Momotaro Xander and the Lost Island of Monsters

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 4n/a3.968690
Xander Miyamoto would rather do almost anything than listen to his sixth grade teacher, Mr. Stedman, drone on about weather disasters happening around the globe. If Xander could do stuff he's good at instead, like draw comics and create computer programs, and if Lovey would stop harassing him for being half Asian, he might not be counting the minutes until the dismissal bell.

When spring break begins at last, Xander plans to spend it playing computer games with his best friend, Peyton. Xander's father briefly distracts him with a comic book about some samurai warrior that pops out of a peach pit. Xander tosses it aside, but Peyton finds it more interesting.

Little does either boy know that the comic is a warning. They are about to be thrust into the biggest adventure of their lives-a journey wilder than any Xander has ever imagined, full of weird monsters even worse than Lovey. To win at this deadly serious game they will have to rely on their wits, courage, faith, and especially, each other. Maybe Xander should have listened to Mr Stedman about the weather after all. . . .
Praise for Xander and the Lost Island of Monsters:
"With phantasmagorical environments, flying white rats, a fire-breathing bird, a giant, a snow demon, and other creepy things, there is abundant action. This retelling of a Japanese folktale celebrates courage, friendship, and pride of heritage, while featuring unforgettable characters and leaving readers eager for the next installment in this new series." -Booklist

"A breathless retelling of the Japanese legend of Momotaro, this is an Asian version of Percy Jackson; adventure fans will be waiting for more." -Kirkus
"Though the story of Momotaro is familiar to every Japanese child, Dilloway seamlessly weaves necessary background information into the fast, action-filled plot. Xander, a Japanese American boy, hardly knows the legend himself, so readers learn along with him. Xander's candid and straightforward first-person narration will instantly resonate with middle grade readers, as will his story's themes of self-acceptance and friendship. Yoon's comic-style illustrations evoke Xander's talent for drawing and bring welcome visual interest for reluctant readers. This fast-paced fantasy adventure with a foundation in Japanese culture is perfect for fans of Percy Jackson." -School Library Journal

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on April 5, 2016 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1484724879
ISBN-13: 9781484724873
22 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jebbyTuesday, November 12, 2019 at 4:16 pm
    amazing
    • cblocksurprise
      cblocksurpriseThursday, July 6, 2017 at 7:24 pm44 stars
      I like the book. The book is a adventure book. Lots of sword fighting, crazy monsters and a bit of betrayal. One of the best recipes for a book. I would rate it 4 stars.
      • snicker9
        snicker9Tuesday, September 6, 2016 at 5:51 pm44 stars
        Xander Miyamoto usually spends his time drawing comics while his sixth grade teacher lectures about world problems, and creating computer programs at home. He likes nothing better than when the dismissal bell rings, and get away from bullies like Lovey who won't leave him alone for being half Asian. At the start of Spring Break, Xander and his best friend Peyton are playing computer games when Xander's father interrupts and gives them a comic book about a samurai warrior. But then when there's an earthquake, and a giant flood, the kids find out the comic is real. Xander and his family are part of an ancient line dedicated to protecting the world. And when Xander's dad disappears in the flood, Xander's grandmother tells them of his legacy. So Xander and Peyton, along with Inu, Xander's dog, must set off on the adventure of a lifetime in order to save his father, and the rest of the world from unimaginable monsters and destruction. And Xander must do this while trying to figure out what his powers are, and if he really belongs in this adventure. I really liked in this book that a lot of Japanese culture is part of the story, and you learn a lot. I recommend this book to adventure book lovers. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.
        • coreycole
          coreycoleWednesday, August 31, 2016 at 11:33 am33 stars
          i wanted to be an artisit for awhile but theres so many people saying its not good. in this book he didnt give up his art came to life like my om says good art does for the right person. it was fun to read but i wasnt really in the story
          • strawberry1234
            strawberry1234Thursday, July 28, 2016 at 8:28 pm44 stars
            I like this book it would be in my top 5. I think this was the best adventure book i read. Read this book !!!!!!!
            • Book reviewer Tuesday, July 12, 2016 at 4:23 am
              Good book but the end part can get confusing
              • mysterygal
                mysterygalMonday, July 11, 2016 at 4:23 pm44 stars
                I won this book from DOGO books and really enjoyed it! It is based off a real Japanese tale and has many strange monsters called Oni. In this book, Xander and his friend Peyton are sent on a strange and sudden journey to defeat the Oni who kidnapped Xander's father. Along his travels, Xander meets some threatening monsters and tries to figure out what else he is good at other than video games.
                • zombiedude
                  zombiedudeSunday, July 3, 2016 at 7:31 am33 stars
                  I just got this book and it is so cool because it is a comic and it has a bunch of action and adventures. It also has some cool drawings.
                  • sanchita123
                    sanchita123Tuesday, June 28, 2016 at 10:44 am11 star
                    Pesonally, this book was boring. It has a lot of action, but its confusing and you dont get whats happening. The plot is strange as well. I wouldnt reccomend it.
                    • waterlily1255
                      waterlily1255Monday, June 27, 2016 at 11:59 am44 stars
                      A desperate boy, a sad cover. Ready for video games like usual. Then comes the biggest adventure of his life. I'm going to leave it to you to find out the rest, but let me warn you.. Its absoluety awesome!!

                      Summer Reading 2016 has ended!

                      May 18 - September 30, 2016
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2016 Stats

                      Books read:3573
                      Books reviewed:1571
                      Prizes won:453
                      Schools participating:175

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      waterlily1255
                      waterlily1255
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      memoiloveit
                      memoiloveit
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      awesomeguy2000
                      awesomeguy2000
                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      sr05885
                      sr05885