A young boy relates his adventures during the year he spends living alone in the Catskill Mountains including his struggle for survival, his dependence on nature, his animal friends, and his ultimate realization that he needs human companionship.

Paperback, 209 pages
Published on March 23, 2005 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 0786273593
ISBN-13: 9780786273591
50 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • lourdesj
    lourdesjWednesday, September 20, 2017 at 1:00 pm44 stars
    It's really interesting and pretty good
    • mseag20
      mseag20Wednesday, September 13, 2017 at 4:29 pm22 stars
      it was ok
      • finleyhuneycutt
        finleyhuneycuttThursday, August 31, 2017 at 12:03 pm55 stars
        I like this book because most of us are not brave enough to go live in the woods by are selfies. I think that Sam Grible is a brave boy and i would not be brave enough to do things that he does. I recommend this boo because if you like to be outside then this is the book for you.I f my friend read this book I think she would want to be outside more than she already is which she is outside a lot.
        • ngusward
          nguswardWednesday, August 30, 2017 at 1:41 pm
          Its super cool, fun, to because Sam Gribley he lives on a hemlock bye himself on his grandfathers Grible's farm
          • jamin1
            jamin1Wednesday, August 30, 2017 at 1:08 pm55 stars
            i really love this book
            • izzykitchings
              izzykitchingsWednesday, August 30, 2017 at 9:12 am33 stars
              I don't recommend it
              • elizabethcummin
                elizabethcumminWednesday, August 16, 2017 at 5:10 pm55 stars
                This book is one of my favorite books that I have read, because it is very adventurous. IT is also makes you want to read more witch is something I real like in a book. I recommend this book because it is very descriptive and a very meaningful. Also this book is not only about a boy living in the wilderness it is also about family and friends and how they love you no matter what. So this is why I gave this book a 5/5 and recommend it.
                • armcginn
                  armcginnSunday, May 21, 2017 at 10:25 am55 stars
                  I do recommend this because it was an amazing story about what it takes to survive in the wilderness. It has hardships as well as fun times. Definitely a favorite book and was recommended by my teacher (Mrs. Backer), it was her favorite book. It turned out to be a favorite of mine, too.
                  • Samantha smile Sunday, April 23, 2017 at 7:28 pm
                    Love this book.
                    • foxfire
                      foxfireWednesday, November 2, 2016 at 4:29 pm55 stars
                      Sam runs away to the Catskills mountains to live off the land. After a few days he finds a tree to live in, so he digs out in between the roots and starts to make it his home. Eventually he trains a young falcon, makes a stove and has a great home. I love this book, because he has the life i sometimes wish for( except for the end). I recommend this book to all the outdoorsy types of people. :)

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      tigergirl1093

                      this book is amszing i always lo...
                      The Puppy Place #32: Liberty

                      animal lover wrote:

                      i love the dolls to and the book...
                      Growing Up with Aloha: A Nanea C...

                      Sid wrote:

                      This book is a fun story. Geroni...
                      The Famouse Fjord Race (Geronimo...