The Boxcar Children (The Boxcar Children Mysteries)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 2 - 5Grades 1 - 5O3.917087

Orphaned and alone but determined to stay together, Henry, Jessie, Violet, and Benny Alden set off on their own and turned an abandoned boxcar into their home. The Boxcar Children, published over sixty-five years ago in 1942, has captured the imaginations of generations of readers. This Collector's Edition features the original artwork plus additional information about Gertrude Chandler Warner's life and work as it appeared in the 60th Anniversary Edition.

Hardcover, 168 pages
Published on September 1, 2009 by Albert Whitman & Company
ISBN-10: 0807508500
ISBN-13: 9780807508503
152 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Sofia LongThursday, February 13, 2020 at 1:05 pm
    Sharkboy and Lavagirl
    • ghost_dk_diemx
      ghost_dk_diemxFriday, December 20, 2019 at 6:28 pm55 stars
      (Review for Toono) So I saw one of my followers had wrote a review on the boxcar children and series and I started reading this series a few years ago. I am really enjoying and my followed is right it is a good series and there's so many. She said "You will never run out" which is absolutely true. Although some of the parts can be sad and a lot exciting I just think it's a good series for any ages and I think all the big mystery ones are my favorite. Thanks for writing that review toono and the idea. Read on!
      • toono
        toonoWednesday, December 18, 2019 at 8:31 pm55 stars
        I could never find a good book until I found these I totally recommend the whole series. there are about 200 of them so you will never run out. you can find them at almost all libraries. hope this helped!
        • lmhewlett
          lmhewlettFriday, February 15, 2019 at 10:52 am55 stars
          This book is about Henry, Violet, Benny, and Jessie - they are orphans. These kids are working in the bakery, but they are forced to find somewhere else to go. They find a boxcar to live in and they learn to take care of themselves. This book is awesome because it’s surprising and full of excitement. It keeps you wanting more.
          • herinixikakezu
            herinixikakezuThursday, December 20, 2018 at 7:41 am55 stars
            The Boxcar Children By Gertrud Chandler Werner Four children walked by a bakery. They were on an adventure and a few mystery along the way. If you’re an orphan, you might like this book because you can relate to it. They have a Grandfather but they think he is mean. They have lots of fun in there new home. [ I won't tell were or wot they live in] They are very independent in the next book they sleep on an island all by them self. I’ll bet you'll love this book.
            • dragonk1ll3r
              dragonk1ll3rFriday, October 26, 2018 at 10:14 am55 stars
              like best book EVER : )
              • readytoread
                readytoreadThursday, August 30, 2018 at 4:41 pm55 stars
                The book the Boxcar Children is about 4 siblings- Henry, Jessie, Violet, and Benny. They are orphans who one day find a boxcar in the woods. They make it there home. Along the road, they find a dog, a job, and most importantly- a happy ending! This is a great classic full of family love and caring children.
                • fossilfury
                  fossilfuryWednesday, August 29, 2018 at 2:39 pm55 stars
                  This is a great book! I loved it. It adds the perfect amount of action, suspense, and excitement. The boxcar children is a big hit for readers. This book leaves the reader satisfied
                  • cobrazeus10
                    cobrazeus10Monday, August 27, 2018 at 6:42 pm55 stars
                    I love how the Boxcar Children doesn't start out as a mystery series. The characters are very relatable. It definitely is a must read for anyone. The only problem I have with the series, is that there are so many, that its impossible to read them all.
                    • goals
                      goalsMonday, August 27, 2018 at 11:23 am33 stars
                      The Boxcar Children is a classic novel for a good reason. The story is about 4 siblings and their adventures. They have nowhere to live so they live in an abanded box car. Their only relative is their grandfather who they think is mean. They later learn that he is kind and they live with him and the boxcar is now a playhouse for them. I loved reading this story and I will never forget what it teaches about how strong families are.

                      Summer Reading 2016 has ended!

                      May 18 - September 30, 2016
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2016 Stats

                      Books read:3573
                      Books reviewed:1571
                      Prizes won:453
                      Schools participating:175

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      waterlily1255
                      waterlily1255
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      memoiloveit
                      memoiloveit
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      awesomeguy2000
                      awesomeguy2000
                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      sr05885
                      sr05885