Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.315950
This hilarious, highly original series, which so astutely captures the odd preoccupations of middle schoolers, will appeal to the many fans of the Origami Yoda series and such gross-out classics as How to Eat Fried Worms and Freckle Juice.

Lyle Hertzog and his friends Marilla and Dave expect to spend another dull holiday passing time at the local Qwikpick convenience store. Then an article in their hometown paper catches their eye—the sludge fountain at the nearby sewage plant is being retired. With this news, the three friends decide they’re not just normal kids who don’t have Christmas plans: they’re the Qwikpick Adventure Society. Their first mission: to see the “poop fountain” before it fades from glory.

Told with the mix of journal entries, doodles, and handwritten notes that has made the Origami Yoda books so appealing, this is another great series from a master chronicler of middle school.

Praise for The Qwikpick Papers
"Laugh-out-loud high jinks tailormade for reluctant readers. A hilarious and well- designed update."
--School Library Journal

Summer 2014 Kids' Indie Next List
Hardcover, 144 pages
Published on May 20, 2014 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 1419704257
ISBN-13: 9781419704253
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jenSaturday, March 12, 2016 at 9:53 pm
    A great book and a great adventure. This is what I miss in children's books. I highly recommend but if you can't handle having an imagination then maybe it's not for you.
    • catface173
      catface173Thursday, September 24, 2015 at 4:39 pm
      Cant even rate this 1 star. Super Inapproatre . I suggest that you don't read this book but that is up to you book lovers.
      • inventor60
        inventor60Tuesday, September 22, 2015 at 4:40 pm55 stars
        Poop Fountain is a very interesting book to read . It talks about three kids, Marilla, Dave, and Lyle that travel to a drainage sewer to see the poop, because it is closing in a few days, and while this is going on, Lyle has a crush on Marilla, and Dave is a filthy rich kid. Marilla and Lyle live in a trailer park. I reccomend this book to middle school kids. 5th grade kids might be interested in this book.
        • sushi321
          sushi321Thursday, September 3, 2015 at 3:03 pm22 stars
          I found it a bit disgusting.... I mean, yes, some parts were funny but the rest of it was absolutely GROSS. Overall it was okay....
          • coreycole
            coreycoleFriday, August 28, 2015 at 12:54 pm55 stars
            this book was awesome im wondering if middle school is actually like this and theres a real game you can play and a real poop fountain
            • lulu1234
              lulu1234Tuesday, August 4, 2015 at 4:53 am55 stars
              Who wouldn't like to read a book called Poop Fountain? It's a funny mystery that kept my attention. I think everyone should read this book.
              • penguin313
                penguin313Wednesday, July 29, 2015 at 7:11 pm55 stars
                A funny book about a poop fountain and 3 kids adventure. My brother and I loved this book and really recommend this book. 5 star book for sure.
                • squirmyloo
                  squirmylooWednesday, July 29, 2015 at 11:22 am22 stars
                  I don't know what I was thinking when I checked this book out. It was not as funny to me as gross! I barely finished it.....
                  • genius1326
                    genius1326Friday, July 17, 2015 at 8:02 am44 stars
                    This is very funny, and it has a weird name, but it actually isn't that bad. Some disgusting parts, but a lot of adventure and a lot of laughs from Mr. Angleberger.
                    • glittermis
                      glittermisFriday, July 10, 2015 at 3:05 pm33 stars
                      This is a hilarious book about 3 kids who have boring lives.Lyle Hertzog and his friends Marilla and Dave expect to spend another dull holiday. That changes when they hear that the sludge fountain near the sewage plant is retiring. They decide that they are the qwikpick adventure society. Their first mission is to see what they call “poop fountain” before it fades from glory. I recommend this book to ages 7-10 and fans of origami yoda

                      Summer Reading 2015 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 30, 2015
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2015 Stats

                      Books read:5186
                      Books reviewed:1726
                      Prizes won:460
                      Schools participating:212

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      kitkat1998
                      kitkat1998
                      genius1326
                      genius1326
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      yaya35223
                      yaya35223
                      coreycole
                      coreycole
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      snicker9
                      snicker9