Pip Bartlett's Guide to Magical Creatures

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.733229
From bestselling authors Maggie Stiefvater and Jackson Pearce comes an exciting new series full of magical creatures, whimsical adventures, and quirky illustrations.

Here’s a list of things Pip Bartlett can talk to:

Unicorns
Miniature Silky Griffins
Bitterflunks
Basically, all magical creatures

Here’s a list of things she can’t talk to (at least, not very well):

Parents
Teachers
Basically, all people

Because of a Unicorn Incident at her school (it was an accident!), Pip is spending the summer with her Aunt Emma at the Cloverton Clinic for Magical Creatures. At first, it’s all fun, games, and chatting with Hobgrackles, but when Fuzzles appear and start bursting into flame at the worst possible places, Pip and her new friend Tomas must take action. Because if the mystery of the Fuzzles isn’t solved soon, both magical and unmagical creatures are going to be in a lot of trouble.
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on April 28, 2015 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545709261
ISBN-13: 9780545709262
29 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ghost_dk_diemx
    ghost_dk_diemxThursday, December 19, 2019 at 7:19 pm44 stars
    I read this book for OBOB if anyone knows what that is. It was really interesting and I liked when it showed what the creatures really looked like sometimes and just really enjoyed it my favorite creature was probably this something hound- I forgot what it's called. But anyway I do suggest you guys read and write a review on it so I can see what your guy's favorite creature was in the book.
    • pip Monday, June 4, 2018 at 2:04 am
      she can talk to magical creatures whaaaa
      • lalaThursday, May 31, 2018 at 2:49 am
        this book is so magical and made my express my imagination!
        • peze
          pezeFriday, January 6, 2017 at 1:35 pm
          This a great book. If you like fantasy stories, try this book.
          • cerulian
            cerulianThursday, September 29, 2016 at 9:03 pm44 stars
            This is a pretty cool book about a girl who can talk to magical creatures. Her name is Pip and she is sent to spend the summer with her aunt Emma who is a veterinarian for magical creatures. Pip must help her new town with handling all of these magical creatures and she gains help from the book, Jeffrey Higgleston's Guide to Magical Creatures. Pip gains hands-on experience in dealing with magical creatures and not purposefully rewrites the book she has been using. With help from her new friend, her aunt, and her skills, she tries her best to save the town.
            • 400bella
              400bellaMonday, September 26, 2016 at 4:51 pm55 stars
              I love this book it is about two kids who find a map to magical creatures I love this book I am going to read it alot.
              • casgirl
                casgirlSunday, September 25, 2016 at 3:21 pm55 stars
                she is a girl , a face in the crowd , like most others . but then she can talk to magical critters like no other .
                • yaya35223
                  yaya35223Sunday, September 4, 2016 at 3:26 pm33 stars
                  This book was a lot of fun to read! I love magical creatures! This book made the creature seem so real! I would recommend this book to anyone who loves magical things!
                  • sushi321
                    sushi321Sunday, September 4, 2016 at 12:03 pm
                    Because of an Incident at her school, Pip is spending the summer with her Aunt Emma at the Cloverton Clinic for Magical Creatures. At first, it’s all games, and chatting with Hobgrackles, but when Fuzzles appear and start bursting into flame at the worst possible places, Pip must do something. Because if the mystery of the Fuzzles isn’t solved soon, both magical and unmagical creatures are going to be in a lot of trouble. What will happen?
                    • snicker9
                      snicker9Friday, September 2, 2016 at 12:22 pm44 stars
                      PIp Bartett has a gift-she can talk to magical creatures. But nobody believes her. She absolutely loves animals, and is thrilled to pieces when for career day one parent brings unicorns. But things get out of hand when Pip ends up on the back of the unicorn in the middle of a unicorn riot. Her parents decide it is best for her to spend the summer away, so she is sent off to her Aunt Emma's at the Cloverton Clinic for Magical Creatures. Things seem to be going great-she gets to see all these magical creatures and talk to them. But then Fuzzles appear and start bursting into flames all over the place-in barns, in bushes, in underwear drawers. The town is in deep trouble, and if the problem isn't solved there is going to be a lot more trouble. Pip and her new friend Tomas must set out to solve the mystery, and save the magical creatures. I recommend this book to animal lovers. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.