An Army of Frogs (A Kulipari Novel #1)

Book 1 of 3 in the Kulipari Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.837774
Watch the Netflix original series based on the books starting September 4, 2016!
It’s frogs versus scorpions in this new series by professional football player Trevor Pryce. For years, the frogs of the Amphibilands have lived in safety—protected by an elite group of poisonous frogs named the Kulipari and by the dreamcasting spell of the turtle king that cloaks their lands in mystery. Now the spell is threatened by the Spider Queen, a talented spellcaster, and Lord Marmoo, leader of the scorpions. With the Kulipari off training in secret, the Amphibilands have never been so vulnerable. Enter Darel, a young frog who dreams of joining the Kulipari, despite his utter lack of poison and limited fighting skills. With the help of a motley crew of friends, Darel has the chance to become the warrior of his dreams.
Cool animals, thrilling action, and a bit of natural science—this novel, illustrated in full color by acclaimed comics artist Sanford Greene, is sure to be a major hit with boys.

Praise for An Army of Frogs
"This little frog should find fans among readers of the Warriors and Redwall sagas."
Kirkus Reviews

"Pryce builds tension as the frogs figure out how to deploy their varied skills and reach the ancient turtle king who long ago placed a protective spell over their land. The violent but not overly graphic action is well matched by Greene’s dynamic and plentiful full-color illustrations."
Booklist

"In this fast-paced tale, Pryce finds just the right balance between brutality and bravery, friendship and betrayal, and loss and discovery. A must-have, winning adventure that is nearly impossible to put down."
School Library Journal

"
Greene’s color full-page illustrations have the richly saturated look of Marvel comic books, and there’s a superhero feel to the various fighting poses Darel and his pals take."
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"This clever fantasy series featuring frogs versus scorpions, set in Australia, makes for pleasant reading."
Library Media Connection
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on May 7, 2013 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 141970172X
ISBN-13: 9781419701726
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • inventor60
    inventor60Wednesday, September 30, 2015 at 4:34 pm
    It is time to save the kingdom, with the Spider Queen on their backs and the Kulipari away. This is a fantastic novel about the army of the frogs.
    • Trevor Pryce Wednesday, September 30, 2015 at 3:11 pm
      Hi Guys! Ok..So I'm the author. Yes. True. And I can't think you guys enough for checking out the story. My story. The third book in this Trilogy is coming out in October and Ends Darel's journey. So I called it "Amphibian's End" and I think you'll all really like it. That's all...<Grin>. And thanks! Trevor Pryce
      • catface173
        catface173Tuesday, September 29, 2015 at 5:45 pm55 stars
        I love books about frogs. I wear frog earrings every day. As you maybe can tell , I LOVE frogs. Thanks for approving or reading.
        • swagzip
          swagzipSunday, September 27, 2015 at 11:36 am55 stars
          I really liked this book. Three was action, and it didn't take that long to finish, because I was reading it almost all day for three days in a row.
          • genius1326
            genius1326Friday, July 31, 2015 at 7:03 am44 stars
            It was about Frogs fighting Scorpions, and a lot of armies clashing with one another. It was a sci-fi book, and it was ok and funny.
            • sushi321
              sushi321Wednesday, July 29, 2015 at 2:36 pm
              Haven't read it but it sounds like the the Frog Prince or whatever. Not cool. But who knows, it might be a good book.... I'll try it out.
              • tim0706
                tim0706Thursday, July 2, 2015 at 3:07 pm22 stars
                It was intreating... i liked it a little... But i don't like frogs... so if you are a person who likes frogs and adventures then you should read this book. I would recommend this to frog lovers
                • kitkat1998
                  kitkat1998Sunday, June 7, 2015 at 3:31 pm33 stars
                  This is a wonderful coming of age story. The setting is unique and intriguing. The characters are realistic yet fantastic. The backstory comes in bits and pieces, but this adds to the mysterious tone of the book. A very interesting read that is a nice book to spend a few hours with.
                  • laurajane
                    laurajaneSaturday, June 6, 2015 at 2:20 pm55 stars
                    Darel wants to be a kulpari but, like most of the frogs in his village, he is a non-poisonous brown wood frog. The kulpari are poisonous frogs who can tap into their poison's power. And, obviously, no poison=no kulpari. Plus, the frogs have a veil that keeps the scorps and the spiders out, so would the amphibilands need kulpari? Well, Jarra, the spider queen is unraveling the veil. It's Darel's time to shine!
                    • a2061
                      a2061Saturday, June 6, 2015 at 6:42 am
                      This book is awesome, and I recommend it to anyone who likes nature. This is about a frog named Darel who wants to be a part of the Kulipari, to follow in his father's footsteps.

                      Summer Reading 2015 has ended!

                      May 14 - September 30, 2015
                      Terms and Conditions

                      Summer Reading 2015 Stats

                      Books read:5186
                      Books reviewed:1726
                      Prizes won:460
                      Schools participating:212

                      Recent Members

                      Top Summer Readers

                      sushi321
                      sushi321
                      kitkat1998
                      kitkat1998
                      genius1326
                      genius1326
                      inventor60
                      inventor60
                      catface173
                      catface173
                      yaya35223
                      yaya35223
                      coreycole
                      coreycole
                      penguin313
                      penguin313
                      5680saf
                      5680saf
                      snicker9
                      snicker9