Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.950231
“Magic is “messy and dangerous and filled with longing,” we learn in this brave tale of grief, villainy and redemption that borrows from the story of the Snow Queen. Set in a vast, chilly museum, the tale brings together a valiant girl, a charmed boy, a magical sword and a clock ticking down to the end of the world.”—The Wall Street Journal

This is the story of unlikely heroine Ophelia Jane Worthington-Whittard who doesn't believe in anything that can't be proven by science. She and her sister Alice are still grieving for their dead mother when their father takes a job in a strange museum in a city where it always snows. On her very first day in the museum Ophelia discovers a boy locked away in a long forgotten room. He is a prisoner of Her Majesty, the Snow Queen. And he has been waiting for Ophelia's help.

As Ophelia embarks on an incredible journey to rescue the boy everything that she believes will be tested. Along the way she learns more and more about the boy's own remarkable journey to reach her and save the world.

A story within a story, this a modern day fairytale about the power of friendship, courage and love, and never ever giving up.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on January 28, 2014 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0385753543
ISBN-13: 9780385753548
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • tienaaaa
    tienaaaaWednesday, June 22, 2016 at 5:56 pm
    I think that you should read this book because it has a lot of adventure. And the people who like adventure i recommend you to read this book
    • nealv
      nealvFriday, December 11, 2015 at 11:34 am44 stars
      You should read this book because it has a lot of adventure. It has long chapters and great detail. I recommend you reading this book.
      • asma234
        asma234Monday, September 29, 2014 at 7:29 pm55 stars
        This book is mainly just another snow queen story,but very different from the rest.It was interesting and mysterious.I didn't see anything coming in the book.My friends say it was predictable,but I guess my comprehension skills wherent working while I was reading it.Anyways I loved the book and I do recommend it.5 stars from me.
        • redheadperson22
          redheadperson22Tuesday, September 16, 2014 at 3:02 pm22 starsFeatured
          Warning this review may contain spoilers! Ophelia finds this magical boy locked inside a room in a museum and agrees to help him with magical a quest. What I thought of it: Well, I read it awhile ago so I don't remember it very well. I do remember that everything that was supposed to be a "secret' or what not was pretty obvious. I knew from the start that the museum lady was the Snow Queen. I also figured that Ophelia was the special person (I can't remember the name they used at this exact moment). Also, I quickly figured out that Alice was going to be put into the machine. So yeah, everything was obvious. Also Ophelia was just plain annoying. She just went around saying that she didn't believe in magic because she was too smart to believe in magic. Well honestly, she wasn't that smart. She just came off as snotty. And she was boring too. The author tried to make her seem quirky and what not, but all that she did was take her inhaler. She literally took it like 4 times a day. The author must of not done much research because once you take your inhaler, you're supposed to wait 4 to 6 hours before taking it again. And this book wasn't very well written. Also, I was disappointed that we never learned the Marvelous Boy's name. Overall, it was boring and predicable. I've read a lot of books that were just like it.
          • selina
            selinaSunday, September 7, 2014 at 3:42 pm55 stars
            This book is about a girl saving a boy by killing a very evil witch. The witch was evil because she put girls in a machine and when they came out they were ghosts. You couldn’t see the ghosts but you could hear the ghosts. If the ghosts see light the ghosts will be separated. So the ghosts aren`t allowed to look at light. One day a girl named Ophelia came to a museum [where the boy, the witch, and the ghosts are] because her dad worked at the museum. While she was wandering around she found a gold lock and she looked inside the lock and found a boy. So Ophelia tried to get his attention. The boy heard Ophelia and went to Ophelia and started talking to Ophelia. After a while Ophelia asked the boy how long he had stayed in the cellar. The boy said 75 years. Then the boy told Ophelia to get a key to get the marvelous boy [that was what the boy was named but wasn’t the boy`s real name] out.
            • peeps
              peepsThursday, January 8, 2015 at 4:24 am
              good review!
            • penguin313
              penguin313Friday, September 5, 2014 at 2:28 pm55 stars
              This a good fantasy book about a girl who only believes in science, who has to go up against the make- believe to save the world.
              • ruff8
                ruff8Monday, August 18, 2014 at 3:05 pm44 starsFeatured
                Ophelia Jane Worthington-Whittard only believes in that which can be proven by science. But, after her mom dies & her dad takes a job at a strange museum, Ophelia is not so sure of her strong-held belifs anymore.
                • tim0706
                  tim0706Thursday, August 14, 2014 at 3:55 pm
                  This is a book I really want to read. It really looks like a really really fun book. I wish I can read this book.
                  • spinnypeeps
                    spinnypeepsThursday, August 7, 2014 at 6:11 am55 stars
                    Full of adventure, mystery, and excitement, Ophelia and the Marvelous boy is a read to read. I honestly didn't think nurses could be such enchanting authors until I met Karen Foxlee. It was especially exciting to me because it kept me wondering about the boy's past, and the main character was the same age as me(and acted like it). From my experience, most adult authors made the characters unfit descriptions for their age: they always acted too babyish or too grown- up, something that made the story seem less... alive. A heartwarming tale based on the strength of family, love, , friendship, and trust, It is definitely a five star book that you'll never get tired of. I hope you read it- It's a page turner!
                    • popbaby898
                      popbaby898Tuesday, July 29, 2014 at 9:06 am
                      I love the girls name in this book. I like that the characters must help each other. It is a fun summer read. I really like this book.