How to Survive Middle School and Monster Bots (A Howard Boward Book)

Sometimes, being smart just isn’t enough

It’s been a rough semester for Howard Boward, science genius. Not only is he having to dodge winter’s most feared weapon (snowballs), his close friend, Winnie McKinney, is barely speaking to him. If that weren’t enough, he’s the favorite target of some bullies who seem determined to make life at Dolley Madison Middle School as miserable as possible. But then Howard learns about an upcoming robot-building contest—finally a chance to show off his science skills and beat archrival Gerald “G-Force” Forster! Unfortunately, the only way to win is by using his secret “monster goo,” a formula that has terrifying side effects. Can Howard resist the temptation? Or will he unleash a robot rampage that could destroy the town—and ruin the school dance?

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on September 16, 2014 by Zonderkidz
ISBN-10: 0310736080
ISBN-13: 9780310736080
26 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kat582
    kat582Friday, October 2, 2015 at 8:34 am
    OMG the cover jumped right out i ackually mean right out i have to read it
    • hyde19
      hyde19Thursday, October 1, 2015 at 7:48 am55 stars
      He has the biggest problem to survive middle school
      • inventor60
        inventor60Wednesday, September 30, 2015 at 4:31 pm
        Howard Boward has a big problem. While being the main target of the bullies, having a friend who barely talks to him, and being a science genius. When a a robot contest begins he must decide between using his monster bot goo and ruin the day for everyone of lose the contest.
        • emt1023
          emt1023Monday, September 21, 2015 at 7:16 am55 stars
          This book is all about a middle schooler that gets teassed and he survied middle school and we don't know if he went to high scool
          • cerulian
            cerulianSaturday, September 19, 2015 at 12:59 pm
            I have read all of the Middle School series books by James Patterson and they were amazing. I've learned from experience that middle school is a tough time. This book will give me another kid' s experience with middle school which I would love to read because everyone's middle school experience is different and for the most part funny. Middle school is just a wild place, not literally (OK sometimes), but mentally and emotionally. I've noticed that this kid has to deal with not only middle school, but monster bots too. I'd love to see how he tackles that...
            • usaswimmer
              usaswimmerSunday, September 13, 2015 at 11:46 am44 stars
              I don't like it at all it seemed interesting but it is not what I expected at all i do not recommend at all sadly!
              • gymnast191
                gymnast191Saturday, August 29, 2015 at 4:45 pm
                This book is very interesting and cool in some ways. It really helped me with me going into 6 th grade.
                • yaya35223
                  yaya35223Thursday, August 27, 2015 at 11:04 am33 stars
                  How to Survive Middle School and Monster Bots was a very entertaining book. This is a very unique book! This is a very funny book!
                  • squirmyloo
                    squirmylooMonday, August 3, 2015 at 11:59 am44 stars
                    I liked how the main character emerged himself into science to deal with being bullied. I thought it was pretty funny what he wanted to do with the robot!
                    • bdoggy
                      bdoggySaturday, August 1, 2015 at 2:30 pm22 stars
                      This book was not my type of book it was not fun and it was boring. this book was a bad book because it was not fun to read and not worth reading. That's way i gave it 2 stars

                      Summer Reading 2015 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 30, 2015
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2015 Stats

                      Books read:5186
                      Books reviewed:1726
                      Prizes won:460
                      Schools participating:212

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      kitkat1998
                      kitkat1998
                      genius1326
                      genius1326
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      yaya35223
                      yaya35223
                      coreycole
                      coreycole
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      snicker9
                      snicker9