Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.832886
From the critically acclaimed author of Anything But Typical comes a touching look at the days leading up to the tragic events of September 11, 2001, and how that day impacted the lives of four middle schoolers.

Ask anyone: September 11, 2001, was serene and lovely, a perfect day—until a plane struck the World Trade Center.

But right now it is a few days earlier, and four kids in different parts of the country are going about their lives. Sergio, who lives in Brooklyn, is struggling to come to terms with the absentee father he hates and the grandmother he loves. Will’s father is gone, too, killed in a car accident that has left the family reeling. Naheed has never before felt uncomfortable about being Muslim, but at her new school she’s getting funny looks because of the head scarf she wears. Aimee is starting a new school in a new city and missing her mom, who has to fly to New York on business.

These four don’t know one another, but their lives are about to intersect in ways they never could have imagined. Award-winning author Nora Raleigh Baskin weaves together their stories into an unforgettable novel about that seemingly perfect September day—the day our world changed forever.
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on June 28, 2016 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 144248506X
ISBN-13: 9781442485068
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sheashea
    sheasheaFriday, October 18, 2019 at 4:06 am55 stars
    Raliegh Baskin tells the story of four school aged children of different backgrounds living in different parts of the country. What they were going through personally the days before the 9/11 attack through a year after the attack.
    • dabboy6Friday, March 22, 2019 at 9:06 am
      Can someone plz tell me how the book is because I have not read it and I want to no how it is.
      • legonerd6577
        legonerd6577Friday, November 2, 2018 at 10:30 am44 stars
        I think it is really good so far I love the I serie and this is kind of like that.
        • jamareionThursday, September 27, 2018 at 9:25 am
          what did you rate the book meiai
          • jamareionThursday, September 27, 2018 at 9:23 am
            i wan t to read the book it sounds like its a good book
            • zandriagambillThursday, September 27, 2018 at 9:22 am
              I REALLY LOVE THIS BOOK!! :3
              • meiai
                meiaiWednesday, September 26, 2018 at 11:39 am
                I LOVE THIS BOOK
                • e06
                  e06Sunday, April 9, 2017 at 9:39 amFeatured
                  I read this book in my class for read aloud. It is a nine eleven story from different perspectives. One is a muslim girl her name is Naheed, the second is a teenage boy named Will who lives in Pennsylvania, and a african-american kid named Sergio. I think they all had these perspectives to show how everyone was affected by it in a different way. Naheed got affected by it because she wore a hijab and she was Muslim, and the terrorists were Muslim. Will gets affected because a while before the attack his father passed away, and on the attack one plane hit a field close to his neighborhood so he saw that plane. Sergio had problems himself because he could pretty much hear the attack because he lived in NY, and he won some educational award so he got money and his father who never even showed up EVER in his life suddenly came because he wanted part of the money. If you are at the library or a bookstore please pick up this book.
                  • nonstopreader
                    nonstopreaderFriday, September 16, 2016 at 4:50 am
                    My school is doing a book club for 4th,5th and 6th graders and this was the book they chose. It is VERY GOOD!! I really recommend it. It informs you a bit more about if you had to live through the 9/11 times. The end was very touching. Go get it!!