Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 12Z3.636466
In Caitlin’s world, everything is black or white. Things are good or bad. Anything in between is confusing. That’s the stuff Caitlin’s older brother, Devon, has always explained. But now Devon’s dead and Dad is no help at all. Caitlin wants to get over it, but as an eleven-year-old girl with Asperger’s, she doesn’t know how. When she reads the definition of closure, she realizes that is what she needs. In her search for it, Caitlin discovers that not everything is black and white—the world is full of colors—messy and beautiful.

Kathryn Erskine has written a must-read gem, one of the most moving novels of the year.

Praise for MOCKINGBIRD

* "Erskine works in powerful imagery throughout." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

* "[A] fine addition to the recent group of books with autistic narrators." --Booklist, starred review

"A strong and complex character study." --Horn Book

"This heartbreaking story is delivered in the straightforward, often funny voice of a fifth-grade girl with Asperger's Syndrome." --Kirkus, starred review

"This is...a valuable book." --School Library Journal

"Fascinating characters." --Los Angeles Times

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on April 15, 2010 by Philomel Books
ISBN-10: 0399252649
ISBN-13: 9780399252648
37 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • im a catMonday, September 10, 2018 at 2:37 pm
    I LOVE this book. It's very similar to the book The Thing About Jellyfish, which is my favorite book. I got this book at the library but am defiately going to buy it for myself
    • lpro24
      lpro24Sunday, July 29, 2018 at 2:39 pm
      This another great book that I have read.it tells a great story. I loved this book and everything about it.
      • xo
        xoFriday, March 18, 2016 at 7:03 pm55 stars
        Very funny but also kind of sad
        • pandapuss
          pandapussFriday, November 6, 2015 at 10:40 am
          I like this book very much it is good as 🍪🍪(cookies) one of the best book I have read.
          • connormath
            connormathMonday, October 5, 2015 at 11:54 am
            Great meaning.
            • 18es
              18esThursday, September 17, 2015 at 9:47 am
              I hear this is a really good book.
              • 20js
                20jsThursday, September 17, 2015 at 9:46 amFeatured
                this book is beyond amazing!!! i love this book so much. it brings readers hearts and shows them how some people are different but that's there way of saying hello. Caitlyn takes somethings seriously and that's what makes her wonderful. you will learn that someone is only being held back from something that is hurting inside
                • mookiebear
                  mookiebearSaturday, September 5, 2015 at 6:58 pm22 stars
                  I did not find Mockingbird interesting. I enjoy a book with happiness and adventure. I also like change and a nice climax in a book. If you agree, this is not the book for you. I found this book quite sad and depressing. I say this because through the entire length of the book Caitlin, the main character, is grieving the loss of her brother. There is little change in the character's everyday life and the story does not lead up any major event. In my opinion the book was boring (Updated about 3 minutes ago)
                  • kaylalol123
                    kaylalol123Monday, April 13, 2015 at 8:56 am44 stars
                    I rate this book 4/5 stars. The book is very intruging. Caitlins life was going good for her until tragedy struck. Her brother died in a school accident. Caitlin's is now confused then ever, all she can think about is Devon. Thoughts are rumbling in her head and doesn't know what to do with them. Until her counselor told her about closure. Now all she thinks about is finding this cure. Will she find it?
                    • nikukyu
                      nikukyuMonday, February 9, 2015 at 2:32 pm44 stars
                      Confusing and weird at times but pretty good! It had a dream like quality, cuz the author didn't use quotation marks. Not sure if that is a good thing...