Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5T5.063195

The only thing you’ll find on the summit of Mount Everest is a divine view. The things that really matter lie far below. – Peak Marcello

After fourteen-year-old Peak Marcello is arrested for scaling a New York City skyscraper, he's left with two choices: wither away in Juvenile Detention or go live with his long-lost father, who runs a climbing company in Thailand. But Peak quickly learns that his father's renewed interest in him has strings attached. Big strings. As owner of Peak Expeditions, he wants his son to be the youngest person to reach the Everest summit--and his motives are selfish at best. Even so, for a climbing addict like Peak, tackling Everest is the challenge of a lifetime. But it's also one that could cost him his life.

Roland Smith has created an action-packed adventure about friendship, sacrifice, family, and the drive to take on Everest, despite the incredible risk. The story of Peak’s dangerous ascent—told in his own words—is suspenseful, immediate, and impossible to put down.

Paperback, 256 pages
Published on August 1, 2008 by Harcourt
ISBN-10: 0152062688
ISBN-13: 9780152062682
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • glowinq_stxrs
    glowinq_stxrsMonday, May 18, 2020 at 10:16 am55 stars
    I’ve read that book and it’s rlly interesting. Can’t wait to read it again someday!
    • james5
      james5Sunday, September 9, 2018 at 3:28 pm55 stars
      I think its going to be a good book
      • anonymousMonday, June 4, 2018 at 4:18 pm
        great book
        • UnknownFriday, February 2, 2018 at 9:00 am
          I have not read this book yet but, it seems very interesting and can not wait to read it!
          • CantsaymynamesoThursday, April 20, 2017 at 5:02 pm
            I am in sixth grade, and I do not like this book. It takes me forever when reading this because it's so boring for me. It could be interesting to other people, but not me, nor anyone in my class.
            • obsidionlove
              obsidionloveWednesday, April 19, 2017 at 9:38 am33 stars
              This book is amazing. I like this book because it is an awesome story. I think 5th grade and 6th because it was very....slow and then sped up younger kids wont get that very much. Plus it is a feels topic for some. I loved this book I think others should read it.
              • kidfury205
                kidfury205Wednesday, April 19, 2017 at 8:25 am55 stars
                This book is really good I believe that this book should be shared with everyone. I would recommend this book to 5th grade and up. I would definitely recommend this to my friends. Thats a fact. It has an amazing journey with amazing characters. It leaves me never wanting to stop reading.
                • enlin
                  enlinFriday, October 14, 2016 at 8:00 am
                  This is a great book. It's very interesting book. I love to read the book and just enjoy the story.
                  • sushi321
                    sushi321Sunday, April 24, 2016 at 7:35 am33 stars
                    it was ok but i kept getting confused of which camp they were in. they kept going up and down
                    • huntermoon
                      huntermoonWednesday, June 17, 2015 at 7:33 am
                      This book is powerful, emotional, and perfectly told from the POV of a 14-year-old boy. I think anyone from 3rd to 8th grade can enjoy this book.
                      • jeepers15108
                        jeepers15108Wednesday, August 3, 2016 at 7:53 am
                        I don't know about 3rd grade and 4th grade. Maybe 5th grade and above because I read this book in a 5th grade classroom and it was a gifted and talented school.