Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 12Z4.162451

#1 New York Times Bestseller
Newbery Honor Book
Winner of the Schneider Family Book Award (Middle School)
Wall Street Journal Best Children's Books of 2015
New York Public Library's 100 Books for Reading and Sharing

An exceptionally moving story of triumph against all odds set during World War II, from the acclaimed author of Jefferson’s Sons and for fans of Number the Stars.

Ten-year-old Ada has never left her one-room apartment. Her mother is too humiliated by Ada’s twisted foot to let her outside. So when her little brother Jamie is shipped out of London to escape the war, Ada doesn’t waste a minute—she sneaks out to join him.

So begins a new adventure for Ada, and for Susan Smith, the woman who is forced to take the two kids in. As Ada teaches herself to ride a pony, learns to read, and watches for German spies, she begins to trust Susan—and Susan begins to love Ada and Jamie. But in the end, will their bond be enough to hold them together through wartime? Or will Ada and her brother fall back into the cruel hands of their mother?

This masterful work of historical fiction is equal parts adventure and a moving tale of family and identity—a classic in the making.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on January 8, 2015 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0803740816
ISBN-13: 9780803740815
50 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • mafifito-156909620749
    mafifito-156909620749Monday, December 2, 2019 at 6:08 am55 stars
    I think people should read The War That Saved My Life because the book is about this girl named Ada and her brother Jamie. Ada has a club foot and her mother treats her poorly. Jamie gets more love or attention then Ada because Jamie gets to go outside and go to the grocery store and can play with his friends and other kids. But Ada can't go outside and go to the grocery store and can't go play with other kids because of her club foot and her mother thinks that she is a disgrace to the family but she isn't. Then there was a war so before the day all the children had to go to England Ada wanted to go with Jamie but her mom said No to her to find out if Ada goes with Jamie read The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradly to find out what happens
    • soccergal2008
      soccergal2008Tuesday, October 15, 2019 at 4:06 pm
      #best book ever an amzing adventure
      • MoTuesday, October 8, 2019 at 8:27 pm
        I love this book
        • applemango
          applemangoTuesday, June 18, 2019 at 8:23 pm55 stars
          AMAZING BOOK! This is about a girl Ada. She has a mean mother who doesn't let her out of the one room apartment house because of her club foot. Also when she does something bad she has to go in the cabinet which has many roaches in it. Jamie is her brother, and he is planned to get shipped out due to the war and safety issues. Ada, during summer has learned to walk and she escapes with Jamie. They get taken to Miss Smith's house and she has to take care of them. Miss Smith is way more kind than Ada's mother. She gives them proper meals and Ada can go out of the house and ride horses and such. She meets new friends like "Maggie" the daughter of Iron Face Lady or Mrs. Thorton the head of the W.V. S also and gets invited over to tea with Colonel and Stephen but, Ada declines several times. Butter is Miss Smith or Susan's horse and he gets too long finger nails and Mr. Fred has to cut them because Ada was complaining that Butter could not go faster. How she became friends with Maggie is she rescued her and brought her home because Maggie's horse threw her off. During this time Ada also sees a spy and reports him to the police and he really actually turns out to be a spy!
          • celia_berry
            celia_berryTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 4:39 pm55 stars
            This is the sweet story of a girl who has been neglected and abused her whole life. This is her story of how she learned to love and be loved. I suggest this book to kids 4th grade and up.
            • izzyblue
              izzyblueWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 11:28 am
              this book is good and i like ho wyou can read it and you can get up close this book is the best i would recamoud this for every one
              • selo4
                selo4Tuesday, May 21, 2019 at 8:40 am55 starsFeatured
                This book is such a great book! If I could I'd give this book more then 5 stars. This book is about a 10 year old girl named Ada. Ada gets abused by her Mother for being a cripple. Ada has a club foot, and you might wonder why her mother just didn't get a treatment? Because Ada's family has financial issues since there father died. Ada has 1 sibling named Jamie he is 6 years old. When World War 2 breaks out, children are supposed to get evacuated but Ada's mother won't bother to evacuate Ada. So Ada escapes and leaves with Jamie, when it's time for children to be taken nobody wants to take Jamie and Ada. There was a few people that wanted Jamie but Ada lied about him so they don't get separated. The last option was to go to a woman named Miss. Smith. At first, Miss Smith was miserable and didn't want Ada and Jamie. But then she started to love them and filled their life with joy, happiness and more. If you want more information on the book, you should read it!
                • shootingstars
                  shootingstarsThursday, February 21, 2019 at 8:25 am55 stars
                  Such an amazing book! It was filled with many wonders and brought me great joy!
                  • applebutter8Tuesday, February 12, 2019 at 8:38 am
                    I LOVE THIS BOOK!! to all of the people in the world who have not read this book go get it right now!! this book is not only interesting but shows love,sadness,heartbreak,pain,worry,and joy. THIS IS A MUST READ FOR ALL AGES! unless you are two or so. :D
                    • chloemcccormick
                      chloemcccormickThursday, February 7, 2019 at 2:15 pm
                      it is a really good book i wish that she didnt get in trubble when she did or not get hert like she did it is going really good so far i love it it is my favorit battle book love it😍😍😍😍😍😻I think you should read It.

                      Summer Reading 2016 has ended!

                      May 18 - September 30, 2016
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2016 Stats

                      Books read:3573
                      Books reviewed:1571
                      Prizes won:453
                      Schools participating:175

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      waterlily1255
                      waterlily1255
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      memoiloveit
                      memoiloveit
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      awesomeguy2000
                      awesomeguy2000
                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      sr05885
                      sr05885