Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10V6.070576

You just can't keep a good girl down . . . unless you use the proper methods.

Piper McCloud can fly. Just like that. Easy as pie.

Sure, she hasn't mastered reverse propulsion and her turns are kind of sloppy, but she's real good at loop-the-loops.

Problem is, the good folk of Lowland County are afraid of Piper. And her ma's at her wit's end. So it seems only fitting that she leave her parents' farm to attend a top-secret, maximum-security school for kids with exceptional abilities.

School is great at first with a bunch of new friends whose skills range from super-strength to super-genius. (Plus all the homemade apple pie she can eat!) But Piper is special, even among the special. And there are consequences.

Consequences too dire to talk about. Too crazy to consider. And too dangerous to ignore.

At turns exhilarating and terrifying, Victoria Forester's debut novel has been praised by Stephenie Meyer, author of the Twilight saga, as "the oddest/sweetest mix of Little House on the Prairie and X-Men...Prepare to have your heart warmed." The Girl Who Could Fly is an unforgettable story of defiance and courage about an irrepressible heroine who can, who will, who must . . . fly.

This title has Common Core connections.

Praise for Victoria Forester and The Girl Who Could Fly:

"It's the oddest/sweetest mix of Little House on the Prairie and X-Men. I was smiling the whole time (except for the part where I cried). I gave it to my mom, and I'm reading it to my kids―it's absolutely multigenerational. Prepare to have your heart warmed." Stephenie Meyer, author of the Twilight saga

"In this terrific debut novel, readers meet Piper McCloud, the late-in-life daughter of farmers...The story soars, just like Piper, with enough loop-de-loops to keep kids uncertain about what will come next....Best of all are the book's strong, lightly wrapped messages about friendship and authenticity and the difference between doing well and doing good."--Booklist, Starred Review

"Forester's disparate settings (down-home farm and futuristic ice-bunker institute) are unified by the rock-solid point of view and unpretentious diction… any child who has felt different will take strength from Piper's fight to be herself against the tide of family, church, and society."--The Horn Book Review

