Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5S4.015304

The top-selling U.K. series for middle-grade readers now crosses the pond!

Meet Tom Gates. When his teachers don’t have their beady eyes on him, he likes to draw pictures and write about stuff, like last summer’s worst camping vacation ever (five merits!), or how much he hates sitting next to nosy Marcus Meldrew, the most annoying boy at school. All Tom really wants is to score tickets to see the best band ever, Dude3, when they come to town, and to impress Amy Porter, who is very nice and smart (but is currently ignoring him). Tom’s teachers think he is easily distracted and "lacks focus," but that’s a bit harsh?—?can he help it if his grumpy big sister, Delia, made him late for school (again), or that last night’s homework had to be sacrificed to stave off a vicious dog attack? Master of excuses, creative storyteller, and middle-school comedian extraordinaire, Tom Gates is guaranteed to get kids turning the pages?—?and keep them laughing.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on August 26, 2014 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763674729
ISBN-13: 9780763674724
52 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • liberalmingo
    liberalmingoTuesday, December 26, 2017 at 8:52 am55 stars
    This series is my favorite book in the world! It is a comedy with added doodling, sibling problems, doodling, evil twits called Marcus, doodling, teachers with beady eyes and mustatches, doodling, band practice, doodling, dude3, and if i have not mentioned all ready, doodling. Everyone should read this! also DOODLING
    • liberalmingo
      liberalmingoTuesday, December 26, 2017 at 8:52 am55 stars
      This series is my favorite book in the world! It is a comedy with added doodling, sibling problems, doodling, evil twits called Marcus, doodling, teachers with beady eyes and mustatches, doodling, band practice, doodling, dude3, and if i have not mentioned all ready, doodling. Everyone should read this! also DOODLING
      • gusto
        gustoSaturday, November 25, 2017 at 4:51 pm44 stars
        Tom Gates is a nice,funny book!
        • Bob MarleySaturday, November 25, 2017 at 10:41 am
          The book was okay.
          • mattokenken
            mattokenkenMonday, April 3, 2017 at 5:07 pm55 starsFeatured
            The Brilliant World Of Tom Gates is a fantastic book for children 6 - 12 in my opinion because the humour still holds up well with kids and tweens. Kids can relate to the things that Tom and his best mate Dereck do and don't do and the struggles of getting through those senior years of Primary School and 6 - 9-year-olds would like it because they can relate to Tom with his caramel wafers. I wouldn't recommend this book to teens and above because they would be focusing on college and getting into Uni (If they want to) so they want to relate to Tom because they have moved passed that stage of life. Overall I think The Brilliant World of Tom Gates deserves an A (A+ being the highest and F- being the lowest)
            • igskred
              igskredWednesday, November 16, 2016 at 12:51 pm44 stars
              dude 3 rocks my friends reading it
              • igsocean
                igsoceanWednesday, November 16, 2016 at 12:42 pm
                I've read this its so cool
                • belizey
                  belizeyMonday, September 19, 2016 at 7:33 pm55 stars
                  this book seems very interesting because I have read all the other tom gate books and I really want to read this one
                  • aunthtoo8896lol
                    aunthtoo8896lolFriday, September 16, 2016 at 6:45 am
                    there is a boy called tom gates and he is trying to impress a girl called amy
                    • madii30
                      madii30Monday, July 11, 2016 at 1:54 pm55 stars
                      One of the best books.

                      Summer Reading 2015 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 30, 2015
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2015 Stats

                      Books read:5186
                      Books reviewed:1726
                      Prizes won:460
                      Schools participating:212

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      kitkat1998
                      kitkat1998
                      genius1326
                      genius1326
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      yaya35223
                      yaya35223
                      coreycole
                      coreycole
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      snicker9
                      snicker9