The Accelerati Trilogy Book One Tesla's Attic

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a6.067009
After their home burns down, fourteen-year-old Nick, his younger brother, and their father move into a ramshackle Victorian house they've inherited. When Nick opens the door to his attic room, he's hit in the head by a toaster. That's just the beginning of his weird experiences with the old junk stored up there. After getting rid of the odd antiques in a garage sale, Nick befriends some local kids-Mitch, Caitlin, and Vincent-and they discover that all of the objects have extraordinary properties. What's more, Nick figures out that the attic is a strange magnetic vortex, which attracts all sorts of trouble. It's as if the attic itself has an intelligence . . . and a purpose.

Ultimately Nick learns that the genius Nikola Tesla placed the items-his last inventions-in the attic as part of a larger plan that he mathematically predicted. Nick and his new friends must retrieve everything that was sold at the garage sale and keep it safe. But the task is fraught with peril-in addition to the dangers inherent in Tesla's mysterious and powerful creations, a secret society of physicists, the Accelerati, is determined to stop Nick and alter destiny to achieve its own devious ends. It's a lot for a guy to handle, especially when he'd much rather fly under the radar as the new kid in town.

Fans of intrigue, action, humor, and nonstop surprises are guaranteed a read unlike any other in Tesla's Attic, Book One of the Accelerati Trilogy.

 

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on February 11, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423148037
ISBN-13: 9781423148036
24 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Doodle doosTuesday, January 8, 2019 at 3:15 pm
    I loved this book and its series, so many plot twist and inventions, I would totally read this book again.
    • lil hiccupTuesday, December 19, 2017 at 11:34 am
      i love it
      • squidyWednesday, August 31, 2016 at 8:20 am
        the book was good evan though i didn't really get it
        • catface173
          catface173Tuesday, September 29, 2015 at 5:57 pm11 star
          I didn't like this book no offense to Neal Shustermand and Eric Elfman . This book could have been way better . ~ Catface 173
          • inventor60
            inventor60Tuesday, September 29, 2015 at 5:35 am33 stars
            Tesla's attic is a book about a boy named Nick who, along with his family, moves to a new house with a mysterious attic. As he and his friends explore the attic they find out that each of unique objects have special properties. It is now revealed that the world famous, NIkola Tesla, kept these objects to put a great plan in action. But the boys face problems, as they had sold half of the things in a garage sale.
            • coreycole
              coreycoleFriday, August 28, 2015 at 12:45 pm22 stars
              i didnt understand alot of this one my mom said tesla was a real person and thats why it was kinda cool but i think electic is boring and i wasnt very interested in this book
              • sweetums
                sweetumsTuesday, July 21, 2015 at 2:48 pm55 stars
                This is a story about a boy named Nick who moves into a house with an attic full of antiques. Nick has a garage sale. After his garage sale Nick realizes that he made an awful mistake. Read the book and find out how he will solve this problem. this is a very good book with a mix of mystery and action.
                • tjovanovic
                  tjovanovicFriday, July 10, 2015 at 10:14 pm55 stars
                  Tesla's Attic is an amazing book. It gives you that little bit of historical fiction but it's still a modern set book. It is packed with adventure and mystery. I think it's so cool how the main character meets his friends after they are drawn to his garage sale. This book shows true friendship. The book has many unexpected surprises. I will definitely be reading the rest of the series. I also definitely recommend this book.
                  • mags
                    magsTuesday, June 23, 2015 at 9:27 am55 stars
                    This is an amazing book that I loved! Its about a guy who's mom dies in a fire, and he, his dad, and his brother move to Colorado to start a new life. The boy, Nick finds a bunch of "junk" in the attic. He sells them at a garage sale. Not long after the garage sale ended, a group of shady people come up to him and offer to buy the things. He tells them he sold everything already. He soon finds out that all the people were part of an organization called the Accelerati and that they are out to kill him and take over the world. He, with his new group of friends, have to go around town and collect the objects back.I have one complaint about this book though. It was a little confusing and hard to keep up with. Other than that, this book is definitely worth reading!
                    • sushi321
                      sushi321Monday, June 15, 2015 at 2:48 pm22 stars
                      This book is okay I guess. About a kid named Nick who finds that his attic is magical and he thinks it the stuff in it once belonged to Tesla. It took me a month to finish it since it was so boring

                      Summer Reading 2015 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 30, 2015
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2015 Stats

                      Books read:5186
                      Books reviewed:1726
                      Prizes won:460
                      Schools participating:212

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      kitkat1998
                      kitkat1998
                      genius1326
                      genius1326
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      yaya35223
                      yaya35223
                      coreycole
                      coreycole
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      snicker9
                      snicker9