Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6U5.240355

A young boy relates his adventures during the year he spends living alone in the Catskill Mountains including his struggle for survival, his dependence on nature, his animal friends, and his ultimate realization that he needs human companionship.

Hardcover, 176 pages
Published on October 1, 1978 by Nelson Thornes Ltd
ISBN-10: 0333240847
ISBN-13: 9780333240847
61 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lawalex
    lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 7:10 am55 stars
    This is a cool story of a boy who runs away to the mountains, lives in a tree, and tames a falcon. It’s a story of survival in the wilderness. He meets some unique individuals along the way. If you like wilderness or survival books, you willl like this novel.
    • ilanos50
      ilanos50Friday, June 7, 2019 at 4:44 pm55 stars
      It was a really fun book and it was really interesting how Sam lived in the old farm. I wonder how in the birch journal he knew all the names of the plants that he eats? I plan to read the sequel and the trilogy soon!! I recommend this book to people who like adventure and fun!
      • kebodeaux
        kebodeauxMonday, March 25, 2019 at 1:32 pm
        I loved it I'm still reading it ! It's so in interesting!! I loved it so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
        • astrydnayanahs
          astrydnayanahsSunday, August 26, 2018 at 3:57 pm55 stars
          This book is amazing and gives real survival tips and tricks!
          • ravenclaw35
            ravenclaw35Thursday, February 22, 2018 at 12:30 pm55 stars
            I LOVED this book! I read it with the best teacher, Mr.M! (McPeak).
            • mrm2026
              mrm2026Monday, January 8, 2018 at 8:00 am55 stars
              This is an amazing book about a boy named Sam Gribley. He leaves home to live in the wilderness by himself. The whole story keeps your attention and you really get to know the characters!
              • booklover108
                booklover108Friday, December 8, 2017 at 5:45 am55 stars
                So far its really good. Im only a little bit in but it is awesome!!
                • pobubaredi
                  pobubarediTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 11:16 am33 stars
                  Sam runs away to the Catskill Mountains as his house is to small and crowded. Will he make make friends with the animals or will he be lonely in the mountains?
                  • xenykanyba
                    xenykanybaTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 11:12 am
                    this is a book about a kid who ran away from home. What do you think happen to sam will he live or will he die?
                    • dudunevata
                      dudunevataThursday, October 26, 2017 at 11:16 am44 stars
                      It was a very interesting book. If you like the outdoors and would like to learn about survival skills, this book would be good for you. It is about a kid named sam that ran away from the city to live in the catskill woods. Will he make it?