Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V6.063201
Miri lives on a mountain where, for generations, her ancestors have quarried stone and lived a simple life. Then word comes that the king's priests have divined her small village the home of the future princess. In a year's time, the prince himself will come and choose his bride from among the girls of the village. The king's ministers set up an academy on the mountain, and every teenage girl must attend and learn how to become a princess.
Miri soon finds herself confronted with a harsh academy mistress, bitter competition among the girls, and her own conflicting desires to be chosen and win the heart of her childhood best friend. But when bandits seek out the academy to kidnap the future princess, Miri must rally the girls together and use a power unique to the mountain dwellers to save herself and her classmates.
Hardcover, 314 pages
Published on April 1, 2007 by Perfection Learning
ISBN-10: 0756981808
ISBN-13: 9780756981808
119 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • inmemoryofcpr
    inmemoryofcprSaturday, June 29, 2019 at 5:41 am44 stars
    This book was also super good like Shannon Hale's other books. It could use a little improvement for the pacw but other than that the characters were developed very well. I hope you read this because at first I didn't want to read it but now I am happy I read it. Don't miss a chance to read this book.
    • snicker9
      snicker9Saturday, January 5, 2019 at 6:45 pm55 stars
      Princess Academy is one of my favorite books. It is the story of mountain girl Miri, who along with the other girls in her village, is forced to attend the Princess Academy so they can be groomed for the Prince who is going to pick his bride from among them. The book shows the struggles Miri and the other girls go through under their strict teacher at the school, and the struggles Miri faces with her family. I especially enjoyed learning more about quarry-speak, the way the village people can communicate through the stone of the mountain. Definitely a classic, I recommend it to people who books like Ella Enchanted and Tuesdays at the castle. I believe people of all ages would enjoy this book, but especially middle school-aged kids. I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars.
      • sparklingirl
        sparklingirlSaturday, December 17, 2016 at 8:21 pm
        Wow I really like Miri's character, she is so sweet since she's named after a flower, her sister Marda seems uneducated but very nice to Miri as if Miri were the older sister
        • egypt
          egyptTuesday, May 3, 2016 at 9:00 am44 stars
          I LOVED this book! There is a mountain girl called Miri who is called (with the other mountain girls) to attend Princess Academy. They learn skills like trading and reading. Miri is the best of them all, though. But, even so, Miri's friend Britta becomes princess. I can't wait to read Palace of Stone!
          • sparkle12706
            sparkle12706Tuesday, March 8, 2016 at 6:42 pm55 stars
            I really liked this book right now I am reading the second book and so far it is also really good at the begging it was kind of boring but now it is really hard to put down the whole first book was like that one of the main reasons I love the series.
            • sydstar
              sydstarTuesday, January 12, 2016 at 12:25 pm55 stars
              I really loved this book. It is about Miri. In the book, Miri lives on a mountain. Everything is normal until an academy is opened for girls and the prince will chose one of the girls that attends the academy to be his future bride. But Miri’s Sister Marda is too old to go to the academy. So Miri feels really alone in the academy because Marda is too old to go to the academy. The other girls are not that nice to Miri. All the girls want the prince to choose his future bride. They are all hoping he will pick them. I really loved this book. I highly recommend it. I am already reading the second book.
              • enchanted7
                enchanted7Thursday, October 8, 2015 at 1:45 am55 stars
                I love this book so much! Miri is my favorite character of course and even though the prince only had eyes for one other girl Miri was an amazing character.
                • bookworm890
                  bookworm890Wednesday, September 30, 2015 at 7:40 pm55 stars
                  Shannon Hale introduces Miri, a simple mountain girl who tends to goats while everyone else works in the quarry. But when her village is drawn for the prince's bride, she and the other eligible girls must be prepared to be his choice. Miri learns the true meaning of strength in a beautiful, detailed world where hidden dangers lurk.
                  • catface173
                    catface173Thursday, September 24, 2015 at 4:41 pm44 stars
                    I love this author. I really like the ever after high book ( Storybook of Legends) that she wrote. Please editor will you next year add ever after high books to the prize list
                    • casgirl
                      casgirlTuesday, September 22, 2015 at 12:52 pm55 stars
                      this one was really awesome , and I really liked it . she was really daring and brave . I think you should really read it .

                      Summer Reading 2015 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 30, 2015
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2015 Stats

                      Books read:5186
                      Books reviewed:1726
                      Prizes won:460
                      Schools participating:212

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      kitkat1998
                      kitkat1998
                      genius1326
                      genius1326
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      yaya35223
                      yaya35223
                      coreycole
                      coreycole
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      snicker9
                      snicker9