Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5Q4.226755
The first in the series about everyone's favorite classroom pet!

You can learn a lot about life by observing another species. That's what Humphrey was told when he was first brought to Room 26. And boy is it true! There are always adventures in the classroom and each weekend he gets to sleep over with different students. Humphrey learns to read, write, shoot rubber bands (only in self-defense, of course), turn off TVs, teach English as a second language, and more. With a lock-that-doesn't-lock and an adventurous spirit, what more could a mischievous hamster want?

With a fresh voice and an engaging, hamster's-eye view of school, families, and treats to hide in a cheek pouch, Betty G. Birney's Humphrey will elicit laughter and demands for hamsters in every elementary classroom.

Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on February 2, 2004 by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0399241981
ISBN-13: 9780399241987
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • inmemoryofcpr
    inmemoryofcprTuesday, July 23, 2019 at 2:31 pm55 stars
    When Humphrey, a hamster, is picked to be one of the school's class's pet, HUmphrey meets new kids and has many adventures. Humphrey also helps the kids with their problems! From being too loud or trying to be too helpful, Humphrey can solve them all! I would recommend this fro ages 8+ Super cute book and so enjoyable!! Great for relaxation if you're too old and detailed well. I love the author's writing style! Hope you read this because this is a must read for 3rd grade!
    • borocoty-155690352397
      borocoty-155690352397Friday, May 3, 2019 at 10:23 am55 stars
      humphrey is the best
      • borocoty-155690352397
        borocoty-155690352397Friday, May 3, 2019 at 10:19 am55 stars
        I think you should read this book if you haven't yet students will take humphrey home this book takes place at school.
        • AwesomeKatieKatThursday, March 14, 2019 at 5:55 pm
          This book is awesome! I think that Humphrey is a cute book. I love it so much!!!
          • summergirl2016
            summergirl2016Sunday, January 22, 2017 at 12:13 pm
            I love this book so much get all the other humphrey books they are cute cute cute cute! I love that hamster!!!!!!
            • lizze 23Wednesday, January 11, 2017 at 2:07 pm
              so cool !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
              • hc3
                hc3Tuesday, June 28, 2016 at 8:31 pm
                This is a really good and cute book! I would read this over and over again!
                • memoiloveit
                  memoiloveitTuesday, May 31, 2016 at 10:42 am33 stars
                  I like that this book showed what life was like in the perspective of a class pet hamster because I've never wondered before
                  • pandalizzie
                    pandalizzieTuesday, March 1, 2016 at 10:58 am
                    I love this book,humphery is the cutest little thing.
                    • dolphin33
                      dolphin33Monday, August 17, 2015 at 8:55 pm44 stars
                      This is a SUPER-GOOD book! I really want it!

                      Summer Reading 2015 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 30, 2015
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2015 Stats

                      Books read:5186
                      Books reviewed:1726
                      Prizes won:460
                      Schools participating:212

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      kitkat1998
                      kitkat1998
                      genius1326
                      genius1326
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      yaya35223
                      yaya35223
                      coreycole
                      coreycole
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      snicker9
                      snicker9