Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9n/an/an/an/a

"Beautifully drawn, brutally funny, brilliantly honest. Vera is such a good cartoonist I almost can’t stand it.” ―Raina Telgemeier, author of Smile

All Vera wants to do is fit in―but that’s not easy for a Russian girl in the suburbs. Her friends live in fancy houses and their parents can afford to send them to the best summer camps. Vera’s single mother can’t afford that sort of luxury, but there's one summer camp in her price range―Russian summer camp.

Vera is sure she's found the one place she can fit in, but camp is far from what she imagined. And nothing could prepare her for all the "cool girl" drama, endless Russian history lessons, and outhouses straight out of nightmares!

Paperback, 256 pages
Published on April 24, 2018 by First Second
ISBN-10: 1626724458
ISBN-13: 9781626724457
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • pizzagirl7
    pizzagirl7Wednesday, May 27, 2020 at 11:33 am55 stars
    Vera has always wanted to fit in but never had seemed to . She is Russian . And the other kids didn't get along with her . They thought she was different . Now Every One is going off to camp . Vera finds out there is a Russian camp. ANd wants to go very very badly . When she gets there she realizes it isn't as good as she originally thought it would be. You will have to read the book to find out what happens next .I recommend this for all ages and I rate this book 5/5 stars thank you for reading my review!📚📚-Pizzagirl7
    • bookfan2008
      bookfan2008Sunday, May 3, 2020 at 7:01 pm55 stars
      I really liked this book! It's good! It's about a girl that's russian and she goes to camp. She faces a lot of problems and some embarassment. Also she feels out of place. Sometimes her friends don't really want to be with her. Read this book to find out more!
      • imabookworm3
        imabookworm3Friday, August 2, 2019 at 8:09 am33 stars
        I decided to read this book because I love comic books. I thought this book was pretty good because she to go to a camp. When she gets there she realized that the camp is harder than she thought.
        • inmemoryofcpr
          inmemoryofcprTuesday, June 4, 2019 at 5:30 pm55 stars
          So when Vera goes to a camp just for Russians, she is very excited because Vera is Russian and it is hard for her to fit in with her other friends. But when her expectations are not fulfilled, camp drama, finding friends, and adventures overwhelm her and Vera now realizes how unprepared she is and must find a way to survive camp. I would recommend this for ages 9+ I just LOVED this book. There was 0% drag and everything was super interesting. I would recommend this to fans of Raina Telgeimer and Terri Libenson.
          • ajg16
            ajg16Friday, May 17, 2019 at 11:22 am44 stars
            Vera is a 9 year old girl who moved to America when she was 5 years old from Russia. At home she is different from the other girls and they treat her differently and think she is weird. When she finds out about a Russian camp she just has to go!! But it's not all she thought it to be the two girls she is sharing a tent with are older and mean. she doesn't really know how to read Russian and she just isn't having fun.. Good thing she is only staying for two weeks. Oh wait her mom says she has to stay two more weeks! How is she going to survive two more weeks at this Camp!? Read the book to find out! Recommended for 9+ Thanks for reading -Ajg16's reviews
            • pizzagirl7
              pizzagirl7Friday, May 17, 2019 at 11:11 am55 stars
              Vera is a Russian 9 year old girl everybody at home think she's weird for her my Russian .she has rich "friends"but they are the ones that think she's weird.everyone that she knows is going to camp so vera wants to go to Russian camp while she there she shares the room with like 3 older girls they are kinda of mean to her but get a is still nice to them.you are going to have to read it to find out the rest I love this book!I hope there is a part two because I screamed "WHAT?!" at the end😂😂I rate this 5/5I recommend this to preteens
              • vioka
                viokaTuesday, April 16, 2019 at 5:16 pm55 stars
                I like the book Be Prepared because there's a lot of exciting scenes in the book that surprises the readers and lets the readers want to continue the book and read til the end. I love the illustrations in the book because they look very pretty. I would recommend this book to anyone because the situation that the main character is in is very similar to what we have every day. It can teach us how to solve things when those kind of situation happens on us. I think that I would solve things the same way as the main character when i got in a situation like that too. I think that the main character is pretty kind and she tried very hard to make friends. I'm glad that in the end the main character finally made friends and had a wonderful summer vacation at the campsite.
                • helloeveryone
                  helloeveryoneTuesday, April 16, 2019 at 5:13 pm55 stars
                  I like the book Be Prepared because there's a lot of exciting scenes in the book that surprises the readers and lets the readers want to continue the book and read til the end. I love the illustrations in the book because they look very pretty. I would recommend this book to anyone because the situation that the main character is in is very similar to what we have every day. It can teach us how to solve things when those kind of situation happens on us.
                  • pizzagirl7
                    pizzagirl7Monday, November 19, 2018 at 8:15 am55 stars
                    I love this book so much!!💋
                    • book crticSunday, November 18, 2018 at 2:47 pm
                      this book is very good

                      Summer Reading 2018 has ended!

                      April 22 - August 31, 2018
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2018 Stats

                      Books read:3809
                      Books reviewed:1775
                      Prizes won:490
                      Schools participating:93

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      applemango
                      applemango
                      belle252
                      belle252
                      jwarne
                      jwarne
                      eybook2018
                      eybook2018
                      lumos
                      lumos
                      auntieb
                      auntieb
                      jso6
                      jso6
                      spykitten
                      spykitten
                      awesomessb
                      awesomessb