Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 4U3.332545
Twelve-year-old Lanesha lives in a tight-knit community in New Orleans' Ninth Ward. She doesn't have a fancy house like her uptown family or lots of friends like the other kids on her street. But what she does have is Mama Ya-Ya, her fiercely loving caretaker, wise in the ways of the world and able to predict the future. So when Mama Ya-Ya's visions show a powerful hurricane--Katrina--fast approaching, it's up to Lanesha to call upon the hope and strength Mama Ya-Ya has given her to help them both survive the storm.

Ninth Ward is a deeply emotional story about transformation and a celebration of resilience, friendship, and family--as only love can define it.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on August 16, 2010 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316043079
ISBN-13: 9780316043076
12 Book Reviews
  • weworofy-160798470925
    weworofy-160798470925Wednesday, April 14, 2021 at 9:54 am55 stars
    Lanesha was a very smart and creative girl. Her mother died giving birth to her so she lived with the person that gave birth to her Mama Ya-Ya. Lanesha was able to see ghost and Mama Ya-Ya would have dreams that told her the future. Later on Mama Ya-Ya died.
    • demonheart
      demonheartFriday, January 19, 2018 at 7:00 pm33 stars
      I think that this book would be good for people who think that ghosts are interesting and hold their past dear to them, but if you have a strong belief in something that has no relation to ghosts what so ever, then this is not a book to you. Unless you ignore those parts.
      • No name please Wednesday, October 12, 2016 at 7:00 pm
        This is a very good book its sad and exiting and I defiantly recommend this book.
        • aquabubble
          aquabubbleTuesday, June 9, 2015 at 3:18 pm44 stars
          Lanesha is a great character! I really loved reading this book. She overcame a lot, and realized a lot of things. Sometimes, I felt like Mama Ya-Ya was my mom! Lanesha sees deep meaning in small things, and can teach you things you can use in your own life.
          • strowbridge
            strowbridgeTuesday, May 12, 2015 at 8:02 am55 stars
            This is my favorite book it is a story about Mama ya ya and Lanesha with rich uptown family on their mind and a tragic birth story
            • despinoza1
              despinoza1Tuesday, March 10, 2015 at 11:24 am55 stars
              This is a very good book. This is a book about Hurricane Katrina. Although it is a good book it is sad at times.
              • happyface221
                happyface221Tuesday, June 17, 2014 at 7:21 pm
                it seems like the most intresating book ever, so i kinda wanna read it
                • ikyra_marie
                  ikyra_marieSunday, March 16, 2014 at 6:37 pm
                  I loved this book!12 year old Lanesha lives in a rough neighborhood in New orlean's Ninth Ward.Her uptown family is rich with a nice and fancy house which Lanesha doens't have.She also isn't that popular and doesn't have many friends, but she has her foster grandmother, Mama Yaya who took care of her for the past 12 years after her mom died giving birth to her.She can see her mom as a ghost though.Mama Yaya can predict the future and she predicts a powerful hurricane coming their way.It's hurricane Katrina.When Yaya gets weak and is not able to do anything but rest and sleep,It is up to Lanesha to prepare the house for the hurricane get food and help them both survive the terrible storm.
                  • rainbowunicorn
                    rainbowunicornWednesday, December 18, 2013 at 2:25 pm55 stars
                    Lanesha' s parent died just after her birth. She is now 12 years old and living with a foster grandma, Mama Ya Ya, when they hear about a huge storm called hurricane Katrina coming to their hometown. Many of their neighbors evacuate the area, but Lanesha and Mama Ya Ya stay. with her grandmother suddenly wearing down from old age, it is up to Lanesha to prepare for the storm, buy bottled water, prepare food and nail strips of wood to the windows. Read the book to find out what happens next!
                    • rainbowunicorn
                      rainbowunicornTuesday, December 17, 2013 at 5:56 pm55 stars
                      it was sad at times, creepy at times, worrisome at times and exiting at times, but I really loved it! I recommend it to everyone.