Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.528612
New York Times Bestseller

“A double helping of fun and mischief!”
—Jeff kinney, author of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series

“Hilarious.”
—Dav Pilkey, author of the Captain Underpants series

Miles Murphy is not happy to be moving to Yawnee Valley, a sleepy town that’s famous for one thing and one thing only: cows. In his old school, everyone knew him as the town’s best prankster, but Miles quickly discovers that Yawnee Valley already has a prankster, and a great one. If Miles is going to take the title from this mystery kid, he is going to have to raise his game.

It’s prankster against prankster in an epic war of trickery, until the two finally decide to join forces and pull off the biggest prank ever seen: a prank so huge that it would make the members of the International Order of Disorder proud.

In The Terrible Two, bestselling authors and friends Mac Barnett and Jory John have created a series that has its roots in classic middle-grade literature yet feels fresh and new at the same time.

“The pranks, the brotherhood, the art, the heart! What’s not to love about the Terrible Two?”
—Sara Pennypacker, author of the Clementine series

“You don’t have to be a cow, like cows, or even know a cow to love the Terrible Two.”
—Dave Eggers

“This book is terrible! Terribly funny, terribly full of pranks, and terribly wonderful.”
—Jon Scieszka, author of The Stinky Cheese Man and the Frank Einstein series

“The Terrible Two are my kind of kids. And what’s more, they’re kids’ kind of kids.”
—Annie Barrows, author of the Ivy & Bean series

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on January 13, 2015 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 1419714910
ISBN-13: 9781419714917
108 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • savagegirl33
    savagegirl33Monday, June 17, 2019 at 12:53 pm55 stars
    This book is about a it named miles he moved to yeanny velly and the.next day he went.to a school named yeanny velly letters adeym. I dont.know how to spell the name so he's never is to go to that school. so he.Kent the public and thye public called this guy name miles to give him a tour and the public asked what's your name and he.said.miles in going.to end here so I will not spolle it so the story is a good story
    • Michelle10Monday, May 27, 2019 at 10:13 am
      Very good book, its super funny. (I only read it on the computer I wonder if theirs one in the book store)
      • brawlstarschamp
        brawlstarschampMonday, May 27, 2019 at 12:47 am55 stars
        Hilarious! Miles Murphy was known as the best prankster in school. But when his family moves, he finds that it he isn't the only jokester in this school!
        • PatrickMonday, December 10, 2018 at 2:46 pm
          I really liked this book. It's about a kid that's named Miles and moves to a new town named Yawnee valley. I will not spoil the rest. :D
          • typyhogene
            typyhogeneThursday, December 14, 2017 at 11:10 am44 stars
            This book gave me a great big hug and I hugged it back. Miles is a prankster. He has just moved and has to prank at a new school. On the first day at school, the principal's car has been parked on a bridge. Miles says he didn't do it. Who did? Read to See!
            • givyfonysy
              givyfonysyThursday, November 2, 2017 at 11:27 am44 stars
              This book is a great book for those people that love to prank people . It is about two boys who loved to prank.
              • katniss_12
                katniss_12Tuesday, October 31, 2017 at 5:05 pm55 stars
                Hello! Me and my friends are really good friends with Mac Barnett!! You should totally read the Terrible a Two. There are two books in the series so far.. and yes I’m a prankster my self!!
                • tasagukawo
                  tasagukawoTuesday, October 31, 2017 at 7:58 am11 star
                  I read the terrible two and it is not the best book. But I liked it enough to read it again. I recommend this book to people who like a lot of comedy.
                  • vonudymywi
                    vonudymywiMonday, October 30, 2017 at 11:14 am55 stars
                    The book is about two guys having a prank wars but they agree to stop to get the final prank.
                    • gekixejago
                      gekixejagoThursday, October 26, 2017 at 11:05 am55 stars
                      This book is very good I like it so much that I laughed.

                      Summer Reading 2015 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 30, 2015
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2015 Stats

                      Books read:5186
                      Books reviewed:1726
                      Prizes won:460
                      Schools participating:212

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      kitkat1998
                      kitkat1998
                      genius1326
                      genius1326
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      yaya35223
                      yaya35223
                      coreycole
                      coreycole
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      snicker9
                      snicker9