Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.336396

Move over Diary of a Wimpy Kid―there's a new journal in town and it belongs to Ratchet.

"A book that is full of surprises...Triumphant enough to make readers cheer; touching enough to make them cry." ―Kirkus, STARRED Review

If only getting a new life were as easy as getting a new notebook.
But it's not.

It's the first day of school for all the kids in the neighborhood. But not for me. I'm homeschooled. That means nothing new. No new book bag, no new clothes, and no new friends.

The best I've got is this notebook. I'm supposed to use it for my writing assignments, but my dad never checks. Here's what I'm really going to use it for:

Ratchet's Top Secret Plan
Turn my old, recycled, freakish, friendless life into something shiny and new.

This Florida State Book Award gold medal winner is a heartfelt story about an unconventional girl's quest to make a friend, save a park, and find her own definition of normal.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on April 2, 2013 by Sourcebooks Jabberwocky
ISBN-10: 1402281064
ISBN-13: 9781402281068
40 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • whatarethoseMonday, August 6, 2018 at 2:30 pm
    This book was actually good it teaches you a lot of lessons that you'll need in life.
    • spykitten
      spykittenSaturday, July 28, 2018 at 4:53 am22 stars
      This book is mostly good, but it makes fun of boys a LOT, so I don't really like it. The book is written like a language arts journal. I don't recommend this book.
      • pettyboo123
        pettyboo123Monday, April 17, 2017 at 12:00 pm
        This book is really good and I read about 3 times. I hope that the next book be' s better then this book. I hope u little a ones have a good run reading this book.
        • marsssuiThursday, April 6, 2017 at 4:51 pm
          it relly good
          • cottoncandygirl
            cottoncandygirlThursday, March 2, 2017 at 3:09 pm44 stars
            its not that bad its pretty good
            • sr05885
              sr05885Saturday, September 17, 2016 at 5:03 am44 stars
              This book was really good!It's about Ratchet she is homeschooled so she wants to make her life change!This book was very good and it was very spot on.
              • tbugsoccer67
                tbugsoccer67Saturday, August 27, 2016 at 1:05 pm44 stars
                Ratchet has no friends. Her dad is weird and homeschools her. She has a journal in which she keeps her writing assignments a.k.a. life stories. Will she be normal and make friends? My sister says this book is good so read it.
                • memoiloveit
                  memoiloveitTuesday, August 23, 2016 at 7:42 am44 stars
                  I like how this book is written by the protagonist, Ratchet, in an actual journal because it stands out. This Journal Belongs to Ratchet is very emotional and surprising because Ratchet is trying to change her life.
                  • strawberry1234
                    strawberry1234Tuesday, July 26, 2016 at 7:27 pm33 stars
                    I liked this book because it was kinda of like dork dairy. But i would only recommend this book to people who like dork dairy
                    • laurajane
                      laurajaneTuesday, July 26, 2016 at 5:11 pm44 stars
                      Ratchet (aka Rachel) has a "Save the environment" crazy dad, lives in a home called a "Handyman's Special", is home schooled, and doesn't have any friends. Oh, and her mom left when she was a baby. Rachet vows that this year, something will change.

                      Summer Reading 2016 has ended!

                      May 18 - September 30, 2016
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2016 Stats

                      Books read:3573
                      Books reviewed:1571
                      Prizes won:453
                      Schools participating:175

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      waterlily1255
                      waterlily1255
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      memoiloveit
                      memoiloveit
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      awesomeguy2000
                      awesomeguy2000
                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      sr05885
                      sr05885