Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.526555
Poppy the deer mouse urges her family to move next to a field of corn big enough to feed them all forever, but Mr. Ocax, a terrifying owl, has other ideas.
Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on September 1, 1995 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 0531094839
ISBN-13: 9780531094839
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 1galaxygirl
    1galaxygirlMonday, December 30, 2019 at 11:17 am33 stars
    I love this book! It's a really good book...So in the book poppy is on a mission because mister O,cox is hiding something...And the mice want to move to greenhouse.but mister O,cox doesn't want them to move.so poppy is going to find out what it is..Bye 👋 guys!! P.s. You need to read it.
    • poppyWednesday, June 7, 2017 at 7:56 am
      the book is better than the movie
      • hayclairs
        hayclairsWednesday, January 18, 2017 at 2:39 pm
        Poppy is a deer mouse he met this owl named Mr.Ocax
        • ladykyra
          ladykyraSunday, September 20, 2015 at 2:55 pm55 stars
          i love it
          • mrslinington
            Mrs. LiningtonFriday, May 22, 2015 at 1:01 pm55 stars
            The book Poppy by Avi tells about a young deer mouse named Poppy who was determined to free her family from Mr. Ocax. I enjoyed this book because it was written with a lot of detail, and had a great life lesson that teaches you to overcome your fears. If you like thrilling action, adventure, and comedy you will like Poppy!
            • cheeze1234
              cheeze1234Tuesday, April 28, 2015 at 6:50 am
              This book is amazing at the beginning poppys boyfriend gets eaten an she defends herslef from the big owl! her adventures are so fun and and its a great book!
              • 23ec01
                23ec01Sunday, April 26, 2015 at 1:13 am55 stars
                I am reading this book and I know this book is going to as awesome as ragweed. I am at the beginning of this book and Ragweed got eaten by a owl so maybe this time, instead of defeating a cat, I think it is going to be about defeating a owl.
                • aweome381
                  aweome381Monday, April 20, 2015 at 11:37 am55 stars
                  Poppy is a very detailed book. I recommend it to 3rd graders and 4th graders.
                  • candyexpress
                    candyexpressSunday, January 26, 2014 at 5:13 pm55 stars
                    It's so good! Even my librarian loves this book!
                    • schmidco
                      schmidcoTuesday, October 15, 2013 at 4:36 pm55 stars
                      Tell others why you decided to read this book and what you think about it.