Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.9104713
Published before THE THIEF LORD in Germany, DRAGON RIDER established Cornelia Funke as a bestselling and critically acclaimed author. Now, this fantastical epic has come to America!

Firedrake, a young dragon, receives a frightening warning one night: Humans are planning to destroy the valley in which he lives! All the dragons must flee. Their only refuge is a place above the clouds called the Rim of Heaven --- which may not even exist. Firedrake boldly volunteers to go ahead first. As he embarks on his journey, he meets Ben, a runaway boy. Together, the boy & dragon make their way toward the Rim of Heaven, all the while running a step ahead of Nettlebrand, a monster who will stop at nothing to hunt down Firedrake. Their quest will truly become an adventure like no other.

Paperback
Published on October 2, 2014 by Chicken House Ltd
ISBN-10: 1910002054
ISBN-13: 9781910002056
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • Reign LightningThursday, February 16, 2017 at 6:07 pm
    This book was absolutely phenomenal! It tells of a fantastic adventure while being followed by an enemy named Nettlebrand. I highly recommend this book to everyone, for this is a book not to be missed.
    • allycat278
      allycat278Wednesday, September 28, 2016 at 8:47 am
      FAVORTITE BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      • wow257
        wow257Sunday, April 17, 2016 at 6:17 am55 stars
        Funke has made this book a must-read for every dragon lover. A lovely tale that really has a good plot! A really good book for young readers.
        • happyface221
          happyface221Monday, June 16, 2014 at 5:58 pm
          I read a while ago, and i couldn't wait to keep reading it... so ..... ONE IF THE BEST BOOKS EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)
          • 3ac
            3acTuesday, April 1, 2014 at 7:36 am55 stars
            This is a great adventure story with a thrilling conclusion. Ben discovers Firedrake, the dragon in a abandoned warehouse where Firedrake is sleeping, and the quest proceeds in a fun fashion. I recommend this for dragon/ fantasy lovers.
            • edmodo-wyt7vhbpfj
              edmodo-wyt7vhbpfjWednesday, October 9, 2013 at 5:22 pm
              It is a very adventurous book and I am a bid fan of fairy tale books and all. If you see it on the shelves, I highly suggest you pick it up!
              • thumsup
                thumsupFriday, February 8, 2013 at 3:20 pm55 stars
                This is a great book with mythical characters that are very rare- or the author probably just made them up. It is about a boy who got reincarnated as the new dragon rider and he has to save the dragons from human destruction.
                • cpalmer116
                  cpalmer116Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 8:58 am
                  I read this book because my brother read it and said it was good. Its a great book because it has all the parts of a book.
                  • ekrebs
                    ekrebsThursday, November 29, 2012 at 6:31 am
                    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!! It is one of the best books I have ever read and I really really recommend it.
                    • gtaylor505
                      gtaylor505Saturday, October 27, 2012 at 5:03 pm44 stars
                      This book is surprisingly fun and exciting with thrilling moments and peaceful/ sort of normal moments evenly leveled out. From dragons to mice to humans, this book is perfect for readers who like awesome adventures that always leave you in suspense for what might happen next.

                      Summer Reading 2018 ends in:

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books being read:3568
                      Books reviewed:1449
                      Prizes won:378
                      Schools participating:92

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      eybook2018
                      belle252
                      rrwwnn
                      happy_cat
                      awesomessb
                      spykitten
                      extrememsb
                      jso6
                      waterlily1255