Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 1 - 3n/a2.5876

In the third easy-to-read book about Penny the mouse, written by Caldecott Medalist and bestselling author Kevin Henkes, Penny finds a beautiful marble on her neighbor's lawn and must decide whether or not to keep it. With age-appropriate vocabulary, compelling characters, and a memorable storyline, Penny and her Marble is just right for beginning readers and was named a 2014 Geisel Honor book by the American Library Association. This annual award, given to the most distinguished books for beginning readers, is named for the world-renowned children's author Theodor Geisel, also known as Dr. Seuss.

Kevin Henkes is known for his mouse characters, including Lilly, Owen, Chrysanthemum, Wemberly, and now Penny! In Penny and her Marble, the third book in the Penny series, Penny finds a marble on Mrs. Goodwin's yard and takes it home. But does the marble really belong to Penny? Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge.

Hardcover, 48 pages
Published on February 19, 2013 by Greenwillow Books
ISBN-10: 0062082035
ISBN-13: 9780062082039
3 Book Reviews
  • BarracudaGiannaSaturday, December 5, 2015 at 6:52 am
    Penny and her marble by Kevin Henkes was a cute story for example Penny found a shiny blue marble in Ms Goodwins garden and did not know if it was Ms Goodwins or if it was but Penny took it anyway .Then she she saw Ms. Goodwin out of her window and spent the whole afternoon with her mother.This is a good book for kids to read so they will lean to ask if the person wants it or not. In this story Penny took the marble without asking Ms Goodwin. If you like cute stories read Penny and her Marble.
    • tadashawalters
      tadashawaltersMonday, February 25, 2013 at 9:25 am55 stars
      i love this boook
      • katie14235Sunday, February 24, 2013 at 3:28 pm
        this is a good book about a little mouse called Penny if you like mouse books you will like this one.