Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.655822
The perfect book for girls and boys who look to find adventure and magic in surprising places!

What if you were really bored with your life? What would you wish for?

Penelope Grey wishes for something—anything!—interesting to happen, and here’s what she gets:

• Her father quits his job.
• Her family runs out of money.
• Her home becomes a pit of despair.

So Penelope makes another wish, and this time the Greys inherit a ramshackle old house in the middle of nowhere. Off they go, leaving the city and their problems behind them. Their new home is full of artists, tiny lions, unusual feasts, and true friends. Almost immediately, their lives are transformed. Penelope’s mother finds an unexpected job, her father discovers a hidden talent, and Penelope changes her name!

Penny’s new life feels too magical to be real, too real to be magic. And it may be too good to last . . . unless she can find a way to make magic work just one more time—if it even was magic.

Any Which Wall author Laurel Snyder introduces a quirky cast of characters as pleasantly strange as they are deeply real. Abigail Halpin adds to the charm with her distinctive line drawings.

Fans of Polly Horvath’s My One Hundred Adventures, Ingrid Law’s Savvy, and Jeanne Birdsall’s The Penderwicks will be enchanted by Laurel Snyder’s alternatively humorous and poignant look at small-town life and what it really takes to become a happy family.
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on September 28, 2010 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375861998
ISBN-13: 9780375861994
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • tori3ghoul
    tori3ghoulSaturday, November 25, 2017 at 7:27 pm55 stars
    Penelope lives a rich life with her working parents. She has great books and toys, but she feels that her life is too boring. Soon, she wishes for something to happen and after a disaster, Penelope's family moves to Tennessee. Penelope makes great friends and has more kid fun.
    • sweetp
      sweetpThursday, January 7, 2016 at 7:33 am
      loved it
      • sweetp
        sweetpThursday, January 7, 2016 at 7:32 am
        i love this book my favorite part is when she meets twent and finds out her mom is PREGNANT!!!!!!!!
        • iluvdolphins
          iluvdolphinsSaturday, February 9, 2013 at 5:11 pm55 stars
          This was such an awesome book! You should read it! It's about this girl named Penelope and her dad quits his job and they become poor. Her mother then inherits a house in The Whipperwhillows. They sure get a suprise when they get there! Find out for yourself what that suprise is and what it brings to Penny (She changed her name) and her family. :)
          • frankiebaby
            frankiebabyThursday, January 8, 2015 at 6:07 pm
            I don't think I should
            • sweetp
              sweetpThursday, January 28, 2016 at 6:01 am
              you should
          • cheez315
            cheez315Monday, May 21, 2012 at 11:16 pm
            I love this book....its sooo simple yet amazingly put together...i wish i lived like pennny....Luella is awesome!...i love it when they move into their new neighbourhood the "Whirpoorwillows"
            • sweetp
              sweetpThursday, January 7, 2016 at 7:38 am
              you go cheese lover gal