Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 1 - 4n/a3.113063

Indies Choice Book of the Year * National Book Award Finalist * New York Times Bestseller * New York Times Notable Book * Kirkus Best Book * School Library Journal Best Book * Publishers Weekly Best Book * NPR Best Book * New York Public Library Best Book * Chicago Public Library Best Book

The New York Times bestselling graphic novel sensation from Noelle Stevenson, based on her beloved and critically acclaimed web comic. Kirkus says, “If you’re going to read one graphic novel this year, make it this one.”

Nemeses! Dragons! Science! Symbolism! All these and more await in this brilliantly subversive, sharply irreverent epic from Noelle Stevenson. Featuring an exclusive epilogue not seen in the web comic, along with bonus conceptual sketches and revised pages throughout, this gorgeous full-color graphic novel has been hailed by critics and fans alike as the arrival of a “superstar” talent (NPR.org).

Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren't the heroes everyone thinks they are.

But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona's powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit.

Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on May 12, 2015 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0062278231
ISBN-13: 9780062278234
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • zingisme213
    zingisme213Thursday, May 24, 2018 at 11:35 am55 stars
    OH MY GOSH THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING! I loved it so much! Nimona, she's so cool, she just blows stuff off, until her powers disappear... I think ages 9 and up would be best suited to read this book.
    • grapefruit
      grapefruitSaturday, February 10, 2018 at 4:40 am44 stars
      Nimona, teenage shape-shifting expert and wannabe villain. Ballister Blackheart, Knight-turned-villain. When these two lives collide (in a brief incedent which involves Nimona bustling into Blackheart's lab), be prepared for endless laughing, a nervous freak out, and many sorrowful tears.On a giant plan to get revenge on the ambitious Goldenloin, the characters discover that sometimes a monster could just be a little girl down under.
      • dogopo
        dogopoWednesday, October 11, 2017 at 5:39 pm
        I LOVE THIS BOOK. The art style is excellent and the story to it is wonderful. Everyone thought i was so good it is getting turned into a movie, i'm sure that the movie will be just as exciting as the book. I am hoping for a part 2 and part 3 to it with a different story. I highly recommend this book to people who like good graphic novels.
        • shadowstabber
          shadowstabberThursday, August 24, 2017 at 12:31 pm55 stars
          lots of blood death and violence
          • iheartnutella
            iheartnutellaTuesday, May 16, 2017 at 9:32 am
            Sounds cool.
            • funmagical68
              funmagical68Tuesday, May 16, 2017 at 9:28 am55 stars
              it was great and I loved the ending I WANT PART 2
              • lanabug
                lanabugWednesday, February 8, 2017 at 2:26 pm
                because i love her books i have read ghosts sisters smile and drama. Raina rules

                Recent Kids Book Reviews

                tyleha
                tyleha wrote:

                This is the best book you can read
                One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Bl...

                spiders2
                spiders2 wrote:

                I havent read it but thank you t...
                The Stonekeeper (Amulet, Book 1)

                spiders2
                spiders2 wrote:

                Absolutely great content gives i...
                The Lightning Thief (Percy Jacks...

                a cool dude wrote:

                a really good book everyone shou...
                Michael Vey: The Prisoner of Cel...

                Our Apps and Plugins