Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
This special edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has a gorgeous new cover illustration by Kazu Kibuishi. Inside is the full text of the original novel, with decorations by Mary GrandPré.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Hardcover, 309 pages
Published on November 1, 2003 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 0439554934
ISBN-13: 9780439554930
1901 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • starkk_22
    starkk_22Friday, October 4, 2019 at 8:22 am44 stars
    This is my favorite out of all the Harry Potter books. It's a great introductory to a wonderful series of books. I recommend the Harry Potter books to anyone.
    • isa90
      isa90Wednesday, October 2, 2019 at 6:47 am55 stars
      I loved harry potter it was so interesting if you like magic and wizardry should should definitely get this book there is a lot of pages but it is worth it
      • razmatazz
        razmatazzMonday, September 30, 2019 at 8:55 pm55 stars
        Was expecting something totally different! I read all the books within 3 weeks and am still amazed how the magical world of Harry Potter was so life like.
        • tobster
          tobsterWednesday, September 25, 2019 at 3:32 pm55 stars
          I love these books
          • jini0710
            jini0710Friday, September 20, 2019 at 4:52 pm55 stars
            This is so good. I finished the series!!
            • chupacabra
              chupacabraFriday, September 20, 2019 at 6:13 am55 stars
              Well i have red all main stream harry potter books and this has always been the best one beacuse well it has the most action and everyone gets a moment to shine!
              • hermionekarisma
                hermionekarismaThursday, September 12, 2019 at 8:41 am55 stars
                Hermione is the best. I am quite like her so I can relate
                • hermionekarisma
                  hermionekarismaThursday, September 12, 2019 at 8:37 am55 stars
                  This is the best book ever. It is about a wizard who is older than me ,11, (Im only 10.) who gets a letter to a wizarding school of a platform that he doesn't know exists. Then he finds out about everything about the wizarding world and he loves it. then he finds out about an evil called voldemort. Then he has to fight him to get hold of a powerful sorcerers stone. Eventually dumbledore destroys it and nicholas flamel dies.
                  • lily4610
                    lily4610Wednesday, September 11, 2019 at 8:35 am
                    It is a very intresting book about how harry potter came to be.It also is very sweet and simple and is the one of the best books in the world.
                    • cutiecupzThursday, August 22, 2019 at 8:01 am
                      i love it so much

                      Summer Reading 2015 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 30, 2015
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2015 Stats

                      Books read:5186
                      Books reviewed:1726
                      Prizes won:460
                      Schools participating:212

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      kitkat1998
                      kitkat1998
                      genius1326
                      genius1326
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      yaya35223
                      yaya35223
                      coreycole
                      coreycole
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      snicker9
                      snicker9