The G-Man Super Journal: Awesome Origins (Amp Comics for Kids)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.423696
"The world needs a hero like G-Man." —Gene Luen Yang, author of American Born Chinese, Boxers, and Saints

When Michael G (yes, "G" is his whole last name, and that's why everyone calls him G-Man) has to keep a journal in Mrs. Rosario's class at school, naturally he writes about his ambition to have superpowers and join the superheroes of his city (like Captain Thunderman) in the fight for justice. After all, his friend Billy Demon just got an awesome winged flying suit and superpowers of his own, and now he's the most popular kid in school! Mikey would just love to have superpowers too, but how will he get them? And if he does get them, what will he do with them?

"G-Man is funny! Really, really funny! You know how hard it is to make a funny comic? Believe me, plenty hard! I should probably encourage you to buy a copy, but honestly, I don't need the competition." —Jimmy Gownley, author of Amelia Rules

"Giarrusso has a kid-friendly sarcastic wit which will resonate with readers ages 8 and up." —Snow Wildsmith, School Library Journal

"G-Man, Chris Giarrusso’s awesome all-ages superhero series, is one of the most fun and exciting new properties to come down the pike in ages." —John Hogan, Graphic Novel Reporter
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on February 17, 2015 by Andrews McMeel Publishing
ISBN-10: 1449458440
ISBN-13: 9781449458447
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • raymond321
    raymond321Tuesday, March 13, 2018 at 8:02 pm33 stars
    Seems like i will like this book, i mean it's a comic and i love comics they have super funny pictures.
    • katie7143Wednesday, October 4, 2017 at 4:25 pm
      this book is a lovely book i wish i want to read more about this.
      • pokemoncrazWednesday, September 21, 2016 at 5:44 pm
        i want to read this book badly
        • iismael15
          iismael15Friday, September 16, 2016 at 6:45 am55 stars
          This book is GREAT I love it!
          • minecart12
            minecart12Saturday, September 5, 2015 at 3:43 pm
            i havent read it yet but it looks cool :)
            • nush19
              nush19Thursday, July 30, 2015 at 6:26 pm
              A kid can fly.
              • goodreader
                goodreaderFriday, May 29, 2015 at 7:25 pm
                I have not read this book yet but i wont to read it.
                • nush19
                  nush19Thursday, July 30, 2015 at 6:28 pm
                  It's hilarious you should read it.
                • katie7143
                  katie7143Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 2:47 pm
                  I haven't read it yet. But it sure looks interesting!!! :-)
                  • BertThursday, February 19, 2015 at 9:21 pm
                    This book is fantastic. If you're wondering whether or not you might enjoy it, here's a question to ask yourself: "do I enjoy Pixar movies?" If the answer is "yes," then you'll enjoy this book. The writing in The G-Man Super Journal is very strong and very clever. The drawings that accompany the writing are beautifully done, some are in the artist's super-polished and professional style; others are in the G-Man character's style, as he is the one "writing" and "drawing" in his journal. So what sets this book apart from other journals on the shelves? In G-Man's world, superheroes and super powers are real. And while many of the characters are superheroes, they're all still dealing with real-life trials and tribulations, like elementary school, homework, and problem solving. The author sincerely conveys what it's like to be in the shoes of the school kids, and their experiences ring true. Kid readers will no doubt relate to these experiences; adult readers will no doubt remember what it was like. The way G-Man and his friends tackle difficult situations in the story is both funny and inspiring. I've read this book three times now and it always manages several laughs out loud, no easy task. Looking forward to additional volumes in this fun, witty, and heartfelt series.
                    • minecart12
                      minecart12Saturday, September 5, 2015 at 3:44 pm
                      very long
                    • neine105Tuesday, February 17, 2015 at 8:36 am
                      I imagine this being a cartoon

                      Summer Reading 2015 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 30, 2015
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2015 Stats

                      Books read:5186
                      Books reviewed:1726
                      Prizes won:460
                      Schools participating:212

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      kitkat1998
                      kitkat1998
                      genius1326
                      genius1326
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      yaya35223
                      yaya35223
                      coreycole
                      coreycole
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      snicker9
                      snicker9