Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 7 - 12Grades 6 - 12n/a12.0121342
Pride and Prejudice is a novel of manners by Jane Austen, first published in 1813. The story follows the main character, Elizabeth Bennet, as she deals with issues of manners, upbringing, morality, education, and marriage in the society of the landed gentry of the British Regency. Elizabeth is the second of five daughters of a country gentleman living near the fictional town of Meryton in Hertfordshire, near London. Page 2 of a letter from Jane Austen to her sister Cassandra (11 June 1799) in which she first mentions Pride and Prejudice, using its working title First Impressions. Set in England in the early 19th century, Pride and Prejudice tells the story of Mr and Mrs Bennet's five unmarried daughters after the rich and eligible Mr Bingley and his status-conscious friend, Mr Darcy, have moved into their neighbourhood. While Bingley takes an immediate liking to the eldest Bennet daughter, Jane, Darcy has difficulty adapting to local society and repeatedly clashes with the second-eldest Bennet daughter, Elizabeth. Though Austen set the story at the turn of the 19th century, it retains a fascination for modern readers, continuing near the top of lists of "most loved books." It has become one of the most popular novels in English literature, selling over 20 million copies, and receives considerable attention from literary scholars. Modern interest in the book has resulted in a number of dramatic adaptations and an abundance of novels and stories imitating Austen's memorable characters or themes.
Paperback, 256 pages
Published on November 22, 2015 by Tribeca Books
ISBN-10: 1612930425
ISBN-13: 9781612930428
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • applemango
    applemangoWednesday, July 3, 2019 at 10:29 pm44 stars
    This is a book about the true feeling of misunderstandings, wicked lies, and also the platform of love. I give you the one and only Elizabeth Bennet! She and Mr. Darcy are all too proud of their abilities. Mr. Darcy has proposed to Elizabeth and she has declined, a rude way. She doesn't like him because he was the one who made her elder sister Jane and Mr. Bingley break up. He told Mr. Bingley to search for his happiness. Also Mr. Wickman, is he to trust? Elizabeth reconsiders and to marry Mr. Darcy.....let's see how this story goes along!
    • riri216
      riri216Saturday, October 7, 2017 at 3:50 pm55 stars
      Pride and Prejudice tells a complex story that excites and invites readers to be more understanding of the human condition. Everyone needs love and support and people from wealthy backgrounds are no exception. I fell in love with the characters, for they are all quirky and distinguished from one another.
      • lemonade11
        lemonade11Wednesday, March 22, 2017 at 6:32 am
        This is a great book! After you read this one, I totally recommend Sense and Sensibility, Emma, and Northanger Abbey.
        • swirlycool
          swirlycoolWednesday, March 8, 2017 at 12:12 pm55 stars
          One of her best books!!
          • princessleia4
            princessleia4Wednesday, October 19, 2016 at 11:36 am55 stars
            Its actually really good
            • alicew
              alicewThursday, February 25, 2016 at 1:38 am55 stars
              "Pride and Prejudice" is probably the most successful book written by Jane Austen. Her writing style inspires so many people and generations after generation. I was first introduced to this book about a year ago, but I thought that English Lit would be boring. But one day, I pick up the book and start reading, until I realize how good of a story this is, I have already finished the whole and didn't want the book to end there. My favorite character in this book is Mr. Darcy. He is so mysterious and dark for some reason. He secretly helps Lizzy do so many things. The chemistry between them builds up little by little, from their relationship being hate, then transforming to love. Throughout the book, my favorite part is the first ball. So many things were happening, Jane was with Mr. Bingley, and Darcy shutting Lizzy off. The scene was so well described that I could almost see how the ballroom looks like and how each scene rolls so smooth like I'm watching a movie. Anyways, I would definitely recommend people to read this book, this classic novel really strikes to a man's heart.
              • nike1234
                nike1234Saturday, December 26, 2015 at 7:17 pm55 stars
                This is a great book for everyone who loves romance, humor, and Jane Austen. I really loved it.
                • buckteeth
                  buckteethWednesday, September 9, 2015 at 12:14 pm11 star
                  A beautifully written classic novel that I found absolutely horrific.
                  • bigmelo
                    bigmeloWednesday, October 8, 2014 at 6:57 pm55 starsFeatured
                    Jane Austen's brilliant perspective on the ways of romance has created a magnificent masterpiece, better known as one of her many realistic novels, Pride & Prejudice. The story focuses on Elizabeth Bennet, the second of five vigorous daughters to a humbly sarcastic countryman. Coincidentally, she encounters a righteously proud gentleman by the name of Fitzwilliam Darcy, whose derisive personality might just be Elizabeth's perfect match. Whomever would like to be encased in the works of genius, give this book a try!
                    • moonwombat
                      moonwombatFriday, March 7, 2014 at 9:46 am
                      This is a five star book. Nothing can compare to Jane Austen's wonderful characters and lovely Eliza Bennett. It's not modern at all but really delves into the history. This was my first Austen, and I have read it over and over. It is perhaps my favourite Austen too, though Persuasion comes close.