Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.975862
It's 1952 and the Scott family has just moved from Los Angeles to London. Here, fourteen-year-old Janie meets a mysterious apothecary and his son, Benjamin Burrows - a fascinating boy who's not afraid to stand up to authority and dreams of becoming a spy. When Benjamin's father is kidnapped, Janie and Benjamin must uncover the secrets of the apothecary's sacred book, the Pharmacopoeia, in order to find him, all while keeping it out of the hands of their enemies - Russian spies in possession of nuclear weapons. Discovering and testing potions they never believed could exist, Janie and Benjamin embark on a dangerous race to save the apothecary and prevent impending disaster.

Together with Ian Schoenherr's breathtaking illustrations, this is a truly stunning package from cover to cover.

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on October 4, 2011 by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 039925627X
ISBN-13: 9780399256271
32 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • clarinetgirl
    clarinetgirlSunday, March 17, 2019 at 11:24 am55 stars
    This book was extremely well-written. It is an emotional read for .sure The ending is sad, but it is definitely worth it. Read the sequel!
    • theodogo
      theodogoThursday, March 2, 2017 at 1:41 pm55 stars
      Janie and Benjamin are so cute together!! They are so going to get married.
      • iamadolphinTuesday, March 22, 2016 at 7:48 pm
        This is one of my favourite series, and the next two books are The Apprentices and The After-Room. Definitely worth reading. (I've read them so many times that I've memorized my favourite parts!)
        • explorer-x
          explorer-xMonday, September 7, 2015 at 2:54 pm
          This book, and the next (the apprentices) are so good. they are like my favorite books ever #Benjamin is weird
          • katyperry7
            katyperry7Thursday, May 28, 2015 at 2:55 am55 stars
            this is the best book ever but i cannot believe that his father father was kiddnapped
            • stormwolf
              stormwolfMonday, May 25, 2015 at 1:17 pm
              OMG The author came to our school and explained this book! I could have gotten a signed copy, but I didnt. :( This was a great book! Reallyt loved the plot!!!!!! I cant believe they learn magic and they are spiesa!!!!!
              • cars5469
                cars5469Monday, May 25, 2015 at 10:36 am
                cool book
                • lalapotato
                  lalapotatoThursday, May 21, 2015 at 2:40 pm
                  this is a book i reallly want to read, sounds amazing!
                  • siv
                    sivTuesday, January 6, 2015 at 8:40 pm44 stars
                    I think this book is very good!
                    • wildtigeriscool
                      wildtigeriscoolTuesday, December 9, 2014 at 2:25 pm55 stars
                      Also read the sequel to this book,the apprentices its so awesome

                      Summer Reading 2015 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 30, 2015
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2015 Stats

                      Books read:5186
                      Books reviewed:1726
                      Prizes won:460
                      Schools participating:212

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      kitkat1998
                      kitkat1998
                      genius1326
                      genius1326
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      yaya35223
                      yaya35223
                      coreycole
                      coreycole
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      snicker9
                      snicker9