Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U5.0102497
Four children have been chosen to compete in a national competition to find the tastiest confection in the country. Who will invent a candy more delicious than the Oozing Crunchorama or the Neon Lightning Chew?

Logan, the Candymaker's son, who can detect the color of chocolate by touch alone?

Miles, the boy who is allergic to merry-go-rounds and the color pink?

Daisy, the cheerful girl who can lift a fifty-pound lump of taffy like it's a feather?

Or Philip, the suit-and-tie wearing boy who's always scribbling in a secret notebook?

This sweet, charming, and cleverly crafted story, told from each contestant's perspective, is filled with mystery, friendship, and juicy revelations.
Hardcover, 480 pages
Published on May 12, 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316264997
ISBN-13: 9780316264990
292 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • cats20090
    cats20090Friday, January 10, 2020 at 9:14 am55 stars
    This is an extraordinary book with amazing characters, crazy secrets, and lots of candy! Four kids all with different personalities are competing to create a new candy, but when a problem arises, the competitors have to become a team to solve the mystery!
    • bananamana
      bananamanaMonday, October 21, 2019 at 3:08 pm55 stars
      Soar into a world full candy with Logan, Daisy, Miles, and Philip. When they sign up for the Confectionary Associations annual New Candy Contest, the four contestants that are chosen, will be able to go to the Life Is Sweet Factory and see the wonders of the candy. Logan, The CandyMakers son will open the door to the other three contestants and compete with them and hopefully win and be on a plaque on the wall along with the other CandyMakers . But instead of competing they surprisingly become friends and work together to make the best tasting candy in the whole wide world!!....... Make sure to read this book with candy!!!
      • sylvie55555
        sylvie55555Thursday, August 1, 2019 at 11:24 am55 stars
        This is a book written by Wendy Mass. There is a sequel to this book called The candy makers and the great chocolate chase. This book is told in the perspective of four children. The first is Logan. Being the son of the candy maker, and both the son and grandson of the champions of the past winners, Logan feels for then a little bit pressured to win the annual Sweet candy making contest. Next is Miles. He lives on this earth, but is constantly planning the after life. Because of this he constantly sees death every where. Next is Daisy, the only girl in the group. She comes across as cheerful and bubbly, but is really a spy in disguise. Last, is Philip. He's used to winning every thing, so he's sure he will win this to. But when a problem arises, these unlikely four must work together. Will they be able to do it? Read the book to find out!
        • Smartparty9 Tuesday, April 2, 2019 at 6:07 pm
          great book
          • unicorn6890
            unicorn6890Thursday, February 7, 2019 at 4:45 pm55 stars
            I really liked this book because it gives you each characters point of view on the story. I definitely recommend this book!
            • callie_b
              callie_bTuesday, February 5, 2019 at 4:05 pm55 starsFeatured
              I just read this book again, and I actually cannot stress how much I love this book. When I was done, there were literal tears in my eyes because I didn't want it to end! Logan, Daisy, Miles, and Philip are all kids in a new candy contest, and none are what they first appear to be. You develop opinions on each kid, until you read their perspective and your opinions change! This book teaches you not to judge a person by their looks or actions because you never know what they are going through in their life. This was a great mystery and one of my all-time favorite books. I strongly recommend this book for anyone and everyone!
              • UwUTuesday, February 5, 2019 at 1:50 pm
                this legit all of these coments helped me do my book report lol
                • officer_jenny
                  officer_jennyThursday, January 10, 2019 at 3:13 pm55 stars
                  sO COOL! fULL OF TWISTS AND SURPRISES
                  • yellingout
                    yellingoutMonday, December 3, 2018 at 1:59 pm55 stars
                    this is the best book ever!!
                    • freckleface04
                      freckleface04Tuesday, December 4, 2018 at 8:00 am55 stars
                      i agree daisy is so my favorite:)
                    • FrecklefacecMonday, December 3, 2018 at 8:35 am
                      i love this book daisy is my favorite

                      Summer Reading 2016 has ended!

                      May 18 - September 30, 2016
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2016 Stats

                      Books read:3573
                      Books reviewed:1571
                      Prizes won:453
                      Schools participating:175

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      waterlily1255
                      waterlily1255
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      memoiloveit
                      memoiloveit
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      awesomeguy2000
                      awesomeguy2000
                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      sr05885
                      sr05885