Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.613315
Meet Desmond Pucket--master of mayhem! Will his monster-y special effects pranks get him kicked out of middle school before the class trip to Crab Shell Pier? Or will Desmond be able to keep his monster magic in check?

This is a compelling new character that kids will love!

"Tatulli's entry into the comics/fiction--hybrid market is one of the best…The target audience will snap this up and beg for more."

---Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"This is full of ghoulish fun, and fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid probably won't want to miss it."
---School Library Journal

"Desmond Pucket neatly fills a gap for our readers---it's a step more sophisticated than Diary of a Wimpy Kid but appeals to that reader. It's also so great to have a Halloween/monster/scary stuff series to offer boys that is not Goosebumps."
---Rebecca Waesch, Children's Product Manager, Joseph-Beth Booksellers
Meet Desmond Pucket---professor of frightology and master of monsters.

Someday Desmond will be famous for his special effects wizardry, but for now he's just trying to make it through sixth grade at Cloverfield Memorial Junior High, which means he needs to stay one step ahead of the school's disciplinary officer, Mr. Needles.

The only problem is Desmond just can't stop pulling pranks---like the time he attached a shrieking rubber goblin to the toilet seat in the teachers' bathroom. Mrs. Rubin screamed so loudly her wig flew off! Or the time he put giant motorized worms into the mashed potatoes in the cafeteria. Or the time Desmond and his best friend, Ricky, arranged for a three-headed ghost to crash his sister's slumber party. Rachel still hasn't forgiven him.

And now Desmond has to stay prank-free for the rest of the year, or he won't be able to go on the class trip to Crab Shell Pier, home of the Mountain Full of Monsters ride! It's going to be tough, but Desmond has to try.

This book includes a section of "Desmond's Notes": instructions for making monster magic (think scary noises, or fake blood) at home!
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on October 1, 2013 by Andrews McMeel Publishing
ISBN-10: 1449435483
ISBN-13: 9781449435486
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • catface173
    catface173Sunday, September 27, 2015 at 9:23 am
    Nah. I don't think I want to read this. It looks to boyish and babyish. this book does NOT look good. . . . .
    • penguin313
      penguin313Tuesday, September 22, 2015 at 3:05 pm55 stars
      A fun book about Desmond Pucket, who loves to scare people. But when he is at risk of not going to his favorite horror ride for his school field trip, he can play nice.
      • hullo
        hulloMonday, September 21, 2015 at 2:44 pm
        It is a fantastic book! One of my favorites really. All the pranks that Desmond Pucket played were funny and overall it was an awesome book!! Totally recommend it.
        • spiderfire
          spiderfireWednesday, September 16, 2015 at 5:44 pm
          there should have been a third book in this series! I'm going to miss reading this book and its sequel ( which I totally recommend).
          • sushi321
            sushi321Wednesday, July 29, 2015 at 2:34 pm33 stars
            This book is pretty funny and silly. I recommend it for all ages. Really good. I'm thinking I should try out some of his pranks on my friends. :)
            • ian21tang
              ian21tangTuesday, July 7, 2015 at 1:08 pm44 stars
              Desmond Pucket is the master of pranks. However putting worms in mashed potatoes and attaching goblins to toilet seats won't let him go to the Mountain of Monsters Ride. He needs to stay absolutely prank-free in order to have the privelege of going to Crab Shell Pier, home of the Mountain of Monsters Ride. Will he stay prank-free, or will he let his pranks attack? Find out in this hilarious book!
              • fairie
                fairieSunday, July 5, 2015 at 1:45 pm33 stars
                Desmond is the master of pranks. Like putting the fake worms in the cafeteria mashed potatoes and the screaming goblin in the teachers bathroom. But he has to stay prank-free for the rest of 6th grade-or else he won't be able to go on the "The Mountain Of Monsters" field trip at the end of the year! What will he do???
                • genius1326
                  genius1326Monday, June 15, 2015 at 3:55 pm55 stars
                  Very funny, and this suspiciously reminds me of my cousin who is 7 and loves to prank around. It is about a boy named Desmond Pucket, and he is the yoda of all pranks, and that is what is about to boot him out of middle school. He can't control himself in school not to prank. He goes around doing crazy stuff, but will he graduate before he gets the boot?
                  • kitkat1998
                    kitkat1998Thursday, June 11, 2015 at 3:22 am33 stars
                    This book reminds me of the comic strip Foxtrot. Desmond remind me of Jason, the genius younger brother who is always getting in trouble for playing pranks on people. This is an interesting read for all ages.
                    • coreycole
                      coreycoleWednesday, May 27, 2015 at 9:02 am44 stars
                      he does lots of cool pranks at sschool teachers should make more time for the fun stuff instead of just saying its causing trouble but they thought it was wrong so his parents made him try the tv club where he learned about movies and making tv like my uncle

                      Summer Reading 2015 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 30, 2015
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2015 Stats

                      Books read:5186
                      Books reviewed:1726
                      Prizes won:460
                      Schools participating:212

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      kitkat1998
                      kitkat1998
                      genius1326
                      genius1326
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      yaya35223
                      yaya35223
                      coreycole
                      coreycole
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      snicker9
                      snicker9