My Side of the Mountain (M-Books)

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6U5.240355
In this enthralling story, a boy builds a treehouse in the mountains and learns to live entirely by his wits. "(Emphasizes) the rewards of courage and determination."--The Horn Book.
Paperback, 211 pages
Published on March 23, 2005 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 0786273593
ISBN-13: 9780786273591
23 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • foxfire
    foxfireWednesday, November 2, 2016 at 4:29 pm55 stars
    Sam runs away to the Catskills mountains to live off the land. After a few days he finds a tree to live in, so he digs out in between the roots and starts to make it his home. Eventually he trains a young falcon, makes a stove and has a great home. I love this book, because he has the life i sometimes wish for( except for the end). I recommend this book to all the outdoorsy types of people. :)
    • rodgers12
      rodgers12Saturday, February 6, 2016 at 4:52 am
      I love the idea of the book but I think the author does a bad job describing some things
      • sciencecol
        sciencecolTuesday, September 1, 2015 at 7:46 pm55 stars
        it was for school
        • gcollins1
          gcollins1Friday, April 10, 2015 at 11:40 am22 stars
          I find this book boring and pointless. It has an off and on type of thing. One minute you will enjoy it the next it's boring!
          • arjunr
            arjunrTuesday, January 13, 2015 at 2:54 pm55 stars
            I had a fun time learning and discovering what Sam Gribley will do next to survive. It is upsetting to find out that now he lives in the forest with everyone on his tail.
            • jcarrera
              jcarreraTuesday, January 6, 2015 at 6:55 am
              I thought it was a good book. I thought some parts were boring like when people came over, but I liked the book. SPOILER I think its's good to let Sam run away because that is what he wants to do.
              • bbates
                bbatesTuesday, January 6, 2015 at 6:54 am
                I think it was ok but sometimes boring. It never really got my attention.
                • ethanTuesday, January 6, 2015 at 6:50 am
                  I liked it because it is kind of like hatchet. And it is very interesting.
                  • ediggins8347
                    ediggins8347Tuesday, December 16, 2014 at 11:36 am
                    good book very interesting
                    • ediggins8347Tuesday, December 16, 2014 at 11:35 am
                      I love his life is sounds so wonderfull

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      olopolobear125

                      Despite how many pages it has De...
                      Zac Power #2: Deep Waters

                      jeffdaboss
                      jeffdaboss wrote:

                      For those who have read the enti...
                      Middle School: Escape to Australia

                      jeffdaboss
                      jeffdaboss wrote:

                      This comic book is pretty medioc...
                      5 Worlds Book 1: The Sand Warrior

                      olopolobear125

                      I think shouldn't you be in sch...
                      "Shouldn't You Be in School?" (A...