Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 6Grades 2 - 5P4.518437

A funny and fantastical novel about a young girl who makes a life-changing discovery about who she really is. Perfect for fans of The Tail of Emily Windsnap—or anyone who has wondered if they might have some magic in them.

Most little girls have parents to take care of them, but not Annabel Tippens. She has Gloria, a tiny white dog who talks and wears a gold collar. Annabel never thought it was strange that she had Gloria instead of real parents. Until one day a wicked, wicked cat named Belinda comes to tell her the truth—she's not just a little girl, she's half-fairy!

And she can do lots of things that other kids can't do, such as kiss her own elbow and fly around the house. But being a fairy isn't all fun and games, and soon Annabel must make a choice. If she chooses to be a fairy, she'll have to say good-bye to Gloria forever. But how can she decide between her newly found magic and her dearest friend?

Hardcover, 139 pages
Published on January 21, 1978 by Joanna Cotler Books
ISBN-10: 006020642X
ISBN-13: 9780060206420
3 Book Reviews
  • otter
    otterSunday, January 19, 2014 at 10:58 am
    I read this book a while ago, but I know it is awesome! It is sort of fantasy, but mostly just fiction.
    • ninacreekside
      ninacreeksideTuesday, September 24, 2013 at 5:01 pm55 stars
      What I thought of the book No Flying in the House is that it is well written because it had interesting cliff hangers and surprises. There were some fascinating characters such as Belinda the cat that can change into different things and Gloria the talking dog. I wish I had Gloria as a dog she is awesome. I recommend reading this if you like fantasy and animals.
      • aliea45
        aliea45Monday, January 28, 2013 at 11:59 am55 stars
        this is aswome because she is a witch and they dont want to fly because the family is trying to be like regular people not like aliens from a diffrent plant this is why i like this boook if you read it it will take you on a journey far far far far far away.!$$