The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 2)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 5S4.663976

After a summer spent trying to prevent a catastrophic war among the Greek gods, Percy Jackson finds his seventh-grade school year unnervingly quiet. His biggest problem is dealing with his new friend, Tyson-a six-foot-three, mentally challenged homeless kid who follows Percy everywhere, making it hard for Percy to have any "normal" friends.
But things don't stay quiet for long. Percy soon discovers there is trouble at Camp Half-Blood: the magical borders which protect Half-Blood Hill have been poisoned by a mysterious enemy, and the only safe haven for demigods is on the verge of being overrun by mythological monsters. To save the camp, Percy needs the help of his best friend, Grover, who has been taken prisoner by the Cyclops Polyphemus on an island somewhere in the Sea of Monsters, the dangerous waters Greek heroes have sailed for millennia-only today, the Sea of Monsters goes by a new name.the Bermuda Triangle.
Now Percy and his friends-Grover, Annabeth, and Tyson-must retrieve the Golden Fleece from the Island of the Cyclopes by the end of the summer or Camp Half-Blood will be destroyed. But first, Percy will learn a stunning new secret about his family-one that makes him question whether being claimed as Poseidon's son is an honor or simply a cruel joke.

Hardcover, 288 pages
ISBN-10: 0141381493
ISBN-13: 9780141381497
339 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ohiost8
    ohiost8Thursday, October 22, 2020 at 3:21 am44 stars
    I want to read this book because I love the first book and so I know I will love this one!!!
    • lovelightning
      lovelightningMonday, July 20, 2020 at 11:19 am55 stars
      this book is so amazing. I love how strong they all help each other. Percy and Annabeth really work well together. Make sure you read the whole series.
      • artemiskid4ever
        artemiskid4everMonday, July 13, 2020 at 9:38 am55 stars
        OMG!!! This and all of the books are great at the beginning you know that like there is something wrong with Tyson(Percys best friend and brother who is a cyclops) and then you are like wow he is a cyclops cooool!!!! Then you read more and start feeling bad for Tyson and at the end everyone loves him!!!
        • howls
          howlsWednesday, June 10, 2020 at 6:36 pm
          So cool a have to read I loved it
          • AuroraFriday, June 5, 2020 at 10:31 am
            Oh my gosh! This is one of my all time favorite books! It is about a boy named Percy Jackson, a son of Poseidon. I have read it 2 times already and I hope that you like it!
            • girlpower4ever
              girlpower4everFriday, June 5, 2020 at 9:10 am55 stars
              In this jam-packed sequel to "Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief," Rick Riordan's suspenseful and positively intriguing writing will have readers on the edge of their seat. Perseus Jackson, son of Poseidon, is back at yet another school after being kicked out of Yancy Academy. His only friend is Tyson, who stands several feet taller than anyone else but is really the least intimidating person in the world. So when a simple game of dodgeball suddenly becomes a deathmatch, Tyson shouldn't be able to help, but somehow he finds the strength to. And when Percy's friend Annabeth Chase appears, bringing bad news about Camp Half-Blood, Percy's world is about to change like never before.
              • swirlycool
                swirlycoolThursday, June 4, 2020 at 9:43 am55 stars
                Percy Jackson at first glance might seem like a normal human at first sight, but don't let that trick you. He's actually a halfblood. Other than the fact that he's a halfblood and the son of Poisedon, it's his last day of seventh grade. What could possibly go wrong? Turns out, a lot could. Percy goes to school with his friend, Tyson. It's normal until Percy gets threatened by Matt Sloan and his group of friends, that seemed bigger today. At gym, they play dodgeball. Sloan is the team captain, and Percy is the other team captain. When they start the game, it's normal until someone throws a ball at Percy so hard that he couldn't believe someone could throw that hard. Suddenly, Matt Sloan's new friends start growing as tall as Tyson, even taller. Percy remembers what Tyson said earlier about them, that they smell funny. Suddenly, Percy knew why. They were monsters. What will happen next? Read to find out. Overall, I thought this book was really good and it made me want to read the next book. I recommend this to people who enjoy the Harry Potter series. I rate this 5/5.
                • theodd1sout1
                  theodd1sout1Wednesday, June 3, 2020 at 1:10 pm55 stars
                  another great book from riordan!!! there are funny,sad,infuriating, and action parts
                  • fantasyreader65
                    fantasyreader65Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 12:47 pm44 stars
                    This book was my least favorite of the Percy Jackson series but it was still pretty good. Just to warn you the book was way way way way better than the movie. The books are always better.
                    • bookexplorer
                      bookexplorerMonday, May 18, 2020 at 1:31 pm55 stars
                      I LOVE this book. It is amazing for several reasons. One of the reasons I like this book is because Percy learns not to judge people by their looks and lifestyle. Another reason that I recommend this book is because it has a combination of funny and adventurous parts.