are. I would TOTALLY recommend reading this book, it's easy, fun-filled, and an imagination jackpot. Great for all ages! -BKS
    • fossilfury
      fossilfuryTuesday, August 28, 2018 at 8:40 pm55 stars
      This is a great book. I think is is fun, exiting, a bit suspenseful, and enough to leave the reader satisfied. I would definitely recommend this book.!
      • fossilfury
        fossilfuryTuesday, August 28, 2018 at 3:16 pm55 stars
        This was an amazing book! I just loved to sit write down and read it. There are some words, like stupid or loser that are mentioned in this book, but overall it is a great book. I love the library!
        • BradenTuesday, August 28, 2018 at 1:52 pm
          This book is amazing!! I love how it is a library but it is also a magical place! It is kind of cool how they have to solve puzzles to get out! You should definitely read this book and the other books in the series.
          • kittensarecute
            kittensarecuteSunday, August 26, 2018 at 1:49 pm
            i want to read this book
            • at41569
              at41569Thursday, August 23, 2018 at 5:54 pm
              This was such a good book! I really wish my library was like the one in the book! :) It was so thrilling, yet added many aspects of everyday life. I highly recommend this to all readers out there!
              • snicker9
                snicker9Wednesday, August 22, 2018 at 6:43 pm44 stars
                Kyle is a huge fan of Mr. Lemoncello and of all things games and puzzles. He is thrilled when he is chosen as one of the twelve kids chosen to get to sleepover in the brand new library that Mr. Lemoncello built. Secret puzzles and games that lead to a hidden escape route (with a prize!) await. This was a really fun book that I would recommend to elementary grade and up. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.
                • iifreeze
                  iifreezeMonday, August 20, 2018 at 7:01 pm
                  OMG YES I FINALLY FOUND THE PAGE. This is an amazing book about a boy named Kyle Keeley and a competition by the eccentric billionaire Luigi Lemoncello. ALSO READ THE SECOND BOOK I DONT HAVE TIME TO WRITE A GOOD REVIEW BYE AND ALSO SPOILER KYLE WINS YEET XD
                  • readingbr
                    readingbrFriday, August 17, 2018 at 9:19 pm55 stars
                    This is a really good book. I read it more than once and I really recommend this book. The second time I read it was after watching the movie. The book is way better than the movie.
                    • demigod3000
                      demigod3000Monday, August 13, 2018 at 5:51 am55 stars
                      Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library is an amazing book. These kids have to play this game-to escape from the library. They must solve all sorts of riddles and team up in order to be the ones to escape. The colorful characters, funny humor and tense pressure makes this book a must read.

                      Summer Reading 2018 has ended!

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books read:3849
                      Books reviewed:1776
                      Prizes won:490
                      Schools participating:95

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      jwarne
                      belle252
                      eybook2018
                      happy_cat
                      jso6
                      auntieb
                      spykitten
                      rrwwnn
                      awesomessb

                      Our Apps and Plugins