Book Scavenger (The Book Scavenger series)

Book 1 of 3 in the Book Scavenger Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.568016

A New York Times-Bestseller!

For twelve-year-old Emily, the best thing about moving to San Francisco is that it's the home city of her literary idol: Garrison Griswold, book publisher and creator of the online sensation Book Scavenger (a game where books are hidden in cities all over the country and clues to find them are revealed through puzzles). Upon her arrival, however, Emily learns that Griswold has been attacked and is now in a coma, and no one knows anything about the epic new game he had been poised to launch. Then Emily and her new friend James discover an odd book, which they come to believe is from Griswold himself, and might contain the only copy of his mysterious new game.

Racing against time, Emily and James rush from clue to clue, desperate to figure out the secret at the heart of Griswold's new game―before those who attacked Griswold come after them too.

This title has Common Core connections.

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on June 2, 2015 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
ISBN-10: 1627791159
ISBN-13: 9781627791151
88 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • maiz
    maizMonday, December 9, 2019 at 10:34 am55 stars
    I just started today and it is AMAIZING. If you like scavngers or mysteries you will like this book.
    • inmemoryofcpr
      inmemoryofcprSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 10:21 am33 stars
      I think this author sort of copied Chris Grabenstein because what basically happens is that a rich guy will host a big event where you have to find books and figure out codes but then he is sabotaged by some robbers(?). Now as Emily and her new friend, James, race to the finish of the game, they find the book where, Griswold, the rich man, hid the book for a big event that will be the key to success.
      • miniongirlFriday, December 28, 2018 at 5:54 pm
        OMgoodness! i love it!
        • abcdefg1234567Tuesday, October 16, 2018 at 8:38 pm
          great book. everyone should read it.
          • readytoread
            readytoreadFriday, August 31, 2018 at 7:52 am55 stars
            This book is really great! It is soo interesting, with great puzzles and surprises. These kids are GREAT puzzle solvers. It is about a girl named Emily who is 12 years old, whose family moves almost every year, in the hops of fulfilling their parent's dream- living once in all 50 states. She finds Griswold's newest game at a BART station, and really wants to solve it with her new friend, James. It is sort of a disappointment though, that starts off with the shooting of Mr. Griswold. At first, I thought it would be REALLY boring since it was soo long, but I really actually enjoyed it.
            • unicornbrain
              unicornbrainSaturday, August 25, 2018 at 5:41 pm44 stars
              Two thumbs up, but beware. I like the book because it has puzzles, ciphers and other detective clues to keep the story moving. But I didn't like that the Emily's favorite author is attacked very early in the book, and I won't say how or why here. That made me put the book down for a few weeks. I finally finished it. The book is about a book worm and I think I am a book worm, too. Emily gets caught up in the stories and I enjoyed working with her to solve codes and puzzles. She meets a new friend when she and her family moves to California, where the story takes place and their adventure is worth reading. This is a one of three book series. Wondering should I read the next one or not.
              • reader_red
                reader_redFriday, August 17, 2018 at 5:09 pm44 stars
                I liked a lot of things about this book. First off I was SO happy when Mathew ended up helping! Basically the story is about a girl who's family has a goal to live in all fifty states. They move to San Francisco where she meets this boy who she becomes friends with. They find a mysterious book, one day, that leads them on this giant scavenger hunt, made by Garrison Griswold, Emily's idol.
                • ajg16
                  ajg16Tuesday, August 14, 2018 at 10:28 am44 stars
                  Emily is 12 years old and her family is moving again - she has lived in 9 different states - they are now moving to California home of her idol Garrison Griswold, creator of the cool st online game Book Scavenger! Emily finds out that Griswold is in a coma. James - who lives next door and Emily find a strange book, At first they someone hid it for Book Scavenger but soon it's Mr. Griswolds book and it's for his newest game and leads to a prize! This book is filled to the top with books, puzzles, adventure even had guys. Great book, terrific plot. Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
                  • soyster
                    soysterMonday, August 13, 2018 at 9:11 pm33 stars
                    This book was nice to read. It didn't really capture me in that much, but I thought the puzzles and ciphers in the book were a really cool factor to the book. But if you really like puzzles and ciphers, you might enjoy this book a lot more than me.
                    • soffles
                      sofflesSunday, August 12, 2018 at 1:41 pm55 stars
                      This book is really great. The book scavenger game is so creative, but it's actually realistic. When I first read about it I thought it was real. This book was great and I really enjoyed reading it.

                      Summer Reading 2018 has ended!

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books read:3809
                      Books reviewed:1775
                      Prizes won:490
                      Schools participating:93

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      applemango
                      belle252
                      belle252
                      jwarne
                      jwarne
                      eybook2018
                      eybook2018
                      lumos
                      lumos
                      auntieb
                      auntieb
                      jso6
                      jso6
                      spykitten
                      spykitten
                      awesomessb
                      awesomessb