Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.868488
"Coraline meets Monsters, Inc. in this delightfully entertaining offering from actor [Jason] Segel and co-author [Kirsten] Miller."— Publishers Weekly

The hilariously frightening, middle-grade novel Nightmares! is a Texas Bluebonnet nominee and the first book in a trilogy about a boy named Charlie and a group of kids who must face their fears to save their town.


Sleeping has never been so scary. And now waking up is even worse!

Charlie Laird has several problems.

1. His dad married a woman he is sure moonlights as a witch.
2. He had to move into her purple mansion, which is NOT a place you want to find yourself after dark.
3.He can’t remember the last time sleeping wasn’t a nightmarish prospect. Like even a nap.

What Charlie doesn’t know is that his problems are about to get a whole lot more real. Nightmares can ruin a good night’s sleep, but when they start slipping out of your dreams and into the waking world—that’s a line that should never be crossed.

And when your worst nightmares start to come true . . . well, that’s something only Charlie can face. And he’s going to need all the help he can get, or it might just be lights-out for Charlie Laird. For good.

Praise for Nightmares!


Book one is a
New York Times bestseller and Texas Bluebonnet nominee!

"Charlie Laird, who learns fear will eat you alive if you feed it, makes an impression, and...readers will want to accompany him again."—The New York Times Book Review

"A touching comical saga...about facing things that go bump in the night."—US Weekly

"“[Nightmares!] succeeds at scaring and amusing in equal measure…[It's] sweet, charming, and imaginative."—Kirkus Reviews

"Segel...and Miller build an entertaining, cartoony world full of scary (but not too scary) monsters, silly jokes, plucky kid heroes...with a promise of adventures to come."—Booklist

"An engaging and creative story...woven with a generous amount [of] humor."—VOYA

"There's humor and a fairly high ick-factor."—School Library Journal

"Cleverly crafted...This novel presents just the right mix of 'scary and humorous.'"—ILA Literacy Daily
Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on September 9, 2014 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0385744250
ISBN-13: 9780385744256
13 Book Reviews
  • dqc10
    dqc10Thursday, March 29, 2018 at 11:25 am
    Talk about a kid that have nightmare. Name Charlies, think his step mom is the witch. So he alway say that his step-mom is the witch.
    • rosegoldlover
      rosegoldloverWednesday, February 14, 2018 at 8:18 pm
      This book is the best book I have read and probably is the best book in my life if u read it it'll be ur favorite for life!!!
      • tori3ghoul
        tori3ghoulWednesday, November 29, 2017 at 12:05 pm22 stars
        This book was pretty scary. I've never been a fan of horror or nightmares, but it certainly was creative. Anyone who enjoys a good scare will like this book. Jason Segel has one spooky imagination!
        • bearpawzeus66
          bearpawzeus66Sunday, November 5, 2017 at 4:03 am44 stars
          This book is interesting and I really liked it. I think it was scary, but it was funny and I would recommend it for my friends. This book has a great Halloween setting and it has some very unexpected things. If you like spooky and not so spooky/funny, give it a go.
          • stitch123
            stitch123Friday, November 3, 2017 at 4:32 pm55 stars
            I have read the book and its great for a Halloween setting. Also because its a very interesting and unexpected things can happen like going in your own nightmare and finding out its friends are also nightmares. Or finding out there is a nightmare world and dream world. So if you like spooky and not so spooky things, your in luck.
            • gravityfalls c:Saturday, October 21, 2017 at 11:07 pm
              I love this book! It's amazing, It kept me hooked the whole time. If you like the first book, read the 2nd, 3rd and the journal! I've read every book in the series, even the journal. I loved it. I recommend this to everyone I know.
              • stitch123
                stitch123Friday, November 3, 2017 at 4:33 pm55 stars
                I would love to read the series
              • yo-kaiwatcher09
                yo-kaiwatcher09Monday, March 14, 2016 at 3:20 pm55 stars
                I loved reading Nightmares! I saw it in our library and it looked like a mystery so I checked it out. I really enjoyed it and in the back of the book, I saw that there was going to be another Nightmares book, so I couldn't wait for it to come out. Finally, the second Nightmares book came out and I bought it right away. I read it and I loved it! I can't wait for another Nightmares book experience!
                • nataliab
                  nataliabFriday, December 4, 2015 at 10:34 am44 stars
                  Nightmares is an amazing book. It drew me in and had great details. I think that it is a great 9-11 year old book.
                  • bllucas04
                    bllucas04Monday, October 12, 2015 at 5:25 pm44 stars
                    This book is even scary for me! This book will absolutely give you nightmares , even if you are 2-102
                    • stitch123
                      stitch123Friday, November 3, 2017 at 4:34 pm55 stars
                      i don't agree
                    • AnonymousTuesday, May 26, 2015 at 2:22 pmFeatured
                      Whether your nightmares are clowns or the dark, Nightmares! Is a book you wanna read, it has a great plot with well thought out characters, it has also some humor injected into it, like when Dabney, a clown, told Charlie, the main character, to not kill anyone when he borrowed his car. It is also full of suspense which makes it a real page-turner, unlike the other books I have read. I have recently finished the book and cannot wait for the sequel coming out in the Fall of 2015. In conclusion the book has earned 2nd place of my all time favorite book list. Good job Jason and Kirsten!