Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 2 - 5n/a4.626444
Worker robots keep the high-tech town of Terabyte Heights humming, but ten-year-old George Gearing is the only one who has a robot for a best friend. When his scrappy but beloved pal Jackbot is hit by a car, the whiz kid re-engineers him with fancy parts from state-of-the-art TinkerTech Laboratories. Jackbot’s astounding new skills far exceed anything George—or even TinkerTech’s head of robotics—could ever have imagined. Will the villainous Dr. Micron destroy the whole town to see his tech-driven dream realized? Not if George can help it . . .
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on October 7, 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544339363
ISBN-13: 9780544339361
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Blaze SlashSaturday, October 20, 2018 at 9:25 am
    Amazing! George an his friend-robot Jackbot have a epic adventure in terabyte heights when the next gen city's robots go HAYWIRE! Controled by evil Dr.Micron.
    • hullo
      hulloMonday, September 28, 2015 at 3:19 pm
      I love robots and want to work with robots when I grow up! So I enjoyed this book on a world run by robots!! I recommend it.
      • readingbr
        readingbrSaturday, September 26, 2015 at 1:41 pm55 stars
        If you like robots you will love this book. It is very funny too. I got this book as one of my Summer Reading prizes and I am glad it was one of the choices.
        • bobelly
          bobellyMonday, September 21, 2015 at 5:33 pm44 stars
          I liked it a lot at the start because of the robotic house and robots that ran around. It was an energized story with things happening all the time.
          • coreycole
            coreycoleFriday, August 28, 2015 at 12:35 pm33 stars
            my mom bought me a build your own robot kit after i read this. it was super easy to build and i wanted to make a town like in this book. my mom says i could do anything but when it comes to buildng a town of robots she said no and im not allowed to read anymore of these for awhile
            • yaya35223
              yaya35223Tuesday, August 18, 2015 at 4:11 pm44 stars
              This book was so cool! I love robots! I think they are pretty cool! I loved how all the robots in this book had different personalities!
              • spiderfire
                spiderfireThursday, August 13, 2015 at 6:38 pm
                I LOVE ROBOTS! and I also love it when kids are the main characters. this book has both these things, mixed with funny parts, sprinkled in mystery, and served with a bit of adventure
                • pikachu06
                  pikachu06Friday, July 17, 2015 at 6:08 am55 stars
                  a unexpected suspense . When jackbot gets stolen by Dr. Micron ,a worker at TinkerTech, George Gearing must get his friend back, while saving the world
                  • jeffdaboss
                    jeffdabossSaturday, July 11, 2015 at 7:06 pm55 stars
                    In George's world, things are technologically advanced. Everyone has a robot. But when his robot, Jackbot, is smashed by a car. He enters the world of Anne Droid, who is the daughter of the head of the town's source of robots. He repairs Jackbot to be a robot that can think for itself. Jackbot is great, with his big mouth and human-like programming. But when Jackbot is stolen, George knows Dr. Micron stole him. He and Anne find out Micron's plan to rule the town with his obeying robots. Before the world is taken over by robots, George, Anne, and Jackbot stop Micron's plan. But Micron gets away. But nothing is wrong in town, and all is well for George.
                    • mitch72
                      mitch72Tuesday, June 16, 2015 at 5:32 pm
                      I love superheros and this story is kind of like an orgin of one so robot superheros whats not to love i reccomend this book to everybody in america

                      Summer Reading 2015 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 30, 2015
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2015 Stats

                      Books read:5186
                      Books reviewed:1726
                      Prizes won:460
                      Schools participating:212

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      kitkat1998
                      kitkat1998
                      genius1326
                      genius1326
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      yaya35223
                      yaya35223
                      coreycole
                      coreycole
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      snicker9
                      snicker9