I Survived the Sinking of the Titanic, 1912

Book 1 of 18 in the I Survived Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5Q3.910437
The most terrifying events in history are brought vividly to life in this new fictional series! In book 1, ten-year-old George is trapped on the Titanic -- how will he survive?

Ten-year-old George Calder can't believe his luck -- he and his little sister, Phoebe, are on the famous Titanic, crossing the ocean with their Aunt Daisy. The ship is full of exciting places to explore, but when George ventures into the first class storage cabin, a terrible boom shakes the entire boat. Suddenly, water is everywhere, and George's life changes forever.

Lauren Tarshis brings history's most exciting and terrifying events to life in this New York Times bestselling series. Readers will be transported by stories of amazing kids and how they survived!
Hardcover, 112 pages
Published on June 1, 2010 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545206871
ISBN-13: 9780545206877
223 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bookfan2008
    bookfan2008Saturday, January 25, 2020 at 5:54 pm22 stars
    i just read it it was okay but im not a big fan of the book
    • crazytaco1
      crazytaco1Tuesday, January 21, 2020 at 6:52 pm33 stars
      it was 100% a historical fiction book it wasn't like the other ones I don't know.
      • jayden6924
        jayden6924Friday, January 10, 2020 at 11:57 am33 stars
        I didn't like this book. It didn't really give me the feeling that other I survived books do. It is about a boy named George. He was coming back from England. He was on the Titanic and he sunk. I cant relate to this book whatsoever.
        • 22trans
          22transFriday, January 10, 2020 at 3:13 am33 stars
          The reason why I gave this book a three-star rating is because it didn't give much information about the actual Titanic sinking. It gave more of a fictional story about George surviving the Titanic. He was on the Titanic with his sister, coming back from visiting their Aunt Daisy in England. As the Titanic was sinking everyone screamed while George just stood there.
          • tanecare-157805875443
            tanecare-157805875443Tuesday, January 7, 2020 at 6:54 am55 stars
            cool book
            • viduhuwu-157805874944
              viduhuwu-157805874944Tuesday, January 7, 2020 at 6:46 am44 stars
              In my opinion, I really liked this book. One reason why is because there is a fell for adventure in young George. Another reason why is The last reason why is because it is a little scary and mysterious. My favorite part is when George finds his sister on the RMS Carpathia You might like this book if you like adventure and action. You should read this book because it is fun and it will keep you awake through the whole book.
              • martinezjared
                martinezjaredFriday, October 18, 2019 at 6:50 am11 star
                I really didn't like this book because it didn't give to much information ,and that the timeline was going pretty fast of the story.
                • coolkid_alert
                  coolkid_alertThursday, September 26, 2019 at 7:43 pm33 stars
                  when i was in 3rd grade i love learning about the titanic in 1912! i was so interested that i couldn't stop reading about it!
                  • willhuffman667
                    willhuffman667Thursday, September 26, 2019 at 5:21 pm44 stars
                    I Survived the Sinking of the Titainic is by Lauren Tarshis. George was in a good relashonship with his sister. He was always in truoble, and loved to go on adventures. I think that reader 9-12 years of age would like this book. I liked this book and I think you will too.
                    • shantzj
                      shantzjThursday, September 19, 2019 at 4:58 pm44 stars
                      "I Survived The Sinking of the Titanic," is about a boy named George who survived the sinking of the Titanic. George was a trouble maker and like to mess around. He was on board with his sister Phoebe, and his aunt Daisy, they were heading back home to New York City. They were come back from visiting aunt Daisy, in England. They were eating Dinner at the restaurant on board and a man told them that there was a Egyptian Princess on board, and it was 600 years old. They were confused but as the man was talking he said that it was a mummy. That night George waited until Phoebe and aunt Daisy were asleep and then he went down to the fist class luggage area. Not long after George came back to the room, men came nocking on there Dore and said that the ship was sinking and that you need to get on the deck. Aunt Daisy went to get Phoebe up, but she was gone. Find out if Aunt Daisy and Phoebe also survive when you Read "I Survived The Sinking Of The Titanic,"

                      Summer Reading 2016 has ended!

                      May 18 - September 30, 2016
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2016 Stats

                      Books read:3573
                      Books reviewed:1571
                      Prizes won:453
                      Schools participating:175

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      waterlily1255
                      waterlily1255
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234
                      memoiloveit
                      memoiloveit
                      snicker9
                      snicker9
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      awesomeguy2000
                      awesomeguy2000
                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      sr05885
                      sr05885