Lea Leads the Way (American Girl Today)

Book 2 of 3 in the Lea Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.822897
Lea Clark is all set for an animal-discovery adventure! She's never been to a rainforest before, and her mind is filled with exciting thoughts about the animals she'll get to see and the pictures she'll get to take deep in the jungle. During a hike with her brother through the Amazon rainforest, they discover a baby sloth that is badly injured. Lea quickly decides she must do all she can to help the little sloth survive. But as she learns more, she wonders? Is that the right thing to do?
Paperback, 152 pages
Published on January 1, 2016 by American Girl
ISBN-10: 160958998X
ISBN-13: 9781609589981
34 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • happypug12
    happypug12Wednesday, September 28, 2016 at 12:38 pm44 starsFeatured
    In the sequel to Lea Dives in, Lea journeys to the Amazon. She is prepared to see Jaguars and Toucans, Monkeys and Caimans, and to take epic photos of them. What she doesn't expect is falling face first into piranha-infested water, eating a grub and almost ENJOYING it, getting chased down by a grumpy rooster, and adopting a baby sloth whose mother was probably eaten by a harpy eagle. Life just isn't easy in the rainforest. I actually found myself enjoying this book and instead of having to force myself to read it, like with Lea Dives In, it was actually interesting to read this one, because there's a lot of character development, and it's always cool to learn about new places. Like, did you know that it's a myth that piranhas eat humans? What actually happened was in 1913 president Theodore Roosevelt decided to tour the Amazon, so the local people, to impress him, caught piranhas, isolated them, and starved them. When Roosevelt arrived, the locals threw a live cow in the water, and the piranhas DEVOURED it. Roosevelt wrote about what he saw and VOILA a myth was born. Overall, a good book and a nice read for when you're bored and want to feel like you're touring the Amazon rainforest WITH Lea instead of just reading about it. I suggest for elementary ages, but hey, if you're older and want to give it a go, get reading!
    • 400bella
      400bellaFriday, September 16, 2016 at 1:52 pm55 stars
      Lea leads the way is about a girl who goes to aulstaralia and meet new friends there I can not wait to read it again
      • snicker9
        snicker9Wednesday, September 14, 2016 at 5:03 pm44 stars
        After Lea’s first adventure in South America she gets to go spend time in the Amazon with her brother Zac. She is thrilled, as she has never been to a rainforest before and she can’t wait to take pictures of exotic animals for her blog. On one of her hikes with Zac she finds an injured baby sloth. When they realize that the sloth is all alone, they decide to take her in and care for it until they can find her a new home. As Lea gets to help Amanda(the sloth’s new name) and learn more about how humans have interfered negatively in many other parts of the rain forest Lea can’t help but wonder if she did the right thing. I recommend this book to elementary grade girls. I think girls who like reading books part of the AmericanGirl series will enjoy this one as well. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.
        • marylovesjesus
          marylovesjesusSaturday, August 20, 2016 at 2:30 pm
          loves them
          • din10
            din10Saturday, August 20, 2016 at 2:11 pm55 stars
            ive read this book i love its great i have a lot more american girl books i recommend this book for other kids loved it
            • bobelly
              bobellyWednesday, August 10, 2016 at 5:14 pm55 stars
              The reason I didn't like the first one is that the brother and sister were mean to each other and I didn't really like that. So, I wasn't excited about reading the second one. But, I really liked it anyway. Leah and Zac were nice to each other and they found a cute baby sloth.
              • yaya35223
                yaya35223Sunday, August 7, 2016 at 2:24 pm44 stars
                I really liked reading Lea Leads the Way! I really liked reading about how Lea overcame her obstacles. I loved how she has a pet sloth!
                • strawberry1234
                  strawberry1234Thursday, July 28, 2016 at 6:04 am55 stars
                  Lea leads the way was a better book then lea dives in i think this book was more detailed then he other book. i would read this again
                  • coolgirlintown
                    coolgirlintownWednesday, July 13, 2016 at 11:15 am11 star
                    I forgot I already read this book. But any way I am not trying to be mean to the author or anything but I think this book was a boring and do not recommend it. Like I said before I am not trying to be mean to the author and this was just my opinion so if you liked it I am not trying to ruin your life or anything.
                    • kjtennis
                      kjtennisSaturday, July 9, 2016 at 2:33 pm33 stars
                      Lea is now in the Amazon! Her brother Zac has traveled with her and they are ready for new adventures. One day, Lea and Zac go on a hike in the rainforest and discover a baby sloth who has been badly injured. They decide to take her home and deliver the sloth to a sanctuary that cares for animals. Amanda is the Smith's new name. Will the sloth be alright? Read to find out in Lea Leads the Way, the sequel to Lea Dives In. :)

                      Summer Reading 2016 has ended!

                      May 18 - September 30, 2016
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2016 Stats

                      Books read:3573
                      Books reviewed:1571
                      Prizes won:453
                      Schools participating:175

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      waterlily1255
                      waterlily1255
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      memoiloveit
                      memoiloveit
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      awesomeguy2000
                      awesomeguy2000
                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      sr05885
                      sr05885