Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.475776
Ten years after Alex and Aaron Stowe brought peace to Quill and Artimé, their younger twin sisters journey beyond the islands in this first novel of a new sequel series to The Unwanteds, which Kirkus Reviews called “The Hunger Games meets Harry Potter.”

Identical twins Fifer and Thisbe Stowe have amazing yet uncontrollable magical abilities. They’re naturally more gifted than even their brother, Alex, the head mage of Artimé, could hope to be. But when they accidentally use their magic in the jungle of Artimé to strike down a beloved creature, Alex is furious, and threatens to lock them away until they can learn to control their power.

The threat is soon forgotten, though, when Hux, the ice blue dragon, comes to Artimé bearing the horrible news that his siblings have been enslaved by the notoriously evil Revinir, ruler of the dragon land.

Seeking a chance to right their wrong and escape their brother’s wrath, Thisbe, Fifer, and their friend Seth sneak away to rescue the dragons from grave peril. Will their untrained abilities be enough to save the dragons—and themselves—when they come face-to-face with the Revinir?

 

Paperback, 448 pages
Published on February 6, 2018 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1481456822
ISBN-13: 9781481456821
44 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • annieleblanc
    annieleblancWednesday, June 13, 2018 at 6:20 pm55 stars
    dragons are cool and I love them.
    • galaxycat333
      galaxycat333Tuesday, May 1, 2018 at 2:07 pm55 stars
      I love dragons and I love quest and adventers so I think that I will get a lot out of this book and love it and I think it might be about a human making friends with a dragon.
      • galaxycat333
        galaxycat333Tuesday, May 1, 2018 at 9:46 am55 stars
        an amasing book that is awesome and tells a lot about dragons AND MAGIC AND IT INSPIRES ME
        • spykitten
          spykittenTuesday, August 15, 2017 at 5:51 pm
          This is the first book in the Unwanteds Quests series. The book is about two twins that go on a quest to save some dragons. If you like dragons and magic you might like this book. I received this book from DOGOBooks.
          • zacWednesday, July 19, 2017 at 6:19 pm
            i don't like it
            • galaxycat333
              galaxycat333Tuesday, May 1, 2018 at 9:47 am55 stars
              I love it
            • duckie2085
              duckie2085Wednesday, July 19, 2017 at 2:53 pm22 stars
              I also won this from the giveaway. Fifer and Thisbe are supposed to be the two main characters, but I thought they were very one sided and really just vessels for their uncontrollable magic. Speaking of that, the magic didn't come in as much as I would have liked it to. No spoilers, however. The one character whom I really enjoyed reading about was Alex, but he wasn't mentioned much since there's already an entire series on him. The plot was average, but the ending wasn't good either, at least in my opinion. I thought it was a poor attempt at a cliffhanger. All it did was scream sequel. I understand that I'm slightly above the recommended age level for this book, but I thought I would share what I thought of it.
              • cobrazeus10
                cobrazeus10Saturday, July 1, 2017 at 3:55 pm55 starsFeatured
                I won this book in a giveaway, and it was superb! It picks up about ten years where McMann's last series ended. Twin girls Fifer and Thisbe have extremely powerful magic, but there brother Alex (leader of Artime) won't let them learn how to use it until they learn how to control it. You see their magic has a reputation for being destructive and causing problems. They don't do it on purpose of course, it just slips out accidentally. When one of the dragons (Hux) Alex had made wings for in the previous series comes to Artime seeking help, the twins think this is the perfect opportunity to show Alex just how well they can use their magic for good. Fifer and Thisbe leave the island to help Hux and his siblings, but are met with some unexpected troubles upon arrival. I highly recommend reading this book. A great read for fans of the original Unwanteds series which I would recommend reading before reading this book.
                • than31
                  than31Friday, May 19, 2017 at 9:30 am55 stars
                  kind a like it
                  • than31
                    than31Friday, May 19, 2017 at 9:29 am55 stars
                    like if you want to know why books end so quickly I will tell you after i have 17 likes -_- so long...
                    • nand
                      nandSaturday, May 13, 2017 at 8:41 am55 stars
                      very good book

                      Summer Reading 2018 has ended!

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books read:3849
                      Books reviewed:1776
                      Prizes won:490
                      Schools participating:95

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      jwarne
                      belle252
                      eybook2018
                      happy_cat
                      jso6
                      auntieb
                      spykitten
                      rrwwnn
                      awesomessb

                      Our Apps and Plugins