Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 12Z4.786300
A Washington Post Best Book of 2014
A Kirkus Reviews Best Children's Book of 2014
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2014
A Chicago Public Library "Best of the Best" 2014


The wrong boy will save your life, and you will save his.

When Ned and his identical twin brother tumble from their raft into a raging river, only Ned survives. Villagers are convinced the wrong boy lived. But when a Bandit King comes to steal the magic Ned’s mother, a witch, is meant to protect, it’s Ned who safeguards the magic and summons the strength to protect his family and community.

Meanwhile, across the enchanted forest that borders Ned’s village lives Áine, the resourceful and pragmatic daughter of the Bandit King, who is haunted by her mother’s last wordsto her: “The wrong boy will save your life and you will save his.” When Áine’s and Ned’s paths cross, can they trust each other long enough to stop the war that’s about to boil over between their two kingdoms?
Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 16, 2014 by Algonquin Young Readers
ISBN-10: 161620351X
ISBN-13: 9781616203511
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • theawesomeguy55
    theawesomeguy55Thursday, January 18, 2018 at 7:52 pm55 stars
    This book is so good! It all started when two boys were playing in a stream and one of them drowns. The people of the village are conviced that the wrong boy lived.(No, not by the opposite boy, the boy who is clumsy and studders. Then two kingdoms try to battle each other to say that they are better. But Ned, the wrong boy, and Aine, the daughter of the Bandit King meet and go on the adventure of a lifetime to stop war from boiling over.
    • prizzi
      prizziTuesday, November 24, 2015 at 9:23 am
      It is sad in the beginning, I'm only on page 30 but it is good so far
      • bookworm890
        bookworm890Wednesday, September 30, 2015 at 7:26 pm55 stars
        The wrong boy died. That is the premise of this beautiful story of a boy who tries to defend his family's magic, the girl who tries to help him, and the man who is ruthlessly hunting him. Perfect for fans of Jinx or Peter Nimble.
        • catface173
          catface173Wednesday, September 30, 2015 at 3:41 pm55 stars
          I LOVED this book. Its so nice that the boy protected his mother when you would think the mother protects him. Its a really good book.
          • inventor60
            inventor60Friday, September 4, 2015 at 7:03 pm33 stars
            In the end, the wrong boy survived, Ned. Everyone's certain about this until.............. When the Bandit King comes over, trouble comes with him. He begins by trying to steal Ned's mom's magic and a war is waged...... Read to find out what happens next.
            • timtro
              timtroThursday, September 24, 2015 at 6:34 am
              Sounds cool
            • sushi321
              sushi321Thursday, September 3, 2015 at 2:58 pm
              I did not really like this book. The plot was a bit scattered and it was a little confusing. I don't recommend this book unless you have nothing else to do.
              • yaya35223
                yaya35223Sunday, August 30, 2015 at 11:33 am33 stars
                The Witches boy was not one of my favorite books. I didn't really get the story. The characters were very strange. I don't think I would recommend this book.
                • playdoh
                  playdohMonday, August 17, 2015 at 2:51 pm
                  i think it should be a good book!!!!
                  • maranita
                    maranitaSaturday, August 1, 2015 at 11:45 pm
                    I so want to read this book! I hope I get to read this book soon.
                    • snicker9
                      snicker9Saturday, August 1, 2015 at 7:43 pm55 stars
                      This book was very surprising, in a good way. When i first began reading it, I was a little bored, and almost considered stopping. But I decided to keep going, and so I finished the book. I am so glad I did! The Witch's Boy had an unique plot, something like which I have never seen before. The main character was Ned, who never spoke much after his twin brother. His mother was a witch, but then she had to travel away unexpectedly. While she is gone bandits show up to steal the magic his family guards. The only way to protect is to use it himself. Then he is kidnapped and must escape. Where is his mother? Why is the army gathering? What does the Bandit King's daughter have to do with anything? I recommend this book to all teens. There is violence, so it shouldn't be read by younger kids.

                      Summer Reading 2015 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 30, 2015
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2015 Stats

                      Books read:5186
                      Books reviewed:1726
                      Prizes won:460
                      Schools participating:212

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      kitkat1998
                      kitkat1998
                      genius1326
                      genius1326
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      yaya35223
                      yaya35223
                      coreycole
                      coreycole
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      snicker9
                      snicker9