Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5S3.917045
Middle-school comedian, homework dodger, rock-star wannabe, master doodler—Tom Gates is back with two more episodes full of visual humor and kid appeal.

No school for two whole weeks! Now Tom has plenty of time for the good stuff, like finding new ways (so many!) to annoy his big sister, Delia. Or watching TV and eating caramel candy. Or most important, band practice for DOGZOMBIES in his best friend Derek’s garage (while not encouraging Derek’s ’60s-music-crazed dad). All that stands between this band and rock greatness is, well, a song (besides "Delia’s a Weirdo"). And finding a drummer. And landing a gig. Will Tom let a killer toothache and pesky overdue homework get in his way?
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on May 12, 2015 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763674745
ISBN-13: 9780763674748
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • gusto
    gustoSaturday, November 25, 2017 at 4:53 pm44 stars
    TOM GATES IS AWESOME!!
    • pattorules90Tuesday, June 13, 2017 at 4:53 pm
      I think it is cool and adventurous go through making excuses and getting into trouble but with a nasty tooth infection and trying to find a new drummer it is going to take a lot of skills to do it.But when someone is found out cheating it is up to Tom to find out who it is. I rate this book 5 stars because it made me lol and it is adventurous
      • igskred
        igskredWednesday, November 16, 2016 at 12:47 pm55 stars
        i have alredy got the book up 2 pg 240
        • igsocean
          igsoceanWednesday, November 16, 2016 at 12:44 pm
          Its is so cool
          • belizey
            belizeyMonday, September 19, 2016 at 7:31 pm55 stars
            this book is so cool I like this book because tom is a boy about my age and has a lot of zest its really funny ecspecailly toms escuses.
            • cutiepatuty
              cutiepatutyFriday, July 1, 2016 at 3:53 pm
              Now when I get caught I'll have the perfect excuses!
              • igskred
                igskredWednesday, November 16, 2016 at 12:47 pm55 stars
                me 2 got lost of excuses
              • saeni
                saeniTuesday, June 28, 2016 at 3:07 pm55 stars
                This book was really awesome.It was crack up, Tom Gates is a boy who you probably can compare your life with.It's really funny and it has illustrations I recommend this book you should totally read it!
                • maxh12345
                  maxh12345Tuesday, July 21, 2015 at 5:07 pm
                  i loved it
                  • igskred
                    igskredWednesday, November 16, 2016 at 12:48 pm55 stars
                    me 2
                  • penguin313
                    penguin313Saturday, July 18, 2015 at 10:38 am55 stars
                    A funny and cute book I won from IDOGO. Tom is back, and he has homework excuses, Marcus problems, and a new drummer for his band.
                    • selina
                      selinaWednesday, July 1, 2015 at 12:49 pm
                      I wonder what it is about
                      • igskred
                        igskredWednesday, November 16, 2016 at 12:48 pm55 stars
                        u need 2 read it

                      Summer Reading 2015 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 30, 2015
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2015 Stats

                      Books read:5186
                      Books reviewed:1726
                      Prizes won:460
                      Schools participating:212

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      kitkat1998
                      kitkat1998
                      genius1326
                      genius1326
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      yaya35223
                      yaya35223
                      coreycole
                      coreycole
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      snicker9
                      snicker9