A young boy relates his adventures during the year he spends living alone in the Catskill Mountains including his struggle for survival, his dependence on nature, his animal friends, and his ultimate realization that he needs human companionship.

Paperback, 209 pages
Published on March 23, 2005 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 0786273593
ISBN-13: 9780786273591
43 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • armcginn
    armcginnSunday, May 21, 2017 at 10:25 am55 stars
    I do recommend this because it was an amazing story about what it takes to survive in the wilderness. It has hardships as well as fun times. Definitely a favorite book and was recommended by my teacher (Mrs. Backer), it was her favorite book. It turned out to be a favorite of mine, too.
    • Samantha smile Sunday, April 23, 2017 at 7:28 pm
      Love this book.
      • foxfire
        foxfireWednesday, November 2, 2016 at 4:29 pm55 stars
        Sam runs away to the Catskills mountains to live off the land. After a few days he finds a tree to live in, so he digs out in between the roots and starts to make it his home. Eventually he trains a young falcon, makes a stove and has a great home. I love this book, because he has the life i sometimes wish for( except for the end). I recommend this book to all the outdoorsy types of people. :)
        • rodgers12
          rodgers12Saturday, February 6, 2016 at 4:52 am
          I love the idea of the book but I think the author does a bad job describing some things
          • aquapop2000
            aquapop2000Wednesday, January 27, 2016 at 5:08 pm55 stars
            This is my second time reading this book and i love it so much . It is a fun book and i definitely recommend reading it !!!
            • sciencecol
              sciencecolTuesday, September 1, 2015 at 7:46 pm55 stars
              it was for school
              • gcollins1
                gcollins1Friday, April 10, 2015 at 11:40 am22 stars
                I find this book boring and pointless. It has an off and on type of thing. One minute you will enjoy it the next it's boring!
                • avester11
                  avester11Thursday, January 22, 2015 at 7:20 am55 stars
                  Pretty good and cool.
                  • arjunr
                    arjunrTuesday, January 13, 2015 at 2:54 pm55 stars
                    I had a fun time learning and discovering what Sam Gribley will do next to survive. It is upsetting to find out that now he lives in the forest with everyone on his tail.
                    • jcarrera
                      jcarreraTuesday, January 6, 2015 at 6:55 am
                      I thought it was a good book. I thought some parts were boring like when people came over, but I liked the book. SPOILER I think its's good to let Sam run away because that is what he wants to do.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Trish wrote:

                      Ahh how do you get the book????
                      The Getaway (Diary of a Wimpy Ki...

                      animal_lover549

                      This is kind of like wonder. It ...
                      Out of My Mind

                      animal_lover549

                      Oh. My. Gosh. This is one of the...
                      Wonder

                      animal_lover549

                      Awesome book. Very descriptive a...
                      It Ain't So Awful, Falafel