Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grade 4n/a4.030136
Quinny has a lot to say. Hopper gets to the point.

Quinny has one speed: very, very, extra-very fast. Hopper proceeds with caution.

Quinny has big ideas. Hopper has smart solutions.

Quinny and Hopper couldn't be more different. They are an unstoppable team.

But when summer ends, things suddenly aren't the same. Can Quinny and Hopper stick together in the face of stylish bullies, a killer chicken, and the brand-new Third Grade Rules-especially the one that says they aren't allowed to be friends anymore?

Praise for Quinny & Hopper:

"First-time children's author Schanen skillfully captures Quinny's zest and Hopper's timidity through their interactions and alternating narratives, and Swearingen's smudgy spot illustrations amplify the lively tone. The story's best moments showcase the spirited friendship between Quinny and Hopper, but there's much to appreciate throughout this exuberant debut."
--Publishers Weekly

"The book is engrossing, and the likable duo change and grow in believable ways. Quinny and Hopper, who take turns narrating, have distinct, well-differentiated voices, and Schanen makes good use of her individuated secondary characters as well. Swearingen's black-and-white drawings both capture the spirit of the characters and enhance the narrative. This endearing story about true friendship should appeal equally to boys and girls."
--Kirkus Reviews
Paperback, 256 pages
Published on April 7, 2015 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1484716663
ISBN-13: 9781484716663
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kalie Tuesday, May 22, 2018 at 2:51 pm
    i do not get the book
    • SupergirlygamerSaturday, May 13, 2017 at 6:38 am
      I love this book its awesome and at my shcool the author of the book came and i met her when i brough this book to class my teacher read it and everyone asked if we could read it again
      • hullo
        hulloMonday, September 28, 2015 at 3:17 pm
        It went a little slow, but it was okay. Not the best, but not the worst either. It's a good story about friendship and loyalties
        • inventor60
          inventor60Monday, September 21, 2015 at 6:54 pm
          Quinny and hopper have been quite a team but when third grade begins it changes with the rule that says they can't be friends anymore and the bullies. Can they stick together? Can they continue their on going friendship??
          • coreycole
            coreycoleFriday, August 28, 2015 at 12:41 pm55 stars
            my mom read this to me and my baby brother it was super funny i mean booger chips thats cool. she said there was a lesson but it was too funny of a book i will read over and over
            • genius1326
              genius1326Monday, August 24, 2015 at 3:25 pm33 stars
              Fine. It was ok, but not what I was looking for. I read it, and it was like the Magic treehouse with Annie and Jack having different approaches at different situations, but thought it was ok, but not really the best.
              • sushi321
                sushi321Tuesday, July 28, 2015 at 5:15 pm
                This book was good. Quinny is everyone's friend and then she has to move to a new place. Then she meets Hopper and together they are trying to capture (or find) a loose chicken. When school starts things are different. Read to find out more. I recommend it.
                • kmckneely
                  kmckneelyWednesday, July 22, 2015 at 8:12 am44 stars
                  Quinny is everyone's friend and then she has to move to a new place. Then she meets Hopper and together they are trying to capture (or find) a loose chicken. Will other relationships get in between them? Will they stay friends? Read Quinny and Hopper.
                  • coloringbu
                    coloringbuFriday, July 17, 2015 at 11:11 am33 stars
                    I liked this book. It is about a girl named Quinny. She moves from New York and is looking for any kids around to be friends with. She becomes friends with the boy next door until school starts. His name is Hopper. She is friends with Victoria. Victoria tells Quinny what to do and who to be friends with. Quinny has to choose who she wants to be friends with.
                    • readingbr
                      readingbrFriday, July 17, 2015 at 11:01 am22 stars
                      This book is about a girl named Quinny and boy named Hopper. Quinny moved from New York where she had lots of friends. Hopper doesn't have any friends. Quinny moves next door and they become friends over the summer. When school starts things are different.

                      Summer Reading 2015 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 30, 2015
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2015 Stats

                      Books read:5186
                      Books reviewed:1726
                      Prizes won:460
                      Schools participating:212

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      kitkat1998
                      kitkat1998
                      genius1326
                      genius1326
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      yaya35223
                      yaya35223
                      coreycole
                      coreycole
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      snicker9
                      snicker9