My Side of the Mountain (M-Books)

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6U5.240355
In this enthralling story, a boy builds a treehouse in the mountains and learns to live entirely by his wits. "(Emphasizes) the rewards of courage and determination."--The Horn Book.
Paperback, 211 pages
Published on March 23, 2005 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 0786273593
ISBN-13: 9780786273591
24 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • armcginn
    armcginnSunday, May 21, 2017 at 10:25 am55 stars
    I do recommend this because it was an amazing story about what it takes to survive in the wilderness. It has hardships as well as fun times. Definitely a favorite book and was recommended by my teacher (Mrs. Backer), it was her favorite book. It turned out to be a favorite of mine, too.
    • foxfire
      foxfireWednesday, November 2, 2016 at 4:29 pm55 stars
      Sam runs away to the Catskills mountains to live off the land. After a few days he finds a tree to live in, so he digs out in between the roots and starts to make it his home. Eventually he trains a young falcon, makes a stove and has a great home. I love this book, because he has the life i sometimes wish for( except for the end). I recommend this book to all the outdoorsy types of people. :)
      • rodgers12
        rodgers12Saturday, February 6, 2016 at 4:52 am
        I love the idea of the book but I think the author does a bad job describing some things
        • sciencecol
          sciencecolTuesday, September 1, 2015 at 7:46 pm55 stars
          it was for school
          • gcollins1
            gcollins1Friday, April 10, 2015 at 11:40 am22 stars
            I find this book boring and pointless. It has an off and on type of thing. One minute you will enjoy it the next it's boring!
            • arjunr
              arjunrTuesday, January 13, 2015 at 2:54 pm55 stars
              I had a fun time learning and discovering what Sam Gribley will do next to survive. It is upsetting to find out that now he lives in the forest with everyone on his tail.
              • jcarrera
                jcarreraTuesday, January 6, 2015 at 6:55 am
                I thought it was a good book. I thought some parts were boring like when people came over, but I liked the book. SPOILER I think its's good to let Sam run away because that is what he wants to do.
                • bbates
                  bbatesTuesday, January 6, 2015 at 6:54 am
                  I think it was ok but sometimes boring. It never really got my attention.
                  • ethanTuesday, January 6, 2015 at 6:50 am
                    I liked it because it is kind of like hatchet. And it is very interesting.
                    • ediggins8347
                      ediggins8347Tuesday, December 16, 2014 at 11:36 am
                      good book very interesting

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      levi0sa
                      levi0sa wrote:

                      i loved this book it is about th...
                      Smile

                      looneylovegood1

                      This book is a book about that i...
                      The Lightning Thief

                      looneylovegood1

                      Even though the chapters are sho...
                      The One and Only Ivan

                      levi0sa
                      levi0sa wrote:

                      I loved this book. I wish I kne...
                      Wonder