Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.248543
The internationally bestselling book that inspired the Pay It Forward movement is now available in a middle grade edition.

Pay It Forward is a moving, uplifting novel about Trevor McKinney, a twelve-year-old boy in a small California town who accepts his teacher’s challenge to earn extra credit by coming up with a plan to change the world. Trevor’s idea is simple: do a good deed for three people, and instead of asking them to return the favor, ask them to “pay it forward” to three others who need help. He envisions a vast movement of kindness and goodwill spreading across the world, and in this “quiet, steady masterpiece with an incandescent ending” (Kirkus Reviews), Trevor’s actions change his community forever.

This middle grade edition of Pay It Forward is extensively revised, making it an appropriate and invaluable complement to lesson plans and an ideal pick for book clubs, classroom use, and summer reading. Includes an author'snote and curriculum guide.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on August 19, 2014 by Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
ISBN-10: 1481409417
ISBN-13: 9781481409414
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • MorganSunday, February 24, 2019 at 4:48 pm
    Its very cool!
    • KaryTuesday, September 18, 2018 at 4:14 pm
      I really love it and it is a bit sad and it has many suprising parts...
      • KittyFriday, September 7, 2018 at 5:23 pm
        Tearjerker, but a great life lesson. Be prepared.
        • KatherineTuesday, May 16, 2017 at 6:47 am
          This book was really good, I thought it was a little boring at first. Trevor had a great idea and at the end it made me almost cry. . . -_- :(
          • dylan Monday, April 24, 2017 at 2:31 am
            The book was good but boring
            • meThursday, December 8, 2016 at 5:38 am
              super boring
              • chris07
                chris07Friday, December 2, 2016 at 5:47 am
                Pay it forward was a good book it was one of my favorites. The only part i didn't like was the ending when he ended up in the hospital
                • tka2004
                  tka2004Friday, December 2, 2016 at 5:43 am
                  It was a good book but it was a little bit boring.
                  • blake2119
                    blake2119Friday, December 2, 2016 at 5:42 am
                    This book was a great inspiring book that taught you to never give up and always try. But at the end the book did not tell us what happened to trevor and left us hanging. I hope there is another on to give people the details.
                    • blaze_kenway
                      blaze_kenwayFriday, December 2, 2016 at 5:41 am
                      It was a good book but not the type of book I like.