The Girl Who Could Fly is a 2009 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on June 24, 2008 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 0312374623
ISBN-13: 9780312374624
152 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kruzingwithk9s
    kruzingwithk9sSaturday, June 22, 2019 at 11:05 am55 stars
    Question, what do you do when one day your daughter jumps off a roof and finds out she can fly? That's the question Betty and Joe McCloud are asking there selves when the same thing happens to their daughter. After rumor gets around that Piper McCloud can fly, people don't want to be friends with her saying "That McCloud girl ain't right in the head", So, when Dr, Hellion shows up at the McCloud's door, saying there is a school of people just like her, Piper is eager to go there, however, things aren't always what they seem....
    • ashmi12345
      ashmi12345Thursday, May 2, 2019 at 12:06 am55 stars
      'The girl who could Fly' was a great novel which kept me hooked on to the very end. Victoria Forester deserves a standing ovation for this masterpiece. It follows the story of Piper Mc Cloud, the girl who can fly and the girl who wants a friend more than anything else (except going to school maybe). After an intentional (at least, on Piper's side) revelation of Piper's flying to the extraordinarily ordinary folk of Lowland country, Piper as shunned as ever for having an extraordinary gift in a perfectly ordinary countryside. Enter Dr. Letitia Hellion, founder of I.N.S.A.N.E, who whisks Piper away to 'a school for extraordinary children just like her'. As Piper gets used to having everything i.e; friends and enemies (Conrad Harrington III), she feels that she has a less desire to fly. Meanwhile, Conrad bullies Piper and tries to get her to fly (and get in trouble), the last straw being throwing her precious wooden bird into the trash to be incinerated. As Piper searches for her bird, she finds other extraordinary creatures and abandons her bird in order to try and save all these creatures. Horror clouds her mind as she finds that Dr.Hellion is the one who ordered these exotic creatures to be incinerated. She flies to Dr.Hellion's office and tries to contact her parents and is stopped by Conrad, who tells her that the telephone has been bugged. When Dr.Hellion walks into her office, Conrad covers for Piper and they both leave peacefully. After lights out, Piper goes to Conrad's room, where he tells her the truth about the institution and that they should escape. Piper refuses to escape without the other nine children to which Conrad grudgingly agrees. When they finally almost manage to escape with all the other children, they are caught and Piper owns up and is so thrown into M.O.L.D, where she is tortured and eventually becomes crippled. With the shock of failing for the first time in his life, Conrad is bedridden and loses all hope of ever leaving the place which had enslaved him for four years. When he realizes that Piper is the light he needs, he manages to go to school again, to find that Piper is broken and cannot fly. His brain suddenly whirs back into life and he draws up an escape plan and on realizing that Piper cannot leave, volunteers to stay back with her. Jasper (another kid who forgot his power) finally realizes that he can heal others and so heals Piper and brings back her memory. Piper decides that rather than escaping they can revolt, which was a success and they leave the facility. On exit, they find Dr.Letitia Hellion out to stop them. When she reveals that she too can fly and tells her story to Piper, she slips and falls onto the cold rocks below, ultimately dying. Piper and the rest of the children (except Conrad; he lives with Piper and her family as his own did not want him) then go back to their families and live happily.
      • JuanMSaturday, October 27, 2018 at 1:07 pm
        wow
        • pipermccloud
          pipermccloudSunday, May 20, 2018 at 8:21 am55 stars
          i love it
          • tori3ghoul
            tori3ghoulFriday, November 24, 2017 at 5:29 pm44 stars
            Piper McCloud is gifted with the ability to fly. After exposing her ability, Piper is taken to INSANE, an institute for exceptional creatures. After meeting an optimistic girl named Bella Lovely, Piper meets Conrad, a child genius. An unlikely pair, spy-style action, and exceptional dreams equal a fun-loving novel.
            • papergirlsfb
              papergirlsfbMonday, November 6, 2017 at 6:31 am55 stars
              Perfectly amazing ! Action filled (but not full) and has just the right amount of feeling . I recommend this book very much . A great read !
              • unicornpuppy9
                unicornpuppy9Sunday, June 4, 2017 at 6:39 pm55 stars
                I'm reading this book right now and it's got me so attached!! I love the setting, the characters, and everything else about the book!! I love it so much, and I can't wait to see what happens next!!!
                • athea
                  atheaThursday, May 25, 2017 at 11:13 pm55 stars
                  This book is a heart warming story for me because of the courage and positive side of Piper to her friends.
                  • extrememsb
                    extrememsbSaturday, May 20, 2017 at 12:44 pm55 stars
                    This book is so cool. I love this book so much. I like the ending. I don't like that Conrad's dad said that he is no longer his sun. You guys should read this book!! It is awesome, amazing, and cool!!!
                    • olliebob
                      olliebobSaturday, May 20, 2017 at 9:32 am55 starsFeatured
                      Piper McCloud could fly. This the reason her overprotective parents kept her shut away from the rest of Lowland County. She was always on the farm, except for Sunday, when she was rushed in and out of church. She wasn't even allowed to go to school! She was homeschooled (like me!). Until one day she decided she wanted to fly. She took a leap of faith... right off the roof! She flew! She practiced flying everyday, until... the Lowland County picnic. Her parents were letting her go! She couldn't wait to make friends, eat ice cream, and play with other kids her age. But then, during the game of baseball put on by the kids of Lowland County, Piper ran to catch the ball. It was just a bit to high and so... she flew. She caught the ball but nobody cheered wasn't this what they wanted? The people who had seen her fly told everyone, and when Letitia Hellion found out, she knew Piper just had to come to I.N.S.A.N.E. , her school for gifted children. Piper doesn't hesitate in saying yes, but Letitia now asks her not to fly for a while. If Letitia was helping her, why would she ask her not to do her favorite thing in the world? This book was AMAZING! You can really relate to Piper! It was a beautiful book that kept grins and tears on my face! I recommend it to absolutely anyone and everyone, no matter how old or young! Seriously, read it! Like right now.

                      Summer Reading 2015 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 30, 2015
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2015 Stats

                      Books read:5186
                      Books reviewed:1726
                      Prizes won:460
                      Schools participating:212

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      kitkat1998
                      kitkat1998
                      genius1326
                      genius1326
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      yaya35223
                      yaya35223
                      coreycole
                      coreycole
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      snicker9
                      snicker9