Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 3 - 5n/a4.914609
The story of Universal Pictures and Illumination Entertainment's Minions begins at the dawn of time. Starting as single-celled yellow organisms, Minions evolve through the ages, perpetually serving the most despicable of masters. Continuously unsuccessful at keeping these masters-from T. rex to Napoleon-the Minions find themselves without someone to serve and fall into a deep depression.

But one Minion named Kevin has a plan, and he-alongside teenage rebel Stuart and lovable little Bob-ventures out into the world to find a new evil boss for his brethren to follow.

The trio embarks upon a thrilling journey that ultimately leads them to their next potential master, Scarlet Overkill (Academy Award® winner Sandra Bullock), the world's first-ever female super-villain. They travel from frigid Antarctica to 1960s New York City, ending in mod London, where they must face their biggest challenge to date: saving all of Minionkind...from annihilation.

Featuring a soundtrack of hit music from the '60s that still permeates our culture today, Minions is produced by Illumination's Chris Meledandri and Janet Healy, and is directed by Pierre Coffin and Kyle Balda. Brian Lynch has written the screenplay for the 3D-CG comedy adventure, and Chris Renaud serves as executive producer of the film.

A retelling of the new feature film!
Paperback, 144 pages
Published on May 19, 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316299952
ISBN-13: 9780316299954
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • FrecklefacecFriday, January 11, 2019 at 8:20 am
    i want to read this book ive seen the movie and want to read the book it was pretty cool
    • 🤓Tuesday, June 20, 2017 at 11:51 am
      Great book 😱 Omg this book rules
      • breanna Wednesday, November 9, 2016 at 6:49 am
        i really love thins book and i have almost all of the movies and the books and i have a pajama set and slippers and blanket i really love the minions hahahahahahahaha
        • ellabell4408
          ellabell4408Wednesday, April 6, 2016 at 12:04 pm
          I think this minions book is really great! because it has awesome facts based on the movie Minions! it also a has cool colored pages from the movie! you should go check it out if you know your lexile number this chapter book is a lexile number 700!
          • SLICKTuesday, January 26, 2016 at 6:19 am
            I THINK IT IS AND SHOULD BE A AWESOME BESTSELLER BECAUSE OF HOW AWESOME IT IS.
            • henrys21
              henrys21Tuesday, January 26, 2016 at 6:11 am55 stars
              I think this book is very cool. The minions in this book wants to find a most violent boss in the world. When they finally have one, they always will kill their own boss accidentally. Kevin, a minions wants to find a new boss so the minions won't extinct from the world. Kevin, Bob, and Stuart sailing the boat to New York. They saw a board that said all the violent boss will go to Orlando. They decided to go there to find their boss. Then many interesting thing happens to them... The minions in the book are brave and they likes adventures. They try to solve the problems immediately and almost safe the whole group. The readers can learn from their attitude.
              • howard_c
                howard_cTuesday, January 26, 2016 at 3:00 am44 stars
                Kevin, Bob, and Stuart volunteered to find an evil villain to be their boss. The three minions began their journey and traveled to Orlando for the Villain-Con. During this journey they overcome a lot of obstacles such as finding their way to Orlando. That is where they find their new boss, Scarlet Overkill and her husband Herb. My favorite character in this story is Bob. He is very childish and can easily make friends anywhere. The movie brought me to this book. I really enjoyed both the movie and the book because it is very similar.
                • henrys21
                  henrys21Monday, January 25, 2016 at 9:18 pm55 stars
                  I think this book is very cool. The minions in this book wants to find a most violent boss in the world. When they finally have one, they always will kill their own boss accidentally. Kevin, a minions wants to find a new boss so the minions won't extinct from the world. Kevin, Bob, and Stuart sailing the boat to New York. They saw a board that said all the violent boss will go to Orlando. They decided to go there to find their boss. Then many interesting thing happens to them... The minions in the book are brave and they likes adventures. They try to solve the problems immediately and almost safe the whole group. The readers can learn from their attitude.
                  • tim_w21
                    tim_w21Saturday, December 5, 2015 at 5:23 am
                    I think this book is very good. This book is about the Minions are going to find new evil boss. Finally, they reach to New York. In New York they are going to find the boss in Orlando. I think this book is very fun and also Minions language is awesome. The minions find many evil boss but they all die, finally the minions find a woman and want to live with her, but they fail again. Finally, they find a evil boss called Gru. This book is by:Sadie Chesterfield
                    • tim_w21
                      tim_w21Thursday, December 3, 2015 at 4:47 pm
                      I think this book is very good. This book is about the Minions are going to find new evil boss. Finally, they reach to New York. In New York they are going to find the boss in Orlando. I think this book is very fun and also Minions language is awesome. The minions find many evil boss but they all die, finally the minions find a woman and want to live with her, but they fail again. Finally, they find a evil boss called Gru.