Against the ominous backdrop of the influenza epidemic of 1918, Annie, a new girl at school, is claimed as best friend by Elsie, a classmate who is a tattletale, a liar, and a thief. Soon Annie makes other friends and finds herself joining them in teasing and tormenting Elsie. Elsie dies from influenza, but then she returns to reclaim Annie's friendship and punish all the girls who bullied her. Young readers who revel in spooky stories will relish this chilling tale of a girl haunted by a vengeful ghost.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on July 31, 2018 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1328497984
ISBN-13: 9781328497987
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ABCThursday, March 28, 2019 at 2:14 pm
    This book is the best! It's really addicting! It's a great page turner. It's a great ghost story. One of the best I've ever read.
    • demWednesday, March 27, 2019 at 11:37 am
      this book is great! i found it in my school library and i cant stop reading it! i got it yesterday and now i'm on page 143. that's how amazing this book is. I definitely recommend this book.
      • snadwich
        snadwichMonday, March 25, 2019 at 9:06 pm44 stars
        reading it currently, so far I would reccomend.
        • SomeoneSunday, March 17, 2019 at 10:35 am
          This book is one of my favorite books ever! I definitely recommend it.
          • HelloFriday, February 8, 2019 at 3:18 pm
            I loved this book alot
            • big chungusTuesday, January 8, 2019 at 2:34 pm
              its very interesting
              • ?Tuesday, December 18, 2018 at 6:48 pm
                I love this book! I am interested in horror stories and this one was super good. I would say only one more chapter but I just couldn't resist reading more! This is truly the best book ever!
                • Breee<3sfOoDThursday, September 20, 2018 at 1:10 pm
                  I think that the book is really good so far I am only on chapter 16 and it is great!I just don't know why Elsie likes to haunt Annie,I know she like bullied her and stuff but I know that she really isn't like all the other girls that bullied her.Just please stop bulling in books, real life, etc. Just stop the hate and be loving! <3
                  • starfish112
                    starfish112Sunday, December 31, 2017 at 4:09 pm55 stars
                    if you believe in ghosts get really freaked out the girl dies and become a ghosts and hunt a girl name Annie Brown if your name is annie the ghost will hunt u irmi [ I really mean it] hahahaha
                    • genokucegu
                      genokuceguTuesday, November 14, 2017 at 11:08 am55 stars
                      she is evil. after being mean to elsie Annie gets stuck with elsie when elsie dies from the flu. Elise touchers Annie by getting her and trouble and making her do things she doesn't want to do. will elsie ever leave?