Against the ominous backdrop of the influenza epidemic of 1918, Annie, a new girl at school, is claimed as best friend by Elsie, a classmate who is a tattletale, a liar, and a thief. Soon Annie makes other friends and finds herself joining them in teasing and tormenting Elsie. Elsie dies from influenza, but then she returns to reclaim Annie's friendship and punish all the girls who bullied her. Young readers who revel in spooky stories will relish this chilling tale of a girl haunted by a vengeful ghost.
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on July 18, 2017 by Clarion Books
ISBN-10: 0544818091
ISBN-13: 9780544818095
21 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • notarealname123
    notarealname123Sunday, November 24, 2019 at 10:10 am55 stars
    This book is about Annie who just moved into a haunted area to live with her grandmother. On her first day of school a weird girl, Elsie becomes friends with her. Annie immediately disliked Elsie. So she switched sides and became friends with the people who bullied Elsie. After a while, a terrible incident happened to Elsie. Elsie thinks that Annie caused it. Elsie was really mad, so she made sure that she ruins Annie’s life. Annie had to find a way to get rid of her. What should she do?
    • dyjocupu-157244963055
      dyjocupu-157244963055Friday, November 1, 2019 at 9:02 am55 stars
      Do you like creepy and slightly scary books that have ghost in them? Well this is one that I think you might like It's bone chilling and spine tickling somewhat at the same time. Two of the main characters I'd say are Annie and Elsie. The conflict is that a bad case of influenza was spreading, Elsie got sick and died, Annie knocked into Elsie's tombstone and then "woke up" from the died. I like One For Sorrow because it was very thrilling and there was a happy ending, but before it ends there was a sad and happy moment for Annie and Elsie. One character I found lovable was Mrs. Jameson , she is very nice to Annie and talks about books with Annie sometimes. That is I like the book and why I think others might like it, too.
      • Abby g Thursday, October 10, 2019 at 6:09 pm
        I love this book it’s the best.
        • olive_tree18
          olive_tree18Friday, October 4, 2019 at 8:25 am55 starsFeatured
          One for Sorrow definitely sent chills down my spine. It is about a girl named Annie who moved to a new town where on her first day of school she meets Elsie. After a couple of days with Elsie, Annie didn't like hr at all. She was mean and disrespectful. Annie became friends with a group of girls that she liked much better. The only thing was that they would constantly pick on Elsie. Elsie ended up with the deadly Spanish Influenza. Annie and her friends went sledding in the graveyard and Annie hit her head really hard on a gravestone. At that point Annie had risen Elsie from the dead. Elsie made sure to ruin Annie's life. Annie had to find a way to get rid of her. In the end it was okay. If you like ghost stories and freaky things, this would be a great book for you!
          • unknowenThursday, September 5, 2019 at 10:29 am
            the best book of histroy.
            • ..hiWednesday, September 4, 2019 at 6:50 pm
              its an amazing book im doing it for a book report its amazing!
              • notarealname123
                notarealname123Saturday, November 23, 2019 at 5:07 pm55 stars
                So am I!
              • BotWednesday, June 26, 2019 at 7:55 am
                This is the best book!
                • glittersparkles
                  glittersparklesSaturday, June 8, 2019 at 6:37 pm55 stars
                  It's so good and an addictive book
                  • ABCThursday, March 28, 2019 at 2:14 pm
                    This book is the best! It's really addicting! It's a great page turner. It's a great ghost story. One of the best I've ever read.
                    • demWednesday, March 27, 2019 at 11:37 am
                      this book is great! i found it in my school library and i cant stop reading it! i got it yesterday and now i'm on page 143. that's how amazing this book is. I definitely recommend this book.